Chevron Left
返回到 马上开始教英语!基本原则

学生对 亚利桑那州立大学 提供的 马上开始教英语!基本原则 的评价和反馈

4.9
8,995 个评分
3,215 条评论

课程概述

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
突出显示
Engaging instructors
(331 条评论)
Interactive content
(104 条评论)

热门审阅

JJ
Aug 17, 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

VM
Apr 9, 2020

Great course! Nice content and great presentation of the material. Useful not only for ESL teachers, but for all language teachers and even for teachers in general. Thank you for creating this course!

筛选依据:

101 - 马上开始教英语!基本原则 的 125 个评论(共 3,167 个)

创建者 Roohi R D

Oct 14, 2019

I found the course particularly exceptional and exciting as the things that were taught and how they were taught, was the first of its kind in my experience of traditional learning. I believe second language is one of the most difficult things to teach. Our teachers in the course, by way of teaching the modules taught us techniques of HOW language should be taught. I'm looking forward to learning more from them in the following courses.

创建者 Alexandra P

Jul 10, 2018

This course is amazing, I've got a lot of new useful information in really concentrated form and it didn't take a lot of time. In my school and university there was a huge amount of useless information, and it was very hard to isolate important parts from the whole, and in this Coursera course I see absolutely opposite situation. Everything I read and saw in this course will be useful in my further work.Thank you.Kindest regards, Alex

创建者 Nomindari B

Aug 20, 2020

First of all, thank you so much for empowering me and building me up through so many interesting lessons and reading materials. it is very helpful and it is absolutely one of the best courses. I'm so grateful for the professors and teachers who taught this course and prepared this course for us on behalf of the teachers all over the world. I am willing to use methods I have learnt from this course to my students at GMIT, Mongolia:-)

创建者 Angelica S B

Dec 2, 2015

Oh my goodness! I can't say enough about how great this course was for me. Dr. Shane Dixon did an excellent job of sharing the concepts in ways that were easily digested (more cake please). The course was set up better than any course I've taken online. The use of the metaphors truly helped me to easily recall what the class was about and I believe it will always be part of my teaching future. Thank you all for such a great course.

创建者 ALAMURI S N

May 15, 2020

I am Sri Nidhi and I am from India. I am very happy with the course and the instructors - Dr. Shane and his partner. I am very new to the teaching profession and to be frank, I never gave a thought about the principles that I have been using since my first day in teaching language. I am so glad that I came across this course and definitely this course already started making difference in my performace in all zones. Much obliged !

创建者 Gladys

Nov 28, 2018

I highly recommend this course! It highlights teaching techniques language educators can use to ensure successful language teaching and learning in their classroom. Moreover, the modules are interesting and easy to understand. Every language teachers, novice and seasoned alike, must take this course. Kudos to Dr. Shane Dixon, Dr. Justin Shewell, Ms. Andrea Haraway from Arizona State University for such a wonderful online course!

创建者 Kendria R J

Oct 6, 2020

I really liked the casual yet professional set up of this course. Being a teacher coach in my private life, I understand ALL the information was good. I especially liked the part on Teacher Burnout (it's my specialty niche with mentoring teachers.) I understand WHY you put in as a module. I get that YOU GET IT!!! and thank you for your contribution. If you need any help or more testimonials I am available. www.iamkendria.com

创建者 Sofia B

Feb 7, 2016

Amazing teachers, valuable information and top-quality materials! Thanks so much for making this course - I gained a lot from it, especially from giving and receiving feedback from fellow students. The only thing I didn't enjoy much are some questions in the tests because sometimes they seem a bit irrelevant. I would recommend making the tests a bit more to the point and reducing the amount of questions:) Thanks for your work!!!

创建者 Sandy A

Oct 13, 2017

I want to say a huge thank you to Dr. Shane for making this course so fun and engaging. Also thanks to everyone else involved who put in endless hours to put this amazing course together - if I ever had any doubts about teaching, you certainly reassured me what a fantastic profession this is. My step father completed Tesol a few years back and tells me it was nothing like this and that I'm very lucky to have found this course!

创建者 Md. D I

Mar 30, 2020

Taking this course, as a trainee teacher, I feel that more confident than ever before. Besides, based on the gained knowledge from the course, I have started writing about Teaching English in my local language Bangla using contextual references. I post them on my social media account, and I am receiving positive feedback. Many of the readers have even expressed their interest to pursue Professional TESOL certification.

创建者 Halima N

Aug 5, 2020

I enjoyed the lessons. The class was pretty good I actually think I have learned a lot from this class. This was my first online class and I thought your homework and tests really made me think critically and search for the answers making me learn more especially peer assessments. And through watching videos i have learned how i can speak confidently while making my point clear e.t.c. Great thanks to my teachers.

创建者 Behnaz S

Jun 25, 2020

Starting this course, I was so hopeful and optimistic about all the things I needed to learn about foundational principles of teaching, and to be honest, I wasn't disappointed. I enjoyed every second of the videos and every word of the readings. took many notes and wrote many comments. met great ideas from different people.It was an amazing experience. Thanks you Coursera and thanks you Arizona State University.

