Chevron Left
返回到 Essentials of Global Health

学生对 耶鲁大学 提供的 Essentials of Global Health 的评价和反馈

4.8
255 个评分
60 个审阅

课程概述

Essentials of Global Health is a comprehensive introduction to global health. It is meant to introduce you to this topic in well-structured, clear and easy to understand ways. Much of the course will focus on five questions: What do people get sick, disabled and die from; Why do they suffer from these conditions? Which people are most affected? Why should we care about such concerns? What can be done to address key health issues, hopefully at least cost, as fast as possible, and in sustainable ways? The course will be global in coverage but with a focus on low- and middle-income countries, the health of the poor, and health disparities. Particular attention will be paid throughout the course to health systems issues, the linkages between health and development, and health matters related to global interdependence. The course will cover key concepts and frameworks but be practical in orientation. ESSENTIALS OF GLOBAL HEALTH WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Course Learning Objectives By the end of the course, learners should be able to: • Articulate key public health concepts related to global health; • Analyze the key issues in global health from a number of perspectives; • Discuss with confidence the burden of disease in various regions of the world; how it varies by sex, age, and location; key risk factors for this burden; and how the disease burden can be addressed in cost-effective ways; • Assess key health disparities, especially as they relate to the health of low-income and marginalized people in low- and middle-income countries; • Outline the key actors and organizations in global health and the manner in which they cooperate to address critical global health concerns; • Review key global health challenges that are likely to arise in the coming decades. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Value Added of the Course The course seeks to add special value by being comprehensive, by handling each topic in a consistent framework, and by helping learners gain an understanding of well grounded approaches to assessing global health issues and what can be done to address them. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The Readings and other materials for Essentials of Global Health For almost every session of Essentials of Global Health, you will see: - Required readings - Recommended readings - Recommended videos We have selected a small number of readings for each session that are central to understanding the content of the session. We have put these under “required readings”. For each required reading, we have also indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. In addition, we have selected some additional readings that would be very helpful to your understanding the content of each session. The first is a textbook, Global Health 101, third edition. This is a comprehensive introductory textbook that closely follows the content of this Essentials of Global Health course. We have indicated for each session what part of the book you should read. Using this textbook can be very valuable to your mastering the content of the course. The second set of “recommended readings” is some additional readings, mostly from journal articles and reports. For these, too, we have indicated how carefully you should read the material and on what parts of the material you should focus your attention. Learners should note that to access articles from The Lancet they will have to register with the Lancet, if they do not have online access to a library that has The Lancet. Once they are registered, they will be able to sign into The Lancet and access all of its free articles. We have also indicated for most sessions one or two videos that relate to the topic of the session. These are meant to help the learner get a better feel for the topic which is being covered. Most learners will find the videos brief, easy and enjoyable to watch, and very enlightening....

热门审阅

MM

Mar 18, 2017

It was one of the best courses I have done on coursera.Also the instructor explains detailed subject matter very well which makes it easier to understand the subject.Certainly a 10\10 for the course !

JQ

Feb 19, 2018

GREAT REVIEW OF SOME INTERESTING AND VITAL ASPECTS OF GLOBAL HEALTH. THANKS, SO MUCH TO THE FOLKS WHO WORKED HARD IN PUTTING ON THIS COURSE AND ALLOWING ME TO TAKE IT GRATIS. DR QUINCY

筛选依据:

1 - Essentials of Global Health 的 25 个评论(共 60 个)

创建者 aamani

Aug 24, 2018

The course offered a detailed view about general health problems on a broad areas. From the course, we gain experience in some strategic thinking materials to design better health systems and take decisions to improve global health

创建者 YUMNA S

Dec 05, 2018

satisfied. and glad to be the part of this course

创建者 Ajit P

Feb 27, 2019

best lessons

创建者 Morgan S

Mar 09, 2019

Super informative. I came out with a high-level understanding of the current state of Global Health.

创建者 Ilana K

Mar 10, 2019

Terrific overview of global health basics.

创建者 Dr P B

Aug 02, 2018

Many thanks to Richard Skolnik for preparing this concise and clear course on Essentials of Global Health in collaboration with YALE University.

