Chevron Left
返回到 工程力学导论

学生对 乔治亚理工学院 提供的 工程力学导论 的评价和反馈

4.8
4,427 个评分

课程概述

This course is an introduction to learning and applying the principles required to solve engineering mechanics problems. Concepts will be applied in this course from previous courses you have taken in basic math and physics. The course addresses the modeling and analysis of static equilibrium problems with an emphasis on real world engineering applications and problem solving. The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

热门审阅

MA

Jul 27, 2020

It has been a fantastic journey of five weeks. The teaching style is excellent. I Will suggest every graduate student take this course to make a good understanding. Overall it is an excellent course.

PS

Jul 15, 2020

THE COURSE WAS VERY INTRESTING AND LIFETIME USEFULL STUFF BEING TOUGHT. TYANKS TO Dr. WHITEMAN he is really good explainer had a great experience and I'm sure gonna join more courses by Dr. WHITEMAN.

筛选依据:

26 - 工程力学导论 的 50 个评论(共 914 个)

创建者 Aniruddh C

Jun 8, 2019

examples used were quite nice but the method of explanation could have been better.

创建者 GODA V V R

Jul 17, 2019

very fast lecture and cant understand a few topics

创建者 Pierre W

Aug 20, 2018

extremely unsatisfied. Although the content is great. The lack of details, the missing results in the training exercises and the extremely arrogant coments (like: "Make shure you know how to do this" - Well if I did, I wouldn´t enroll in a course), making it extremely dificult to keep the pace. The quality in preparation is very deficit, and the interest in teaching even worse.

创建者 Arun V

Jun 23, 2021

The course was a concise overview of the key concepts in statics. The approach was no-fuss and yet detailed enough. Overall, I am happy with this course, but there definitely can be improvements.

However, the course could have used more example problems as home-work problems. Having enough worked out examples is a must to grasp any concept in Engineering or Physics. Fortunately, I studied this course with the help of Hibbeler's book on Statics, so there was no shortage of worked out examples. I didn't make use of the textbook suggested by the lecturer, though that too might have been sufficient. But it still would have been nice to have these examples worked into the weekly lectures and problem sets.

Also, I am not a great fan of the cool-off period of one week after trying the quiz once. This simply made me more hesitant to take the quiz for the fear of ruining my shot, and delayed my clearing the course. This was a lot of unnecessary pressure of the kind that make real-world courses in Universities such a chore.

创建者 Chandra P

Sep 25, 2016

I took the the Introduction to Engineering Mechanics by Dr Whiteman. I would like to give feedback that the Dr Whiteman is awesome, his way of teaching shows great subject knowledge. The practical examples with scaled models is superb and I could understand different support conditions with the help of his models. Hats off to Dr Whiteman who made understanding so practical which no professor here would teach students in India. Hope he takes several courses especially Civil Engineering, most importantly the Design of Reinforced Concrete Members in the future, which will help interested students around the world like me. The way he talks about beams, columns and structural members is giving us a lot of confidence. I would love to take Theory of Structures and RCC (Reinforced Cement Concrete) structural design courses from Dr. Whiteman/COURSERA. Thanks from my heart to Dr Whiteman of Georgia Tech. Chandra Prakash (a middle class father of 2 daughters earning 2500USD per annum), Hyderabad, INDIA.

创建者 Manish Y

May 8, 2020

Excellent course and I highly recommend it to people who are currently doing A-Levels - final year - and applying to universities. I know its very difficult to balance commitments with A-Levels studies and doing this online course but it will give you a better outlook in which type of engineering courses you want to pursue in university or if engineering is something for you at all - it will give you a good outlook. I also recommend it to people who want to sharpen their knowledge in engineering if they have not gone over the topic after a long period of time. Dr Whiteman is an excellent online instructor (unfortunately, I have not met him in real life).

创建者 Carlos F

Apr 17, 2021

I enjoyed and liked this course, even though I did not have some required previous knowledge like trigonometric functions and algebraic operations. I'm a bit sad because in the W3 and W4 exams I didn't get a 100% score, because of small details like forgetting to divide by 2 the product of b*h in the triangle area or walking a vector in the opposite direction. However, this course has encouraged me to continue learning and to be more careful with details. I look forward to the next course: "Applications in Engineering Mechanics". Thank you. Best and kindest regards.

创建者 Olivio A C J

Jun 20, 2020

A quite good course. As someone who graduated in mechanical engineering long time ago but has not seen mechanics since then I wanted to review the basic concepts and the course fulfills perfectly what is expected from it. Professeor Whiteman explains everything very well and the recommended book is very, very good and, quite important, free. I am quite satisfied and I intend to do the next courses taught by professor Whiteman at Coursera.

创建者 Neil P S B

Oct 14, 2020

Learned the things I needed to learn. I easily understood the lessons and I was guided by the videos when I am answering my exams. Dr. Whiteman definitely did a good job explaining the lessons. I can see he is very knowledgeable of what he teaches and he is clear in delivering it to students. I do hope this message gets to him. Definitely worth my time and I will be able to apply my learnings in my field. That's all I can say. Thank you!

