Chevron Left
返回到 e-Learning Ecologies: Innovative Approaches to Teaching and Learning for the Digital Age

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 e-Learning Ecologies: Innovative Approaches to Teaching and Learning for the Digital Age 的评价和反馈

4.6
347 个评分
110 条评论

课程概述

For three decades and longer we have heard educators and technologists making a case for the transformative power of technology in learning. However, despite the rhetoric, in many ways and at most institutional sites, education is still relatively untouched by technology. Even when technologies are introduced, the changes sometimes seem insignificant and the results seem disappointing. If the print textbook is replaced by an e-book, do the social relations of knowledge and learning necessarily change at all or for the better? If the pen-and-paper test is mechanized, does this change the nature of our assessment systems? Technology, in other words, need not necessarily bring significant change. Technology might not even represent a step forward in education. But what might be new? How can we use technologies to innovate in education? This course explores seven affordances of e-learning ecologies, which open up genuine possibilities for what we call New Learning – transformative, 21st century learning: 1. Ubiquitous Learning 2. Active Knowledge Making 3. Multimodal Meaning 4. Recursive Feedback 5. Collaborative Intelligence 6. Metacognition 7. Differentiated Learning These affordances, if recognized and harnessed, will prepare learners for success in a world that is increasingly dominated by digital information flows and tools for communication in the workplace, public spaces, and personal life. This course offers a wide variety of examples of learning technologies and technology implementations that, to varying degrees, demonstrate these affordances in action. -------------------------------- Recommended Background -------------------------------- This course is designed for people interested in the future of education and the "learning society," including people who may wish to join education as a profession, practicing teachers interested in exploring future directions for a vocation that is currently undergoing transformation, and community and workplace leaders who regard their mission to be in part "educative." -------------------------------- Related Resources -------------------------------- This course is based on the following book: https://www.amazon.com/Learning-Ecologies-Bill-Cope/dp/1138193720 Additional online resources are available here: https://newlearningonline.com/e-learning -------------------------------- Take this Course for Credit at the University of Illinois -------------------------------- This course has the same content and anticipates the same level of contribution by students in the e-Learning Ecologies course offered to graduate certificate, masters, and doctoral level students in the Learning Design and Leadership Program in the College of Education at the University of Illinois. Of course, in the nature of MOOCs many people will just want to view the videos and casually join some of the discussions. Some people say that these limited kinds of participation offer evidence that MOOCs suffer from low retention rates. Far from it – we say that any level of engagement is good engagement. On the other hand, if you would like to take this course for credit at the University of Illinois, you will find more information about our program here: https://newlearningonline.com/kalantzis-and-cope/learning-design-and-leadership-program And you can apply here: https://education.illinois.edu/epol/programs-degrees/ldl -------------------------------- The Learning Design and Leadership Series of MOOCs -------------------------------- This course is one of a series of eight MOOCs created by Bill Cope and Mary Kalantzis for the Learning Design and Leadership program at the University of Illinois. If you find this MOOC helpful, please join us in others! e-Learning Ecologies: Innovative Approaches to Teaching and Learning for the Digital Age https://www.coursera.org/learn/elearning New Learning: Principles and Patterns of Pedagogy https://www.coursera.org/learn/newlearning Assessment for Learning https://www.coursera.org/learn/assessmentforlearning Learning, Knowledge, and Human Development https://www.coursera.org/learn/learning-knowledge-human-development Ubiquitous Learning and Instructional Technologies https://www.coursera.org/learn/ubiquitouslearning Negotiating Learner Differences: Towards Productive Diversity in Learning https://www.coursera.org/learn/learnerdifferences Literacy Teaching and Learning: Aims, Approaches and Pedagogies https://www.coursera.org/learn/literacy-teaching-learning Multimodal Literacies: Communication and Learning in the Era of Digital Media https://www.coursera.org/learn/multimodal-literacies...

热门审阅

LR

Jul 8, 2020

This course is Amazing. The learning opportunity helps me to become more EQUIPT with the necessary information and practices that I need to be more effective in my work. Thank you so much.

BG

Apr 12, 2020

This course was very interesting and thought provoking. I would certainly recommend for any teacher that is now trying to work with their students from within an online forum. Thank you!!!

筛选依据:

26 - e-Learning Ecologies: Innovative Approaches to Teaching and Learning for the Digital Age 的 50 个评论(共 113 个)

创建者 Aprisa C

Feb 11, 2019

Using affordance approach, the tutors introduce us to the e-learning ecologies. Found it interesting and obtained many takeaways from the course. I am not from education, therefore in order to do the assignments, I needed to read many papers in education and digital learning.

