Chevron Left
返回到 Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future

学生对 科罗拉多大学系统 提供的 Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future 的评价和反馈

4.6
136 个评分
48 个审阅

课程概述

THIS COURSE GIVES YOU THE INSIDE TRACK TO A COMPLICATED INDUSTRY. The approach of this course is truly unique in how it approaches and engages learners. It looks at the electric utility industry, which has remained critical to our quality of life, health and comfort from the eyes of numerous industry experts through on-location interviews, compelling visuals, and animation. You will benefit from having the inside track because you see some behind-the-scenes information not covered in news stories, social media or even if we are in the business ourselves. EACH WEEK YOU NOT ONLY LEARN WHAT IS CHANGING, BUT WHY. As this industry continues to unfold at an unprecedented pace, you will be armed with knowledge and insights to form informed opinions supporting decisions you will increasingly make for your energy-dependent homes and businesses. This course kicks off with animated crash course on industry history, highlighting aspects of the structure, governance, and technology that remain today, despite the passage of time. Then, throughout the modules, you will build some basics about how electricity gets to you, who watches over decisions, including setting rates. This information establishes a knowledge foundation so that when we explore some of the most critical topics, like renewable energy, smart grid, battery storage, and you can think about it from a much more analytical and critical viewpoint. YOU WILL DEVELOP A FRAMEWORK FOR MAKING SENSE OF THIS INDUSTRY THAT WILL BENEFIT YOU BEYOND THIS COURSE. This industry can get pretty complicated, and this course will help you make more sense of it. Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future is the course for you whether you’re just curious about the industry or an industry veteran looking to grow – or, thinking about joining the industry. (Hint: now is a good time. You'll learn why in this course.) No prior education or experience required. You just need a healthy curiosity and an open mind to learn about an industry that I think a lot of us, including myself sometimes, take for granted....

热门审阅

CR

Sep 27, 2017

Great course for people who have no clue how utilities and microgrids work. Take this class if you're considering diving deeper into concepts like green energy, regulation and distributed generation.

WH

Jan 29, 2018

Excellent overview of electric utilities even for a novice like me. It discussed the present challenges and future endeavors of the industry.

筛选依据:

26 - Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future 的 45 个评论(共 45 个)

创建者 Mohsin A

Jan 25, 2018

From the very basic to the advance and future of the Electricity, They have taught a lot of things in this course about this field. I like this course, structure, and information sharing techniques. Thank You So much.

创建者 Anoop P

Jun 18, 2017

Hi,

Thank you very much. There is no excuse to learn now after going through this course. Would request you to come up with similar advances courses on the same topic. Presenter was excellent !

Regards,

Anoop

创建者 Sahil S N

Oct 01, 2017

Excellent briefings about the all the concepts. very useful for basic knowledge

创建者 Edgar S

Nov 12, 2017

Right to the topic. It gave me a broad vision of what is going on in the Electric utility business.

创建者 Mary B

Apr 16, 2018

Very nice for basic understanding of electric utilities in the U.S.

创建者 Micaela C

Jul 25, 2018

Great overview - informative, easy to listen to, loved the variety between videos, lectures, and guest speakers. Seriously amazing! Also loved that controversial topics were introduced with so many sides to the story - I really felt like I learned in a way where I was encouraged to form my own educated opinion as opposed to adopting an opinion of anyone else. So many valid sides to every story were presented in a factual way. Thank you!

创建者 Ritika P

Apr 01, 2019

The way of explanation is pretty amazing and clear.And the content offered is upto the point.

创建者 JOHN D L O J

Jun 05, 2017

it is important to work on most advanced material regarting smart grid technologies, rate structuring and markets policy,

创建者 Aleksandrs P

Aug 31, 2017

The course gives a good overview of the industry and raises all main issues. Some things could be improved though. Quizzes could be somewhat tougher. They should focus more on understanding the covered material and avoid some basic factual questions. Non-graded assignments are very good for broadening your knowledge so should not be avoided. I'd recommend making them graded so that people don't skip them. I liked many interviews with industry experts very much.

创建者 Jennifer P

Jul 05, 2018

The course topics were very useful. The instructor was clear, concise and enthusiastic about the subject matter. The only drawback is that the course is a few years old and some of the information is no longer current, especially where it relates to governmental policy.

创建者 Sara R

Apr 01, 2018

Great lecturer and approach. I wish the course would go beyond the scope of American utilities and regulations.

创建者 Sourabh J

Aug 27, 2017

The course is good introductory course. I had expected more rigorous and in-depth discussion on regulatory aspects of electricity utilities and challenges due to integration of renewables.

创建者 Joy S

Aug 29, 2017

Fast moving, informative course. Covers the past, present and future. Easy to understand.

创建者 Filipo M

Jun 15, 2017

It is an easy course. Was expecting more though. Maybe it was okay for the audience intended.

创建者 Gautam S

Jun 16, 2019

This well structured and taught course is an excellent overview of the operation of electricity markets.

创建者 Vincent d M

Oct 08, 2019

I really liked the part focused on consumers habits, how the relationship of utilities to consumers are changing.

The course was maybe not challenging enough for my liking but still it is very well designed, offer a very good overview of how utilities operate in the US and what are the challenges they are facing today.

创建者 Zbigniew C

Jul 03, 2017

More technical issues please.

创建者 Brian T

Jul 11, 2017

Not technical enough, too general

创建者 Matthew B

Jul 31, 2018

Good information, but old. Many things have already c

创建者 John H

Nov 07, 2017

While the presentation style and overview of utilities was good, the instructors are providing biased and inaccurate information about renewable sources, especially solar and energy storage. Their understanding of storage and net metering is inaccurate and out of date and they show a clear bias toward centralized utilities and fossil fuel (particularly natural gas) generation. What disturbed me most is that they worded both the content and quiz questions to enhance the positive benefits of the centralized model and natural gas while simultaneously downplaying the benefits of solar, wind and energy storage (especially battery technology) while emphasizing negative attributes and misleading the students with inaccurate information about cost-shifting and net metering policies. Very disappointed in their manipulative and biased approach.