Chevron Left
返回到 流行病:传染病动力学

学生对 宾夕法尼亚州立大学 提供的 流行病:传染病动力学 的评价和反馈

4.8
924 个评分
238 条评论

课程概述

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

热门审阅

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

SN

Apr 12, 2016

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

筛选依据:

1 - 流行病:传染病动力学 的 25 个评论(共 233 个)

创建者 Janet W

Apr 28, 2020

Excellent and highly recommended! Great faculty and guest speakers from diverse backgrounds providing a wide spectrum of opinions. I especially enjoyed the lively discussion forums in Week 8. Kudos to the course developer. Each topic was presented in “bite size” pieces and easy to comprehend. I can definitely apply this course to current events providing a foundation for understanding the Covid-19 pandemic.

创建者 闰长青

Feb 09, 2020

Excellent courses! These courses were prepared by a combination of virologist, bacteriologist, immunologist and socialogist. They provided a comprehensive perspective on how epidemics emerge, spread and would be controlled by us. Quiet interesting. I learned so much from the courses!

创建者 Donna B

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

创建者 Shaaz N

Apr 12, 2016

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

创建者 Elize

Jan 30, 2018

The instructors state in the beginning, that they put a lot of effort into making this course fun... And it was! The course provides an overview on history of emergence and treatment of infectious diseases as well as developments and future considerations for prevention and treatment. The information is explained very well and supported by very entertaining animations, which help to memorize the course material. The additional readings and videos provided each week were informative and offered increased understanding of each topic. This was the 8th course I completed on Coursera, and eventhough I enjoyed all, this the only one I rated with 5 stars. Enjoy!

创建者 Ian B

Apr 08, 2020

I took this course on learning of the Covid-19 outbreak. Very pleased I did. It was clear, even from the early lectures, that Covid-19 was going to be more serious than initial reports were suggesting. As a founding member of our local safety & security forum, we were able to formulate an emergency plan and mobilise ancillary medical personnel (we're all still on standby).

The course content is presented in a way that make it easy to understand. And kudos to whoever did the background sketches and animations... nice touch!

Thanks guys! And good luck to everyone still under lockdown!

创建者 Robert C S

Dec 12, 2016

Enjoyed the course tremendously, and it was a wonderful refresher course that I am using to keep me current with some of the tangential parts of my field of expertise. I would recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in infectious disease, epidemiology, microbiology, or related fields. The videos were short, direct, and enlightening and not dry and boring light some educational videos can tend to be. I am planning on taking a number of other courses offered through Coursera.org

创建者 Kathy P

May 13, 2020

I found this course to be incredibly interesting and informative. The group of various instructors made the subject matter easy enough to understand yet complex enough to get across the information. Having taken this in the midst of the COVID-19 outbreak helps me better understand all that is going on in our world right now in regard to the pandemic, and how incredibly complex it is to deal with an infectious disease outbreak.

创建者 Melissa D

Apr 18, 2020

I have started several courses on Coursera - this was the first one I successfully completed in a looong time. The instructors are amazing: able to succinctly and clearly communicate important themes and concepts. I particularly enjoyed the brevity of each lesson. I completed the entire course in three weeks and moved on to other public health courses.

Thank you, thank you, thank you Penn State!

创建者 Teresa R

Nov 17, 2019

I became more knowledgeable of infectious diseases and I have been inspired to carry on researching the dynamics of zoonotic diseases and exploring the case studies of infections and natural history. Really enjoyed videos such as the Zombie Ants, Pathogen-Microbiome Interactions, Types of Immunity, Immunity Evasion and the theory behind the immunity response to infection and pathogen activity.

创建者 Fahd H K

May 01, 2020

This was a fantastic course. Especially given the current situation we are facing the world over. A very well structured course on a very important topic. Did a brilliant job in teaching the practical aspects of epidemics and epidemiology rather than focusing on the quantitative aspect of the discipline. A massive kudos to the team! Thank you for helping me improve my knowledge.

创建者 Lazara M

Sep 24, 2019

This was definitely a wonderful, yet challenging course. I am in the military, and work in Preventive Medicine. I thought I was very strong in this field, as far as education is concerned, and I was far from it. Overall this course has brightened up the information I do have, and has better prepared me for future enrollment into graduate school.

创建者 Mellenie S

Jan 17, 2017

Excellent course. I really love the way it opened my eyes to the workings of disease and how it could be controlled globally. I am a certified medical laboratory professional so I have some kind of medical background. But this course has been pleasantly exhilarating. It added so much to my current knowledge. I absolutely recommend this.

创建者 贾米兰

Oct 15, 2017

I appreciate every fabulous lectures presented by all the faculty,as your vivid description and delicate arrangement of this course do help me a lot on understanding the dynamics of epidemiology. For a medical student like me, surely this class is not just academically but also practically useful in my further studying in the future.

创建者 alysha g

Dec 01, 2015

The course provides an excellent fundamental base for the study of disease and epidemics, Also, the various approaches from social aspects to microbiology, really gives a wide range of perspective, which ultimately stirs up ideas and implications that make one feel capable of entering any discussion surrounding the topic.

创建者 Nicole M

Oct 11, 2015

This was one of my first online courses and I think the lecturers did an excellent job of conveying the material especially through this medium. They were also quick to respond to any questions that I had about lectures. I loved the material they presented as well. Great Course. I would definitely recommend it.

创建者 Sharik V V Z

Jul 11, 2019

Es un curso sumamente enriquecedor, posee componentes de vital importancia para el entendimiento de la dinámica de las enfermedades. Como estudiante de microbiología próxima a graduarse sinceramente encontré este curso como una manera muy óptima y entretenida de refrescar mis conocimientos. Muchas gracias.

创建者 Przemysław M J

Aug 25, 2015

Great course! Concise form and presentations are very inspiring. The variety of covered topics is definitely impressive. Even I have strong experience in Public Health, I personally find this course as extremely useful and helping in clarifying some concepts of epidemiology and infectious diseases.

创建者 Daniela V D

Nov 09, 2016

I loved it! there are no words to describe how much this course has complemented my college education and how has change the idea i had about infectious diseases. Now i wish to continue the study of the Neglected tropical diseases and apply that knowledge in my country and community. Thanks a lot.

创建者 Zaki A

Dec 11, 2019

Insightful course explaining many different aspects of epidemiology, which I would have never thought were associated with the subject. Also tied in some history and an interesting fact about ants towards the end - both of which i found really interesting. Also, nice work on The Last of Us :)

创建者 GAURI C

May 14, 2020

The course was well defined and structured. I learned a lot of things about the epidemics which were prevalent or about the diseases which can occur in the future. The study is crucial to the current COVID 19 situation and certainly answers a lot of intriguing questions about it.

创建者 Yoel C

Aug 12, 2016

Great course! I would like to thank the teachers for their awesome work in this course, it´s been a pleasure choosing Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases, so much that I will do my best to translate the course for the spanish speakers. Again, please continue teaching!

创建者 冯峥

Feb 10, 2020

Wonderful introduction to epidemics. After finishing it, I've been able to distinguish whether a report about new epidemic is credible. I suppose it is important in today's society for that there seems to be more variable diseases while human society is continuously developing.

创建者 enrico

Apr 28, 2016

One of the best course I've follow this year. The topic is really interesting, the lessons were simple to be followed and in the final lessons professors zere able to stimulate student's curiosity about the view of infection control in the future. Congratulations. Enrico Leott