Chevron Left
返回到 Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies

学生对 伦敦大学 提供的 Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies 的评价和反馈

4.6
248 个评分
85 条评论

课程概述

This course is a short taster on the topic of the use of Images, Film, and their use in historical interpretation in the 20th century. It is primarily provided for those who have a general interest in history that draws on photojournalism as primary evidence, and films based on historical events. Once you have completed this course we hope you will be equipped to: Appreciate the significance of photographs as historical evidence in the twentieth century. Understand the limitations of the medium, and how we can attribute meaning to these individual records of 'one moment in time' while taking into account the circumstances in which any particular image was taken. Understand how individuals and institutions have looked to manipulate images to their own ends – through alteration and/or censorship – and what that meant to contemporary interpretation, as well as subsequent historical interpretation. Put individual images into a wider context, and in particular with reference to history written, or portrayed, beyond academia: public history. Do be aware that part of the contents of this course regard images and depiction of war. Real wars and real images....

热门审阅

MS
Jun 5, 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

DD
May 18, 2021

It is a very informative course for history enthusiasts. It encourages critical thinking and interpretation of history in a unique way. I enjoyed and learned a lot in the 6 weeks.

筛选依据:

26 - Film, Images & Historical Interpretation in the 20th Century: The Camera Never Lies 的 50 个评论(共 85 个)

创建者 JOHN Q

Feb 13, 2017

Fantastic course. I loved the examples of iconic photos which I had seen but now better understand their significance. I hadn't seen many of the Stalin photos, however. Its amazing how politicians can manipulate us ala George Orwell........

创建者 Ayla T

Sep 14, 2020

Thank you so much for this modern history and media relations course. It provided insight into understanding what is happening in the media's backyard and It's very inspired. I think I'll benefit a lot in my next works. Much obliged

创建者 Mardohar B B S

Jun 6, 2020

This course provides students with the tools they need to analyse and understand visual history along with its deceiving nature that derived from the very character of film properties.

创建者 Felipe d J D H

May 3, 2021

A very interesting and engaging program, for a better understanding of the role an image (photography, film, propaganda) plays in the context of historical studies and interpretation.

创建者 Divyanshi

May 19, 2021

It is a very informative course for history enthusiasts. It encourages critical thinking and interpretation of history in a unique way. I enjoyed and learned a lot in the 6 weeks.

创建者 Mireya M O B

May 5, 2021

En general muy bueno todo, el enfoque desde la perspectiva de material audiovisual genera más atracción al los estudiantes, muy agradecida por haber recibido este curso.

创建者 NEDRET K

Dec 30, 2020

An amazingly valuable course, creating the deepest insights for the history of world as well as films, images and photography...

Thanks Mr Sullivan

创建者 Ana C d O

May 4, 2020

I really enjoyed the course! It gives a good overview of history and, mainly, about the use of photography and image in the historical context.

创建者 Наталья А

Jun 9, 2021

Excellent, deep course!! Interesting materials, links, practical orientation - these are the main advantages of the course! Thank you!

创建者 VALERIA V M R

Jul 12, 2021

Interesting, beautiful, and some time overwhelming... makes you think in the power of the images, in the history as the human memory

创建者 Thaniyatul J S

Aug 24, 2020

It's very informative and educative. I've a lot of new knowledge from this course. Thank you coursera for this platform to learn.

创建者 Ruíz C J

Oct 11, 2020

Es interesante la manera en la que aborda los temas y una manera diferente de ver la perspectiva de sucesos históricos

创建者 June m

May 6, 2020

Excellent very interesting course and a great course leader Dr Emmett Sullivan well worth spending time on this.

创建者 Ricardo J G V

Aug 10, 2020

Great poin of view, relevant info, very clear classes. I wish there was a Part II to this course. Cheers.

创建者 Christina A

Dec 24, 2020

It was extremily intesting cource and really made me to care about the history of montern era.

创建者 Abhijit G

Jun 17, 2017

This course is very informative and structural in learning the relation of films and history.

创建者 louis f d m p s

May 11, 2020

Thank you very much: Now I am sure that "the camera lies". I already have a new theme image.

创建者 Prishitha M

Jul 27, 2020

Great lesson learning experience for Media and Communication and Film Studies students.

创建者 Nilesh A

Nov 14, 2021

The course is absolutely amazing. really knowledgable thank you for the information.

创建者 Paccelli Z

Apr 17, 2020

Um curso excelente que desenvolve senso crítico sobre o uso de imagens na História.

创建者 Rebeca S

Dec 14, 2020

Really interesting course with a very deep dive into the materia. Thank you!

创建者 Andriana G

Jan 18, 2021

Great course learned so much stuff about history and a great professor

创建者 Anupriya R

Sep 5, 2020

What a great course! The insights are incredible. Highly recommended.

创建者 Libardo G

May 21, 2018

Excellent material. Is a pain that dont be available in spanish

创建者 Babes L O

Oct 19, 2020

I really like how Prof. Sullivan teaches not just by the book.