Chevron Left
返回到 工程力学导论

学生对 乔治亚理工学院 提供的 工程力学导论 的评价和反馈

4.7
2,273 个评分
495 条评论

课程概述

This course is an introduction to learning and applying the principles required to solve engineering mechanics problems. Concepts will be applied in this course from previous courses you have taken in basic math and physics. The course addresses the modeling and analysis of static equilibrium problems with an emphasis on real world engineering applications and problem solving. The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

热门审阅

ZA

Nov 08, 2018

The interactive approach of Dr. Wanye Whiteman leads to clarify the concept of Engineering Mechanics. I am glad to enroll this course, I will enroll further courses in future.\n\nThank you so much

SW

Apr 17, 2019

everyone should do this course because experimental solutions are also explained and\n\nwe get a practical approach for each question\n\nvery well prepared course with simple and lucid language.

筛选依据:

1 - 工程力学导论 的 25 个评论(共 504 个)

创建者 ARYENDER S

Mar 21, 2017

EXCELLENT TEACHING METHODOLOGY AND APPROACH TO CONCEPTS IS AWESOME. PROFESSOR WHITMAN EXPLAINS THE WHOLE TOPIC IN A PERFECT MANNER. I LEARNT A LOT FROM THIS COURSE.

REGARDS

ARYENDER SINGH

创建者 satish

Jan 14, 2016

I took this course to improve myself in fundamental concepts of Mechanics & now I can confidently say that I'm clear with the fundamental concepts & I can apply them confidently.

I really enjoyed the course because unlike the traditional Lectures, Professor Dr. Wayne Whiteman used to explain concepts in much simpler & practical way. Because of this kind of teaching the concepts became crystal clear for me.

Finally I would like to thank Coursera for providing me a platform to learn freely ,share my ideas with online communities, for learning courses from top most universities of the world & also for believing in me & granting me Financial Aid for this course.

I'm grateful to Dr. Wayne Whiteman & Georgia Institute of Technology for offering such a wonderful course.

创建者 Dirk M

Mar 03, 2016

This has been a fun course. The length of it is ideal. It's long enough to think I've learned something, but short enough that I'm not bored or dreading it. I definitely spent at least 10-15 hours a week on it. I had to read most of the relevant text book sections (the free, online one) to do the homework. Results may vary. I'm not sure how intense this is compared to an actual college course. My guess would be about half as intense, but it would definitely prepare you to breeze right through such a course. I took it out of genuine interest and I might use it in my current career.

创建者 Richard Z

Dec 10, 2019

A good introductory course on the analysis of 2D and 3D statically determinant structures. Dr. Whiteman explains things in a very clear and straightforward manner. Love the corny jokes as well.

创建者 Erika B O

Aug 25, 2015

I was very excited when I discovered that the most influent universities in the world are providing courses for free to students. I had never heard about Georgia Tech, but because of this excellent course of "Introduction to Mechanical Engineering" I search about it and saw its magnitude. I really would like to study in somewhere like that and I appreciate your work here, specially to Dr. Whiteman who teached me a lot and made me laugh sometimes with his intelectual sense of humor. I divulgate the Coursera plataform and the Georgia Tech to my collegues and hope that more and more students could appreciate the technology that you both offer to us. Thank you!

创建者 Charan S

Dec 26, 2015

Sir,

Honestly, I am a true beneficiary of this course. I have completed my Engineering and it has been 10 long years. I dont remember understanding this subject as clearly as I do today. Thank you so much for clarifying the topics in a very lucid way. Its a dream come true to be able to learn from top instructors and top universities. I have scored a overall grade of 86.5%. I hope I was a good student :-). Wish you and your family a very happy and prosperous new year 2016! All the best.

Best Regards

Charan Siddachar

创建者 Nicholas R L

Dec 04, 2017

As a mid-career professional with a background in earth sciences (and a need to better understand the engineers around me), this class has been very helpful. The delivery method of working through example problems helped me much more than focusing on the theory of the material separate from application. I do think that the course could be improved through the use of recommended supplemental readings from an open source, but it was very effective for me in its current format.

创建者 Erteza T E

Oct 20, 2017

This course is an introduction to learning and applying the principles required to solve engineering mechanics problems. Concepts will be applied in this course from previous courses you have taken in basic math and physics. The course addresses the modeling and analysis of static equilibrium problems with an emphasis on real world engineering applications and problem solving.

创建者 Zubair A

Nov 08, 2018

The interactive approach of Dr. Wanye Whiteman leads to clarify the concept of Engineering Mechanics. I am glad to enroll this course, I will enroll further courses in future.

Thank you so much

创建者 James W H

Dec 19, 2015

Awesome experience! Great professor, clearly explains topics with easy to follow lectures, examples, and graphics. Has plenty of examples in easy to download and print pdf format. I have not tested the online help forums mainly because the lecture modules are very well made and self explanatory. Wishing I had this excellent resource available when I was taking Statics in college. Highly recommend for any Engineering Major, or just brushing up for the PE/FE Exams, etc.

