Chevron Left
返回到 Fashion as Design

学生对 现代艺术博物馆 提供的 Fashion as Design 的评价和反馈

4.9
728 个评分
165 个审阅

课程概述

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

热门审阅

CR

Dec 02, 2019

Highly practical and ambitious material challenging us to think about the current landscape of fashion, as well as the future, and how we can improve the the industry with sustainable practices.

DG

Nov 26, 2019

Brilliant course. Eye - opening. It gave me the language to describe some of my views on fashion which I never even knew existed. Looking forward to more fashion courses from MoMA!

筛选依据:

1 - Fashion as Design 的 25 个评论(共 166 个)

创建者 Ritta

Jan 31, 2018

I really recommend everyone to take this course! I have learned so much throughout these 7 weeks and I now have a different perception about many different things! Thank you

创建者 Pallabi S

Aug 31, 2018

It would really help if the professors themselves could review our subjective assignments.

创建者 Anastasija L

May 13, 2019

The course is very interesting for those, who is connected to the fashion industry in one way or another. However I expected to have more information about life-circle of clothes: how it is produced, what exactly happens after an item is thrown away etc.

创建者 Carmen S

Oct 22, 2018

The information presented is good, I especially enjoyed the footage from presentations held at MoMa. Unfortunately, every week ends the same when it comes to the reflective stage (same questions, pretty generic) and I feel this steals us from the possibility to better internalize the information.

创建者 Maria V L E

Jul 16, 2019

This course was an amazing experience. Every lecture, every video an the interviews were like complements to my past knowledge about fashion. Thanks to MoMa and Coursera!

创建者 ANUM R

Nov 18, 2018

Wonderful course for every fashion design student who is studying fashion with historical perspective and their making and importance.

创建者 amani a

Nov 26, 2018

إنها أفضل دورة تدريبية على الإنترنت أنا سعيد للغاية وحصلت على معلومات رائعة ومفيدة من قلبي

创建者 SANDRA A

Dec 04, 2018

Muy contenta, me ha encantado y muy agradecida por comprender la moda y sus orígenes históricos profundos , que bueno sería poder encontrar formaciones relacionados en temas a la moda sostenible, textiles sostenibles, emprendimientos de marca en moda sostenible .. Gracias por esta maravillosa oportunidad.

创建者 Sujit U

Dec 05, 2018

I got to know a deep knowledge about almost every garments which human wear in daily life.

创建者 Charli A

Dec 31, 2018

Incredible!

创建者 Tadea S I J

Jan 04, 2019

I really loved it because you get to aknowledge a lot of things about fashion that most of us ignore and are kind of essential to designing. I really recomend this course for any fashion lover or designer interested in the fashion industry.

创建者 Ece z

Feb 19, 2019

I learned many of thinks in this issue. I am sure it will help to me in my working life and social life. Thank you so much.

创建者 Kennia R M

Jan 26, 2019

el cuerso es bastante bueno, muy claro y te da una nueva perspectiva de las cosas

创建者 Sofía A M k

Jan 30, 2019

Loved it

创建者 Harini H

Apr 07, 2019

Thank you Fashion as Design team for creating this wonderful course! I have learned so many new things and increased my awareness of the true cost of fashion. I had no idea fashion was the second most polluting industry in the world, that it consumed so much energy and water and how it contributed to climate change and water pollution. I had stopped buying clothes for a while now because I have enough for my needs but if and when I do need something new I'm only going to buy second-hand clothing because I cannot in good conscience purchase anything new knowing the terrible social and environmental impact it has on the world. This course has completely changed how I look at fashion and what I will purchase in future. I love everything I own but now I value and appreciate them so much more. I did not know that you could grow your own clothes and that was such a cool thing to learn about. It's wonderful to know that sustainable alternatives to non-recyclable textiles and animal-derived leather is being produced. I loved the merging of technology with fashion as seen in Asher Levine's biker jacket prototype. All in all, this was an amazing course.

创建者 Elisabet A

Apr 11, 2019

This is a very interesting course. I feel I have learnt a lot about history of fashion and the most important aspects linked to the industry, specially sustainability. I totally recommend it.

创建者 David G M

Apr 12, 2019

Very interesting approach to fashion and all its related dimensions. I was not too much into the topic, and I loved it.

创建者 Carmen

Apr 01, 2019

S

创建者 Apolinar G

Mar 12, 2019

Really interesting. Explains many historical and sociological data of fashion and accessories.

Has exceeded my expectations.

创建者 Itxazne A

Mar 04, 2019

I am so glad I have joined this wonderful course. My knowledge of fashion has considerably improved, specially when it comes to the social circummstances in which these iconic items were conveived. I recommend it to eveyone looking for a deeper insight in the last decades design.

创建者 Paula S

Mar 18, 2019

Changed my vision of the fashion industry

创建者 Pooja k

Mar 19, 2019

The course was an eye opener to the fashion world. I learned the history behind each trend which we follow till date . It was a great platform to explore the world of garments, fabrics , trends ,style . From day to day turtle necks and jeans to bespoke couture, the course gave an insight to everything. Thank you mentors and team of course era for giving me the opportunity to gain knowledge and grow .

创建者 Helena K

Jan 07, 2019

This course is just excellent! I already knew that MoMa has a great archive and produces greatly curated work but the way this course is put together is fascinatingly interesting not only for fashion and design lovers like myself but also for people interested in learning about contemporary culture and modern history. Definitely a 5 star worth course!

创建者 Власова В В

Mar 10, 2019

Thank you for such an amazing and informative course. I'm not sure that I would have learned so many details, interesting facts, meanings and role of fashion, if I had not enrolled in a course "Fashion as design". You opened my eyes to what fashion items depict and what revolutionary role they carried in their time. But most importantly you made me notice the environmental issues and rethink my way of consumption. Thanks again!