Chevron Left
返回到 Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

学生对 伦敦大学 提供的 Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies 的评价和反馈

4.5
173 个评分
60 条评论

课程概述

This course is a short taster on the topic of the use of Images, Film, and their use in historical interpretation in the 20th century. It is primarily provided for those who have a general interest in history that draws on photojournalism as primary evidence, and films based on historical events. Once you have completed this course we hope you will be equipped to: Appreciate the significance of photographs as historical evidence in the twentieth century. Understand the limitations of the medium, and how we can attribute meaning to these individual records of 'one moment in time' while taking into account the circumstances in which any particular image was taken. Understand how individuals and institutions have looked to manipulate images to their own ends – through alteration and/or censorship – and what that meant to contemporary interpretation, as well as subsequent historical interpretation. Put individual images into a wider context, and in particular with reference to history written, or portrayed, beyond academia: public history. Do be aware that part of the contents of this course regard images and depiction of war. Real wars and real images....

热门审阅

MS
Jun 5, 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

AT
Jul 31, 2017

This is an excellent course and I have really enjoyed it. The topics covered are diverse and the course has provided me with several areas for further independent research.

筛选依据:

1 - Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies 的 25 个评论(共 61 个)

创建者 Angela T

Aug 1, 2017

This is an excellent course and I have really enjoyed it. The topics covered are diverse and the course has provided me with several areas for further independent research.

创建者 Millie W

Jul 15, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I signed up as I needed a few more activities related to my subject (history) on my UCAS application. Not only was it useful in that sense, I learnt so much on areas of history I had never even heard of. Recommend completely!

创建者 Edyta R

Aug 24, 2020

Interesting subject and enjoyable time learning. I just realized how much I love learning. Thank you for this wonderful experience.

创建者 Mariana H L

Mar 2, 2020

Very useful and interesting.

创建者 akhil

Feb 6, 2020

super

创建者 Pol M

Feb 7, 2019

The course is really interesting. Nevertheless, it often focuses too much in the context of historical events to finally discuss a single picture for just 5 minutes. Moreover, I've found the tests to be too much focused on really precise and sometimes anecdotical data instead of the general conclusions which, from my point of view, are a more reliable reflection of the learning success.

创建者 Carly Z

Dec 13, 2019

About half the links in this course are broken, which is very frustrating. I found the course content itself to be very interesting, though!

创建者 Paulo J A G

Mar 18, 2020

Good material courses. The only negative criticism is related to some repetition of content in some videos.

创建者 elena G

Apr 10, 2020

Many of course links are erase but in the test you insert questions from thinks that is not available

创建者 Audrey L

Dec 27, 2017

Great material in this course, though some of the links need to be updated.

创建者 Olga E

Jan 22, 2018

The quizzes are not related to the topic of this course at all.

创建者 Leslie S

Sep 17, 2020

Enormously grateful to Emmett Sullivan for such amazing insight. This should be a GE course for all liberal arts colleges worldwide. Indeed, the camera never lies. Was not entirely satisfied with the randomly picked peers for review. Would have preferred a group of peers with similar competencies who understood the rubric.

创建者 Bharati B

Jul 29, 2020

This course is a wonderful exploration of historical interpretation of image manipulation or alteration. It was a splendid journey with Professor Emmett Sullivan to understand how history unfolds in front of the camera and how films can be considered as 'public history'. A good course for students of cinema studies, indeed.

创建者 Anabel S d G

Sep 14, 2017

Highly recommended. I enjoyed revisiting important parts of History through iconic photographs and learning to look at them from a critical and analytical point of view. Mr. Sullivan was great in his lectures and the assignments were insightful. It was hard but well schedule. Many thanks

创建者 Marieta C

Jun 22, 2020

An amazing experience and a scenic journey into history! The course teaches one to look and really see, it’s both informative and interesting, the reference material ( additional reading) though ( that’s my only “ remark” ) contains some corrupt ( expired) links.

Highly recommend

创建者 Tanya E Q

Oct 15, 2020

I loved the course. I´m a photography enthusiast and also interested in History, so the course provided me a another point of view related to the importance of using images as a historical source and all the implications. Thank you and congratulations for this wonderful c

创建者 PRIYAM S G 1

Dec 5, 2020

Emmett Sullivan is a legend. This course was a huge eye-opener and has provided me with a much larger scope for media research. It was a treat to listen to him as well as all the insightful interviews. Thank you for organizing this course, keep up the great work!

创建者 ISABELLE M

Oct 2, 2020

This was an amazing experience and I have never enjoyed something so much. Kudos to Dr. Emmett Sullivan for making this such a memorable experience. Really loved your perspective and how you gave way for a more clearer understanding of history through the camera.

创建者 Maria F M

Nov 10, 2020

I enjoyed every bit of the course! It has been awesome to have a more direct look on the possible political usage of photography and other images, and how these forms of disseminating information play a key role in the study and general understanding of History.

创建者 Pedro J d A M

Jul 18, 2020

The lessons and the course material are amazing. Dr Emmet's teachings goes beyond expectations with deep, scrutinized lessons. For people who work in the media , or just interested in photography, the course is a must! I definitely recommend it.

创建者 JOHN Q

Feb 13, 2017

Fantastic course. I loved the examples of iconic photos which I had seen but now better understand their significance. I hadn't seen many of the Stalin photos, however. Its amazing how politicians can manipulate us ala George Orwell........

创建者 Ayla T

Sep 14, 2020

Thank you so much for this modern history and media relations course. It provided insight into understanding what is happening in the media's backyard and It's very inspired. I think I'll benefit a lot in my next works. Much obliged

创建者 Mardohar B B S

Jun 6, 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

创建者 Ana C d O

May 4, 2020

I really enjoyed the course! It gives a good overview of history and, mainly, about the use of photography and image in the historical context.

创建者 Thaniyatul J S

Aug 24, 2020

It's very informative and educative. I've a lot of new knowledge from this course. Thank you coursera for this platform to learn.