Chevron Left
返回到 理解爱因斯坦:狭义相对论

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 理解爱因斯坦:狭义相对论 的评价和反馈

4.9
2,715 个评分
938 条评论

课程概述

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

热门审阅

BH

Jun 22, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

SS

Dec 8, 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

筛选依据:

901 - 理解爱因斯坦:狭义相对论 的 925 个评论(共 936 个)

创建者 Doug Q

Sep 21, 2020

Felt a bit like I was being talked down to at the beginning as he tried to tell me how to study and take the course. Got much better after he just started to teach us concepts.

创建者 Ashwini K S

Sep 21, 2020

I loved the course. I gained a lot from this. Want to learn more mathematics and wish could learn General theory from the same team. Thank you soo much. Great work.

创建者 Aidan K

Feb 27, 2020

Quite hard work - the topic is not intuitive, and the questions teem with the possibility of going wrong - badly wrong.

Effort is required, and is paid-back.

创建者 Ritvik A

Nov 23, 2017

It's a good course to start understanding Relativistic Physics. Nothing rigorous though.

The lectures are amazingly easy to understand. Overall liked it.

创建者 luis a g s

Oct 12, 2017

I think a chapter on momentum and energy conservation would be interesting, I liked the examples and the treatment of the paradoxes, very good course.

创建者 hei c

Jul 21, 2018

a very thorough introduction to special relativity, as a layman, I have gained immense insight & basic understanding. Thanks prof Lagerstrom!!!!

创建者 Krish R

Jun 22, 2017

The course was really good. But the discussion forum was not pleasant. Due to the unruly behaviour of this person named Thomas Lahn

创建者 Gary S

Aug 13, 2020

Mr Lagerstrom has explained a difficult topic in a very understandable way. He is a true teacher, not just a lecturer. Thank you.

创建者 Christophe N

Oct 18, 2020

Nice course with very clear explanations! Too bad that I had to wait for week 4 to really start the core of special relativity

创建者 Vertika S

Dec 17, 2018

Excellent Prof , Excellent Resources. My only drawback is that prof is a bit excessive repetitive, rest everything is fine.

创建者 apeksha j

May 20, 2020

A very interesting course simplified to an under graduate level. it helps in understanding relativity in perspective.

创建者 Lee H

Aug 16, 2017

Well taught and structured course, gives a more quantitative understanding of some of the outcomes.

创建者 Jesper N

Jun 7, 2021

Very well organized and a pleasure to listen to the great explanations from Professor Lagerstrom.

创建者 Kiran K

Mar 9, 2017

Good course for introduction to special relativity. I expected more related to E=mc^2 derivation.

创建者 Víctor P V

Dec 7, 2016

This course is superb, covers easyly all the aspects of the special theory of relativity

创建者 Nicholas C

Dec 9, 2020

A leisurely and enjoyable introduction to the Special Theory.

创建者 Callum B

Jul 4, 2018

Really good to get a grasp of what relativity is all about

创建者 Dave W

Dec 19, 2020

Too much work in weeks 4 and 5. Explanations very clear.

创建者 Maartijn S

Nov 13, 2017

Really great course, the teaching was excellent and fun.

创建者 Shayar S

Sep 12, 2018

Really interesting topic but can get a little boring

创建者 Luis L

Sep 7, 2020

A bit long, too much time to cover easy themes...

创建者 Yasoda R

Aug 26, 2017

Nicely presented, but pace was very slow.

创建者 Rajendraprasadbabu M

Jul 19, 2019

a little bit more advanced required.

创建者 MAHALAKSHMI S

Apr 5, 2022

very interesting andinformative