创建者 Mariama S D

Aug 27, 2018

Essential of Global Health is an interesting and cross cutting course of all aspects of global and public health.

I have learnt amazing issues ranging from what people get sick, disabled, and die from to some topics on communicable and non communicable diseases, and lots more.

Most importantly, it is very crucial for anyone interested in working within the field of global health, especially in low and middle income countries, where the epidemiological transition is growing very high and communicable diseases are also issues of both public and global health concern.

Thank you Professor Scolnik for your efforts in ensuring that we gain up-to-date knowledge and skills in the field of global health.

创建者 AYSHA S

Oct 28, 2018

This is more informative , convenient and Easily available course That is best in a lot of aspects of life either personal, financial or behavioural life. If ever i would have a similar opportunity to get it i will definitely try to approach it in my first possibility.

创建者 Maïmouna D S N

Aug 16, 2018

This course was really interesting. It covers different branches of global to give us a big picture of the matter. The professor was good at explaining and giving various exemples for us to follow. Thank you

创建者 Pascal P

Jul 26, 2018

Overall a good course with a very broad coverage of many different topics. However, there were certain things I did not like, such as the bad quizzes (when there was an answer "all of the above" it is almost always the correct one and I didnt even had to read the question.) and the faked conversations between the professor and the students. Not a fan of it.

创建者 Daniel A C

Jul 09, 2018

Excellent and pretty complete course

创建者 Jonathan G

Feb 22, 2018

learned a lot about global health but it seems a lot of these concepts and trends are a no-brainer. Of course, there is a huge problem with obesity globally, but it doesn't state the obvious about how to fix the problem i.e. getting more exercise, nutrition etc.

创建者 Kanani T M

Mar 09, 2018

I'm a working physician who has done a decent amount of global medical work, and I found this course thorough but to-the-point course and a great introduction to global health.

创建者 Morgan M

Apr 18, 2017

This course is taught in a way that is easy to understand and gives lots of insight and examples to further solidify the knowledge presented.

创建者 Benjamin M V

Dec 05, 2017

This is the BEST course I've ever taken on Coursera! It's very complete, covers a very wide range of topics, has tons of mandatory and additional references for reading, the Prof. is very good at teaching, the visual production and materials are impeccable and the fact that it almost makes you feel like if you were sitting there in the very same classroom is an aspect that other courses should try to implement. It would be awesome if peer reviewed essays were required for this course.

If you want to learn about global and public health, this is the best way to introduce yourself to those topics.

创建者 Esther I

Apr 04, 2018

Offered in a simple way very easy to understand

创建者 Maitreyee

Mar 18, 2017

It was one of the best courses I have done on coursera.Also the instructor explains detailed subject matter very well which makes it easier to understand the subject.Certainly a 10\10 for the course !

创建者 Laura E M B

Aug 03, 2017

Comprehensive. Very interesting complementary material.

创建者 刘文佳

Apr 15, 2018

I love this course!!! Many supportive resources and useful intelligible knowledge is provided!

创建者 Nino G

Jul 07, 2018

One of the best courses I have ever taken. I'm doing MPH at Essex University and Richard Skonlik's "Global Health 101" is the essential reading throughout the first module. This course is very supportive, relevant and essential for health care specialists.

创建者 Tipack A

Nov 12, 2017

Its really a fascinating course to be met by all age groups and the knowledge acquired made me to think about various global health issues and their present status and further ways to overcome such issues..!

创建者 Marko

Aug 01, 2017

The programe is informative and educational with excelent connections to some good online resorces for further learning.

创建者 Ann M T

May 22, 2018

Thank you for this opportunity. It was very time consuming with work, travel and being ill during this 6 weeks - but I am better for having completed it and thank you!

创建者 Peter S

Nov 28, 2017

I cannot praise this course too highly - it is simply superb. The lecturer is brilliant - very knowledgeable, and someone who puts the material across with great clarity and enthusiasm. The 10 weeks are well arranged and providing one works hard, you come away feeling quite an expert on the subject. I have enrolled in quite a few MOOCs over recent years, but this is by far the best.

创建者 Simon B

Aug 10, 2017

Very enjoyable and in-depth!