创建者 Aleksandre A

Jan 5, 2021

I learned a lot during the course. Thanks Dr, Wayne for the great course. One recommendation would be that sometimes Dr. Wayne would explain some new topic, assuming that student has background knowledge. It would be better if Dr. Whiteman would elaborate more on newly used techniques and explain in depth or at least mention a little bit about new technique/concept (for example integration, vector product, center of mass/force).

创建者 Ahmad J

Aug 13, 2020

I am from Pakistan. I recently started this course. The best Course Outline, best techniques and methods i have ever seen with practical examples as well. Really appreciate Dr. Wayne Whiteman his ways, techniques. Its my dream (my God fulfill it) to complete my Master's in Structural Engineering outside Pakistan. I hope may God help me and fulfill my desire to come and study in Georgia Institute of Technology.

创建者 Srinidhi L K

Jul 17, 2017

Dr. Wayne,

It was really a wonderful experience to attend your classes. I teach this subject for undergraduate students at Christ University, Bangalore and wanted to take up one myself so that i can understand how to define the learning outcomes. I could also learn some topics which are not part of our teaching curriculum. I am eager to take up more classes under your guidance.

创建者 Saloni s

Aug 31, 2015

An excellent course; it helped me to learn the most fundamental topics of Engineering Mechanics conceptually and with clarity.

One of the major things that I liked about the course was that Dr Wayne made the otherwise seemingly difficult topics very easy and simple to understand.

Questions (of lecture modules as well as quiz) were also very nice.

Thank you very much Dr. Wayne!

创建者 Alex B

Apr 19, 2017

This is a great introduction to Engineering but make sure you know your physics (and some maths)

As someone who hasn't done physics and math for about ten years I was struggling and I spent many more hours studying and watching other video's on the internet to get the hang of the questions.

After things clicked for me I found the video's of this course easier to understand.

创建者 LOPEZ M F J

Mar 1, 2022

This was a really fun reinforcement for different topics that are of use to me in my day to day life, is also really fun in the way that the videos keep you engaged and the topics are illustrated nicely, only problems I had was on week one, too many mistakes happened and I wish they made a video with everything correct to avoid stoping the class to explain what was wong

创建者 YUKO K

May 15, 2020

The course was very nice. The professor's explanation was very clear and easy to understand. So I am very satified with this course. The only thing I see that can be improved is that the homework tasks in the pdf is difficult to find in the document and sometimes there is no answer and I could not check my answer is correct. But the rest of the things were very nice.

创建者 MOHIT M U

Nov 16, 2020

This course was amazing it was easy and very very informative, Like for a student who always though Engineering mechanics was tough after attending this course I actually can't believe that its this easy and like I was engrossed the way of delivering the content I absolutely loved that and I'm actually gonna learn more and attend few more courses

创建者 Anvesh K

Oct 10, 2018

I would say, Dr Whiteman is the one of the best professor. He explains everything in very detailed manner, so there is no chance of confusion. Thank you so much professor for your hard work and your commitment for making this course. The pace of the course is perfect. i'm really glad that i found this course. Thanks to coursera and Dr Whiteman.

创建者 Vivek B

Apr 17, 2020

I am a mechanical engineer but lost the hold of basic concepts because I am not working in field of structural mechanics. I took this course to revisit and learn those concepts again. Not only I got a thorough revision of the underlying concepts, I also learned some new techniques. I thanks Prof Whiteman and Coursera for bringing this course.

创建者 Sudesh P

Aug 16, 2015

Dear Professor,

I love the way you taught me since last month. Your way of teaching, using real life examples, helped me to better understand and solve the problems. Thank You for sharing your lecture in Coursera and making it available so that a distant student like me can take advantage. And THANK YOU one more time Professor.

Sudesh Pathak.

创建者 Venkata S G

Jun 6, 2019

I initially enrolled in this course with an intent to refresh my basics and as the course progressed further, I got a good understanding of the vectorial method of solving the problems of mechanics. Now I can able to follow both methods with ease. This course is more application in nature with examples of real-world problems.

创建者 woohyeocho

Jan 24, 2018

I'd like to recommend this course to my fellow student who study aerospace engineering in South Korea. This course is full of interesting stuff and it's really helpful when you review what you've learned. I really enjoyed this course and I'd like to thanks Georgia Tech and Coursera for high quality online course like this.

创建者 Ahmed T

Feb 14, 2022

I really can't describe how awesome this course is, Dr. Whiteman was always linking course content with real world examples, which was an amazing idea that helped me understand concepts deeply. I enjoyed every single lecture, now finally I have strong fundamentals about engineering mechanics. SPECIAL THANKS TO DR.WHITEMAN

创建者 Monde M

Jan 20, 2018

Interesting course, great video lectures - brief and yet they include examples covering all aspects of the course topics. Online tutor participates actively in discussion forums and so does Dr Whiteman himself. Exciting and thought provoking quiz questions. You begin to feel like an Engineer/Problem Solver in action :-)

创建者 Yogender T

May 14, 2020

Thank you sir for the making this course. I had a lot of doubts before starting this course. My main problem area was centroids which you explained very beautifully. And the vector part of the course is also very good I came to know when to use cross product and dot product.

Once again thank you for making this course.