Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Faecal Sludge Management

学生对 洛桑联邦理工学院 提供的 Introduction to Faecal Sludge Management 的评价和反馈

4.8
559 个评分
129 条评论

课程概述

Do you want learn how to apply concepts of sustainable faecal sludge management (FSM) on a city-wide scale? This course starts with an overview of what faecal sludge is and an introduces you to the engineering fundamentals and required information for the design and selection of technologies. Sanitation solutions are prone to failure if an integrated planning approach that includes stakeholder involvement and the development of appropriate institutional, management and financial arrangements is not implemented. The course therefore dedicates a complete week to presenting the full picture, in addition to technology, that needs to be considered for sustainable solutions. It concludes with a focus on current research and innovations in technologies, to provide an understanding of the most up-to-date options. This course is one of four in the series “Sanitation, Water and Solid Waste for Development"....

热门审阅

M
Oct 3, 2021

It is an amazing course, I enjoyed quite new topic soo far and I loved the way of teaching of mentors in course. Thank you coursera for giving me an opportunity to better understand the new knowledge.

BD
Jun 10, 2018

It was an excellent learning opportunity with a new challenging field of research. I am keen to register more subjects in the future in related subjects under your mentoring. RegardsDr. Bhaskar Das

筛选依据:

101 - Introduction to Faecal Sludge Management 的 125 个评论(共 127 个)

创建者 MANOJ M

Jun 23, 2020

great work by the team

创建者 Aditya B P

Nov 30, 2021

Wonderful COURSE

创建者 Hewa M R P P

Oct 14, 2020

This was awesome

创建者 Hugo H

Dec 8, 2020

It was amazing

创建者 Elijah A

Oct 7, 2020

great impact

创建者 Seyed H H

Jan 6, 2022

Excellent !

创建者 VENKATESH A

Aug 25, 2020

nice course

创建者 MILIND A C

Sep 8, 2020

1NO COURSE

创建者 Gichinga W

Jan 9, 2020

amazing

创建者 Mona A A

Jul 8, 2020

g

o

o

d

创建者 Rajeev R B

Jul 7, 2020

good

创建者 Saleh M A

Nov 24, 2019

I learn more from this course such as how mange project, how I understood key concepts of project, kind of the wastes, how treated them and how can I benefitfrom then such as use them as composetion. Finally, Thank very much to all instructors or anyone contributes in preparing this course to content all these information that really gain more to background

创建者 Pietro F

Apr 19, 2020

The course is well structured. I missed some steps in the overall faecal sludge treatment because I never studied it before. I think it should be helpful to give a process flow diagram of the entire treatment. I also missed some treatment objective detailed explanation, for example, of pathogen inactivation.

创建者 Michael B

Jun 5, 2017

Provided a great overview of the topic. Great support for a manager trying to gain perspective on the complexities of FSM and sanitation systems.

创建者 Mahesh G

Apr 21, 2020

The lectures handled were simple and easily understandable. It would have been more useful, if a few more case studies would have been included.

创建者 Kyaw T S

Aug 14, 2020

It provides insights into the technological gaps in the waste management system encountered in developing countries.

创建者 KARINE L

May 17, 2019

Very interesting, well explained and easy to understand. It is also a good presentation of the corresponding book.

创建者 Vinod N

May 15, 2020

Good course, requires more case study and pictorial and analytical explaination and government planning and goals

创建者 Shibin J

Apr 11, 2021

Very important for students interested in environmental engineering.

创建者 Joshua A

Mar 3, 2021

course was very engaging.....so so much material to pour on.....

创建者 Grace K

May 9, 2020

Great information and so practical that it is ready to use!

创建者 Kene C D

Nov 1, 2020

The course was very good and very informative

创建者 Khwmdwn M

May 16, 2020

Good Course. I have learnt a lot about FSSM

创建者 shweta m

Apr 30, 2019

Unplanted sludge drying beds are shallow filters filled with sand and gravel with an under-drain at

the bottom to collect leachate. Sludge is discharged onto the surface for dewatering (Figure 7.1). The

drying process in a drying bed is based on drainage of liquid through the sand and gravel to the bottom

of the bed, and evaporation of water from the surface of the sludge to the air. The design as well as the

operation of the drying bed is fairly straightforward, provided the sludge loading rate is well selected

and the inlet points for depositing the sludge onto the bed are properly designed. Depending on the

faecal sludge (FS) characteristics, a variable fraction of approximately 50-80% of the sludge volume

drains off as a liquid (or leachate), which needs to be collected and treated prior to discharge (Tilley

et al., 2014). After reaching the desired dryness, the sludge is removed from the bed manually or

mechanically. Further processing for stabilization and pathogen reduction may be required depending

on the intended end-use option. When considering the installation of a drying bed, the ease of operation

and low cost needs to be considered against the relatively large footprint and odor potential.

创建者 Mohammad M K S

Jun 23, 2020

fairly good