Chevron Left
返回到 喂饱全世界

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 喂饱全世界 的评价和反馈

4.6
78 个评分
17 条评论

课程概述

This course will explore the concepts driving current food production science (population growth, urbanization, emerging affluence, resource constraints, and underlying biological limits) with the main focus on livestock production. Each of the major food animal species (dairy, swine, beef, and poultry) will be covered in terms of their universal life cycles, constraints to production and emerging societal issues. Throughout the course, we will tackle some difficult and important questions: What are the major health benefits and potential concerns regarding the production and consumption of animal products? How does animal production affect the efficient use of resources and impact our environment? Can cost of production be reduced to meet growing demand for animal products around the globe while maintaining health and safety for both animals and consumers? What are the different types of animal food production systems? Myths and misconceptions surrounding the animal food systems will be discussed. We’ll also look closely at some of the global issues, problems, and challenges in these food systems which scientists, farmers, and veterinarians, are attempting to solve through collaboration. Lectures will be delivered by several experts from the University of Pennsylvania, School of Veterinary Medicine who are intimately involved in the study and advancement of animal production systems. The course is geared towards learners who seek a greater understanding of animal food systems as well as those who might have never visited an animal farm, but have a desire to learn more about where some of our food comes from and issues surrounding sustainability....

热门审阅

AA

Mar 11, 2019

Coursera indeed has changed my life and empowered me the right skills for a better tomorrow .\n\ni am gratefully appreciate you , for all you have done to bless us

YK

Mar 05, 2019

Fantastic Course! I was so pleased to participate in a course on Feeding the World and to learn it's reality. Thanks to all who put this course on.

筛选依据:

1 - 喂饱全世界 的 16 个评论(共 16 个)

创建者 Claude A

Jan 02, 2019

Title is somewhat misleading. The course is primarily about the commodity beef industry.

创建者 Claudia d P M M

Jan 20, 2020

I´m really thankful about this course because as a Veterinarian, it gave me the key points about production systems in a global context and had reforced to me the idea to get involved in a work referent to animal production. All the topics were meaningful to me and I think they are very necessaire to understand the principles of food production. The topic about water caused a change in my thoughts about scarcity because I had a different idea about it and now I know i´t not a real shortage but a bad handling of the resource. As a consumer I really hate to waste food or throw it up if it's still being able to eat it and this course had reforced that concept in me, and I will apply it to my family in order to give them awareness about food.

创建者 Abdirahim A A

Mar 11, 2019

Coursera indeed has changed my life and empowered me the right skills for a better tomorrow .

i am gratefully appreciate you , for all you have done to bless us

创建者 Yunus K

Mar 05, 2019

Fantastic Course! I was so pleased to participate in a course on Feeding the World and to learn it's reality. Thanks to all who put this course on.

创建者 Paola G

Jan 04, 2018

very interesting, with a lot of clear explanation. I have really appreciated the pdf of slides for every lesson

创建者 MUHAMMAD A B

Jan 16, 2020

It provide a lot of information about feeding the world like food safety, food security and much more.

创建者 JOHN Q

Jul 28, 2017

exceptionally interesting course, with a lot I personally found vital to know. thanks so much!

创建者 Edip A

Jan 07, 2018

Excellent course, excellent teacher. Thanks very much.

创建者 Jose A Z P

Feb 02, 2020

It is really good, you will learn a lot

创建者 Alyshia M N

Jan 18, 2019

SOOOOOOO INFORMATIVE AND AMAZING!!!!

创建者 LEONIL S D

Nov 26, 2018

Muito bom, recomendo.

创建者 Dewan H

Nov 17, 2019

Satisfying..

创建者 Enriqueta O H S

Jul 02, 2017

I love it!!

创建者 Ali S S A S

Sep 27, 2017

great

创建者 Mariana V

Jul 20, 2017

Overall very well organized and its content has great quality and lecturers. Reccomended to animal related professions and producers.

创建者 Dean P

Sep 26, 2018

It's a great course if you want to learn how is the current agriulture system. It definetely doesn't adress how to feed the world. The world doesn't need more meat. We need more education on what to eat. A plant based diet would seem the only way, with once or twice per week meat consumption MAXIMUM. So we need less meat and better life quality for animals. Also, we don't need dairy. Why the f*ck do adult homo sapiens need to drink cow's milk? that's rediculous. The only way to feed the world (and not cause them heart attacks) is to figure out how to increase edible plant production and there are ways to do this that can work. WE NEED A SHIFT IN OUR MENTALITY. LESS MEAT, NO DAIRY AND MORE PLANTS.