Chevron Left
返回到 音乐理论基础

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 音乐理论基础 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,513 个评分
481 条评论

课程概述

This course, revised in 2022, will introduce you to the theory of music, providing you with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, metre and time signatures, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts. As such, it is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike....

热门审阅

GE

Apr 1, 2021

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

SS

Aug 22, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

筛选依据:

26 - 音乐理论基础 的 50 个评论(共 477 个)

创建者 Himadri S S

Mar 31, 2020

I am going to be very realistic about the course here, so please take it seriously. This course is for beginners indeed as per the learning procedure is concerned, however towards the end of course, things get very difficult and few assignments/quizzes are really very difficult. And specially the final assignment is damn tough, its beyond imaginable as far as beginners are concerned, I do not think that a beginner can actually crack that paper in 3 or 4 months time, its almost impossible. I have been associated with music for almost 10 years now, and I did this course for the certificate, I found the final quiz to be very very challenging and its going to be impossible for you if you're a beginner, it literally has extracts from Classical Piano pieces and ask you to refer to a certain portion of it and all the questions of the last final assignment are from such extracts which are very tough to comprehend. If you know music for something like 2-5 years, this course is for you. Also please refer to a very good music theory book along with the course like AB Guide to Music Theory by Eric Taylor, or Berklee Music Theory part 1 because several concepts here have just been touched and not discussed in depth. Overall, from my POV I am extremely satisfied with the course because it wasn't a very big deal for me, but if you are a beginner, you might not like the way it ends. So think twice before you enrol. I hope this helps, all the best.

创建者 Atheer E

May 17, 2018

The best course one can wish for in Music Theory. Very convenient, clear, includes examples and exercises during the lessons, and a sheet of summary in the end of each lesson, as well. The instructors are very lovely and clear. Things are explained in a way that even as an absolute beginner you can follow. I had a slight knowledge before, but I wanted to refresh and continue from where I stopped. This course allowed me to do it in a very short time, without skipping anything, and without feeling I am "missing the train". The order in which the material is given is also thought of.

Everything in this course is considered, thought of, and given a big value.

One can get the course for free or pay (very cheap compared to its high level) to get the certificate of completing it. There's only one thing that you need to keep in mind, in the non-paid (free) option, the materials cannot be viewed backwards after completing the section/week (only the first week remains available). So when I completed week #2, quickly, and passed the test, then proceeded to week #3, I couldn't go back to week #2 to view some things I wanted to re-read for deeper understanding.

Thank you very much for the free content you give, for the beautiful way it is given. All the instructors are great. I am very grateful. I have completed 2.5 weeks in a matter of few days only, and I am very excited to continue. It made me reconsider buying the course to get the certificate, and have the whole material for further access. After this course, I am more sure and determined about my decision to pursue my dream and learn music.

创建者 Robert W

Oct 19, 2020

I enjoyed the course and have learnt a lot. There seems to be a bit of a leap at the end of week 5 where the modulation analysis suddenly becomes more complex than the material before it.

创建者 Schalk P

Apr 25, 2020

I learnt a lot from this course. Not only does it give you a lot of insight into music theory it changes the way you look at music and leads one to appreciate music as a whole more.

创建者 Fernando J K P

Dec 30, 2017

Muito bom o curso de teoria musical, so faltava a legenda em português, mas o curso segue um rumo bem explicativo, gostei!

创建者 SCP001C

Mar 31, 2019

Perfect music course for beginner!

创建者 James S

Aug 1, 2020

I learned much from this course. It targeted the things that I set out to learn. However, I really disliked Part 2 of the final exam. Many of the questions covered material and concepts that were not covered or not covered adequately in the lecture material. This left my answers open-ended. At the same time, I saw answers from my peer reviews that contained language and phrases nearly identical to the rubric. Was my review of the lecture material and additional research really out of touch with what my peers were learning or had my peers seen the rubric content before submitting the final? For this and other reasons associated with the peer review, I would like never to see a peer review on Coursera again.

创建者 Deleted A

Jun 5, 2019

Some of the pictures in the quizzes the name of the pictures reveals the answer to the question

创建者 Evgeniya Z

Mar 7, 2021

I wouldn't recommend this course to any beginner who doesn't want to start hating music. It's definitely not a course for the beginners. First of all, it tremendously lack structure. For instance: guys are talking about "Degrees of a scale" for full two weeks and only THEN explain what it is. First 3 weeks are somewhat understandable, but later on it gets so hard that it's impossible to understand without extra material. I constantly checked other sources to stupidly not get lost completely. I studied music for 7 years about 15 years ago and though I'd refresh my memory with this course, but the absence of good course structure made it almost impossible. Teachers are nice though and I still learned a lot of new things and had my "A-ha!" moments. Hence 3 stars and not 1.

创建者 Matthew W

Oct 28, 2020

The first few weeks are at a good pace in my opinion. It's when you reach the last 3 weeks that the difficulty level jumps up drastically. There are a lot of assumptions on the teachers side that the students not only grasped the previous material, but that they can apply it to future lessons as if it is a first language. I did learn some things from this course, but I was lost by the end. i think some more in-depth videos, and maybe even another week or two of coursework, would have really helped to get the information across and to stick. I felt like they spent more time teaching the basics than they did the more advanced stuff, and I feel like if anything, it should have been the other way around.