创建者 Shamkhal H

Feb 13, 2019

Though the course content was not difficult for me, i faced some new concepts and challenging problems and learned a lot, after this i will try to complete Applications in Engineering Mechanics course which i ams ure will be excellent after this

创建者 Sridharbabu Y

Feb 03, 2017

Really Excellent Course. Learned a lot. The way Professor Teaches and explains is excellent. I would suggest all who are interested in mechanics should go through this course.

Best Wishes.

创建者 sahil w

Apr 17, 2019

everyone should do this course because experimental solutions are also explained and

we get a practical approach for each question

very well prepared course with simple and lucid language.

创建者 Ajit K

May 19, 2020

Very good course. Teacher was excellent. Highly recommended.

创建者 Nortasia P

Oct 23, 2018

In my opinion, the course is thrown at you. I felt as though I was not being taught, was just given information. I had to find more in depth explanations, solutions and help via other sites. The course set up is great; easy to navigate, see and understand. Once I am more knowledgeable in this subject, I will revisit the course.

创建者 Chandra P

Sep 25, 2016

I took the the Introduction to Engineering Mechanics by Dr Whiteman. I would like to give feedback that the Dr Whiteman is awesome, his way of teaching shows great subject knowledge. The practical examples with scaled models is superb and I could understand different support conditions with the help of his models. Hats off to Dr Whiteman who made understanding so practical which no professor here would teach students in India. Hope he takes several courses especially Civil Engineering, most importantly the Design of Reinforced Concrete Members in the future, which will help interested students around the world like me. The way he talks about beams, columns and structural members is giving us a lot of confidence. I would love to take Theory of Structures and RCC (Reinforced Cement Concrete) structural design courses from Dr. Whiteman/COURSERA. Thanks from my heart to Dr Whiteman of Georgia Tech. Chandra Prakash (a middle class father of 2 daughters earning 2500USD per annum), Hyderabad, INDIA.

创建者 Manish Y

May 08, 2020

Excellent course and I highly recommend it to people who are currently doing A-Levels - final year - and applying to universities. I know its very difficult to balance commitments with A-Levels studies and doing this online course but it will give you a better outlook in which type of engineering courses you want to pursue in university or if engineering is something for you at all - it will give you a good outlook. I also recommend it to people who want to sharpen their knowledge in engineering if they have not gone over the topic after a long period of time. Dr Whiteman is an excellent online instructor (unfortunately, I have not met him in real life).

创建者 Srinidhi L K

Jul 17, 2017

Dr. Wayne,

It was really a wonderful experience to attend your classes. I teach this subject for undergraduate students at Christ University, Bangalore and wanted to take up one myself so that i can understand how to define the learning outcomes. I could also learn some topics which are not part of our teaching curriculum. I am eager to take up more classes under your guidance.

创建者 Saloni s

Aug 31, 2015

An excellent course; it helped me to learn the most fundamental topics of Engineering Mechanics conceptually and with clarity.

One of the major things that I liked about the course was that Dr Wayne made the otherwise seemingly difficult topics very easy and simple to understand.

Questions (of lecture modules as well as quiz) were also very nice.

Thank you very much Dr. Wayne!

创建者 Alex B

Apr 19, 2017

This is a great introduction to Engineering but make sure you know your physics (and some maths)

As someone who hasn't done physics and math for about ten years I was struggling and I spent many more hours studying and watching other video's on the internet to get the hang of the questions.

After things clicked for me I found the video's of this course easier to understand.

创建者 YUKO K

May 15, 2020

The course was very nice. The professor's explanation was very clear and easy to understand. So I am very satified with this course. The only thing I see that can be improved is that the homework tasks in the pdf is difficult to find in the document and sometimes there is no answer and I could not check my answer is correct. But the rest of the things were very nice.

创建者 Anvesh K

Oct 10, 2018

I would say, Dr Whiteman is the one of the best professor. He explains everything in very detailed manner, so there is no chance of confusion. Thank you so much professor for your hard work and your commitment for making this course. The pace of the course is perfect. i'm really glad that i found this course. Thanks to coursera and Dr Whiteman.

创建者 Vivek B

Apr 17, 2020

I am a mechanical engineer but lost the hold of basic concepts because I am not working in field of structural mechanics. I took this course to revisit and learn those concepts again. Not only I got a thorough revision of the underlying concepts, I also learned some new techniques. I thanks Prof Whiteman and Coursera for bringing this course.

创建者 Sudesh P

Aug 16, 2015

Dear Professor,

I love the way you taught me since last month. Your way of teaching, using real life examples, helped me to better understand and solve the problems. Thank You for sharing your lecture in Coursera and making it available so that a distant student like me can take advantage. And THANK YOU one more time Professor.

Sudesh Pathak.

创建者 Rangaraj.B

May 28, 2020

awesome course!!! I really loved the way he taught, by using models to help us visualize the problem. Moreover his pressing of importance on the use of mechanics in real world is the key factor that kept me motivated throughout the 5 week course !!! Thank you very much sir. I doubt if he would read this anyway, THANK YOU VERY MUCH SIR