创建者 Paula B L

Oct 24, 2019

This is an amazing course. I have found super interesting ideas and a totally new approach to use technology as a learning tool not only for my students but for myself too.

If you are interested in education, if you have kids or are an educator this is a must to do course.

创建者 Nanda

Aug 11, 2020

Thank you to my instructor's for all the support. For moving ahead kindly include stem based courses for educators of primary level classes, as it is the trend now in schools and very essential for all teachers gain knowledge in this field.

Thank you once again.

创建者 Damien D

Nov 18, 2020

This course provides an interesting overview of e-Learning Ecologies and also gives an insight into the 7 affordances of e-Learning. The materials are well-presented, and the experience is augmented by relaxed and friendly teaching styles of Cope & Kalantzis

创建者 Chase H

Aug 20, 2018

Taking this course has been a very thoughtful and also mind opening experience to me. I really liked the discussion around the 7 affordances which is a solid and forward looking framework to help us undertstand what really is education in the digital age.

创建者 Magda R

Mar 6, 2020

I have worked in education for 13 year. I have had a lot of experience working with digital tools. This course was absolutely fantastic, with high academic quality. I loved it so much Im going to take more courses from this University and Department.

创建者 Samreid M

Apr 6, 2020

Excellent course, the lectures videos were very well done and were thoroughly engaging. I'm going to do more courses with the University of Illinois, I learnt a lot.

More assessed tasks/quizzes would be better, though.

创建者 Rodrigo A d S

Feb 4, 2018

Curso bem estruturado. A integração com o Scholar proporciona conhecer um ambiente feito exclusivamente para o contexto educacional. O curso proporciona recursos para repensar a prática docente na cultura digital.

创建者 Malcolm M

Apr 25, 2021

This was an informative course outlining the various learning theories and principles that construct e-Learning environments to inform on constructive and progressive learning designs for the 21st Century.

创建者 Lolita G R

Jul 8, 2020

This course is Amazing. The learning opportunity helps me to become more EQUIPT with the necessary information and practices that I need to be more effective in my work. Thank you so much.

创建者 Brenda G

Apr 13, 2020

This course was very interesting and thought provoking. I would certainly recommend for any teacher that is now trying to work with their students from within an online forum. Thank you!!!

创建者 Andrea F H

Aug 1, 2018

Great course ! It will definitely change my way of teaching for blended classes or even for face-to-face classes. Thanks a lot to Bill and Maria and everyone of the staff of this MOOC ! 😊

创建者 Adrian H

Jul 5, 2021

The course provides a thought provoking review of the learning best practice and highlights some potential areas where technology will better enable us to implement this best practice.

创建者 Julie A G C

Jul 12, 2020

The course is enriched with innovative approaches that will help educators in teaching and learning. It also share the new educational tools in approach to e-learning setting.

创建者 Raji B

Oct 26, 2020

An intense course, that requires lot of research and reading. The course covers a variety of interesting topics and gives the opportunity to read contributions of peers .

创建者 Rajesh M

Aug 1, 2020

This is a wonderful course which gives complete insight on how to evolve in the digital ecology and be prepared for the future. Thanks to the knowledgeable professors.

创建者 Mr. N C

Jun 12, 2020

It was refreshing to know and learn about the path breaking concepts in Teaching and Learning. The course is a must for all digital age aspiring teachers and educators.

创建者 itsik a

Aug 4, 2020

very interesting course which gives a lot of methodology but more important offers the opportunity to think differently and to get inspired. truely recomend!

创建者 Mayela B R R

May 24, 2020

Me encantó el curso, es mi primera vez realizando un curso en esta plataforma y la verdad, me quedo con un excelente sabor de boca. Ampliamente recomendado.

创建者 Isobel H A

Jan 8, 2021

Thank you for the energy and effort you invested into creating this relevant and engaging course. I'm delighted with the amount of content we covered!

创建者 Pilar M

Apr 29, 2019

It is a very complete course, with multiple resources and relevant information, not only for school settings, but for many more.

Highly recommended

创建者 Rabea B

Jan 11, 2021

It was a very interesting course, and I was able to use some of my background knowledge and extend it in this field of e-learning in particular.

创建者 Dawn H

Nov 2, 2020

This course really helped to push my understanding of how education is changing and continues to evolve with the changing pace of the world.

创建者 Phil M

Jul 19, 2020

Very interesting- the next stage would be to understand some o fthe fundamentals of course design that allow the affordances to take shape.

创建者 Ruta S

Sep 9, 2019

Excellent content. One of a few courses where I actually took notes while watching the lectures and downloaded and saved all materials.