创建者 Christopher R

Dec 9, 2021

Would have given this 5 stars if not for the final written exam which included multiple questions containing material that was covered nowhere in the course materials (e.g. chromatic harmony, German 6th notes, clef changes, chords that are neither triads nor 7ths, phrase analysis, etc.). Grading criteria was also unclear in several places.

创建者 Zhe L

Jan 15, 2017

They just throw all the material at you without giving you enough explanations or exercises. This situation gets worse in the last two weeks and you can hardly breathe. It is like, "Okay now we have learned that 1+2=3. Let's talk about calculus."

创建者 Kirsten H

Apr 21, 2021

Very challenging course. The material presented in the lessons is not sufficient to pass the exams. You'll need to seek out additional sources on your own. I did, however, learn a lot and I ended up doing pretty well.

创建者 Daniel K

Jan 31, 2022

I honestly hate giving negative feedback, but feel that a warning to any genuine “beginners” is necessary.

This is NOT a course for beginners. In fact, if you are new to music theory this course will likely hurt your confidence and enjoyment of music. The feedback is loud and clear in the discussion forums and obvious from the 86% initial failure rate on most weekly exams. At first I thought I might just be slow, which is still likely, however the stats don’t lie, and statistically speaking this course fails dramatically at preparing its students to successfully pass their exams.

It’s a shame that they tried to cram so much detail and information into such a brief course. Some of the instructors were quite engaging and obviously very knowledgeable, but unfortunately the overzealous course criteria made it a nightmare to try and digest or even keep up with everything being covered.

If you already have some music experience then you might find this course more appropriate, but if it's fundamentals on a beginner you're looking for, look elsewhere.

创建者 Malcolm P

Apr 8, 2018

I enjoyed the course and passed although the material was challenging for a novice. The course organisers need to be aware of the following.

(1) The material isn't always presented in a logical sequence. For example students are expected to understand chord inversions and something about cadences before they are introduced properly (in a subsequent week).

(2) Too little emphasis is placed on the more advanced parts of the course, e.g. modulation.

(3) Parts of the course look like they've been lifted straight from university material with little consideration for the MOOC learner (the last video, e.g.).

(4) The final exam covers concepts that were barely touched upon during the course, for example, passing notes, and is very different from anything that learners are subjected to throughout the course.

创建者 Forrest W

Feb 15, 2021

Hard to rate this as some was good, some was awful. The course started out almost too easy, and then was "good", for a bit, then went downhill, just dumping information on you in short lectures with not much emphasis on context or reasoning. The quizes , especially week 5 and 6 were way out in the weeds of difficulty for which you've been prepared based on the lectures. But I finished it and it did motivate me to learn, even though I spent a LOT of time on Wikipedia and other sites to figure it out. ADVICE: When you open a quiz, first PRINT it, and work it offline. You very likely will fail the quiz first (or second, or third) times, and the feedback hides the answers, so really hard to figure your what you did wrong if you don't have it all in front of you.

创建者 Tung C T

Jun 15, 2020

The first few weeks were pretty good. However, the last two weeks are too advanced for a "Fundamental" course. Modulations are definitely not beginner territory - even when there was a warning about the difficulty of this section, I still don't think it should be included in the course. The final assignment is also extremely difficult and requires a significant amount of of external reading as many minor but important details were not mentioned. Overall, the syllabus needs to be revised.

创建者 Shamitha S

Nov 5, 2021

This is very misleading. It is not for beginners and is very difficult towards then end. The beginning was amazing! I understood everything. But right after Week 2, things went downhill. The lessons were very rushed and the lecturers were not explaining very well. For some people this was easy, but this is not the FUNDEMENTALS. It's definitly a course for people who already know music theory and just want to touch up on a few areas...

创建者 Wendy O

Sep 3, 2019

This course is DEFINITELY NOT for beginners as they initially lead you to believe. I took this class to hopefully help my daughter in her high school music theory class if she needed it. I've taken plenty of online classes over the years and this was definitely one of the most difficult!

They really need to let potential students know that a solid background in piano and/or guitar is necessary before tackling this course. Despite the fact that I've been playing flute for over 40 years, and have a dance background, I was very lost throughout this course. There's nobody to explain anything and the final exam (especially part 2) was nearly impossible to complete accurately. It was as if they wanted us to read their minds. I did learn some things but it was not-at-all a pleasant experience.

创建者 Laura C

Dec 26, 2021

I​ am a musician of almost 55 years and never learned theory. This class was WAY too difficult for even an experienced musician like me. I play bassoon, flute, piano and ukulele and the concepts here were just DUMPED rather than explained and built upon. This class was like dropping off all the building materials for constructing a house and then never explaining how to build the foundation, let alone erect the structure and complete the job.

创建者 Andrey A

Feb 21, 2021

The first few intro lectures were very interesting, but then at some point sheet music reading became an absolutely must have skill and I had lots of pain counting all those lines just to read and understand the question. This totally ruined the whole course for me. While being able to read sheet music is an important skill and I'd definitely love to have this skill, you can't just say "ok, read it".

创建者 Deleted A

Oct 10, 2016

The course material itself is enjoyable, but the quizzes don't work properly. The feedback given to the same responses between retakes is contradictory.

创建者 Luis O

Jul 15, 2020

unas cosas vienen en español y otras no, ¿como puedo responder las preguntas si todas vienen en ingles y yo no hablo ese idioma?

创建者 Richard G

Dec 1, 2019

Surprisingly tedious. Material presented better in other courses.

创建者 yousuf t

Jun 26, 2019

FUCKING GARBAGE ASS SCAM