创建者 Carlos G H C

Feb 24, 2019

I learned a lot about the theories behind language acquisition from Krashen.

Dr. Dixon enthusiastically explains the concepts fo "teacher talk", "elaboration" and more, in the context of teaching languages.

The course checkpoints aren't tedious like in other courses, they just check for the essential parts and the elaborations are left for assumptions about language learning explained in videos as assignments.

创建者 Jasson G C

Jul 6, 2018

This course has given me new insights into teaching English effectively to non-native speakers. The theories have widened my understanding of the concerns, issues and trends in teaching English to foreign students. In addition to that, the Dr. Dixon and Dr. Haraway are very engaging with their delivery of the lessons. I have enjoyed every moment that I have spent for this online course. Well done, Coursera!

创建者 Aya K

Jun 12, 2019

This course was by far the most engaging introduction to teaching ESL that I’ve ever come across. The structure (short lectures interspersed with assessments) meant that information was provided at the optimal level or ‘sweet spot’, and Dr Dixon’s humorous anecdotes made the course fun. The two aspects motivated me to complete the course - in flying colours to boot! I can’t wait to start the next subject!

创建者 sinan k

Feb 5, 2017

thanks to all teachers and students i am so happy to being here with you. this course help me to see my skills level and teach me to how can i improve them. i am a students of English language teaching and i am the one of the future teacher with this course i will be a good teacher and i will guide my students according to what i learned here. it is very useful for future teachers. thanks for everything.

创建者 Macario P

Jan 6, 2021

It is a spectacular course that teaches you the correct way to learn and how to teach. Professor Dr. Shane Dixon is an excellent teacher, he has a talent for teaching through his charisma and abilities, and he makes the course enjoyable and motivating. Thanks, Dr. Shane Dixon for your enthusiasm and guiding us in this week and concerning us. And the rest of your team.

Sincerely.

Macario Pájaro Hernández

创建者 Youness L

Dec 22, 2017

Excellent course framework, and presentation. The content is of superior quality, and in par with what one will learn in the brick and mortar TESOL schools. I have also received interesting feedbacks from my course mates, and they have been all timely, constructive and pertinent. It goes without saying that the lecturers are highly intelligible and competent in the matter of presentation and language.

创建者 Jocelyn S

Dec 29, 2020

I thought I'm not going to make it. Yes, I finished it after countless nights just to beat the deadline. This course has thought me discipline, aside from the foundational principles I have acquired. I am very much indebted to all the people behind this wonderful opportunity. Thus, I will utilize all the learnings I acquired to be the best mentor I can be. Kudos, ASU and Coursera for a job well done!

创建者 Lindemberg P d S

Apr 23, 2019

Excellent!! A wonderful TESOL course for any one who dreams of becoming a great teacher someday!! It grasped my attention since the very first moment I started watching the first lesson. All the classes by Dr. Shane Dixon are quite interesting and enriched with a lot of pedagogical tips to teach better English language. Congratulations for ASU university and all the team behind this amazing course!!

创建者 Diana V F

Jul 5, 2020

This course was really good for knowing basic techniques used for teaching!! I loved the teachers, they were all very nice and willing to answer questions on the Discussion Forums. The videos are really useful for explaining the topics and I found them to be entertaining with the use of metaphors and anecdotes. Overall, its a good course if you're looking for knowing the basis to be a good teacher.

创建者 Alexandra C S

Nov 2, 2020

I found the course touched on important topics with useful links and additional resources and references for deeper learning. Additionally, the content was presented in an easy-to-understand fashion, with engaging videos and readings. However, the assessment criteria via peer reviews to me seemed to lessen the overall standard as everyone taking the course wants to support everyone else to pass.

创建者 Anastasiia S

Dec 24, 2019

I was glad to have an opportunity to enrol in this course and it gave me a truly important experience and useful knowledge. It was rather interesting and exciting to work on peer-graded assignments and I would be glad to continue working hard on my road through TESOL certification from Arizona State University. Let me express sincere gratitude for your work on this course. Let’s keep going!

创建者 Camila N N D

May 7, 2019

Amei o curso! Mesmo sendo um curso online, me senti muito próxima dos professores. A metodologia usada foi incrível, trazendo metáforas para nos ensinar técnicas para sala de aula. Simplesmente maravilhoso! Acredito que poderia ter mais atividades para praticarmos o que aprendemos, porque eu sou uma pessoa que para gravar preciso praticar, então senti falta de um pouco mais de exercícios.

创建者 Shane D L

Feb 14, 2016

Shane Dixon is a little over the top, but it's clear that his energy and enthusiasm is backed up by his knowledge (also it makes sense that he would have such a personality considering the need for it in his ESL classrooms). Everything he says is directed towards helping you understand how to apply what you are learning in a class. Easily the most interesting online course I've taken.