Chevron Left
返回到 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,576 个评分
393 条评论

课程概述

All goods and services are subject to scarcity at some level. Scarcity means that society must develop some allocation mechanism – rules to determine who gets what. Over recorded history, these allocation rules were usually command based – the king or the emperor would decide. In contemporary times, most countries have turned to market based allocation systems. In markets, prices act as rationing devices, encouraging or discouraging production and encouraging or discouraging consumption in such a way as to find an equilibrium allocation of resources. We will construct demand curves to capture consumer behavior and supply curves to capture producer behavior. The resulting equilibrium price “rations” the scarce commodity. Markets are frequent targets of government intervention. This intervention can be direct control of prices or it could be indirect price pressure through the imposition of taxes or subsidies. Both forms of intervention are impacted by elasticity of demand. After this course, you will be able to: • Describe consumer behavior as captured by the demand curve. • Describe producer behavior as captured by the supply curve. • Explain equilibrium in a market. • Explain the impact of taxes and price controls on market equilibrium. • Explain elasticity of demand. • Describe cost theory and how firms optimize given the constraints of their own costs and an exogenously given price. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

热门审阅

FP

May 13, 2017

In the beginning I thought this was going to be a very basic course, but the way the professor explained the topics really make it interesting a practical, going beyond the classical economic theory.

KS

Sep 12, 2019

This was awesome. I did not know Firm Level Economics when I joined this course. The explanations were simple and Prof DeBrock explained really difficult concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

筛选依据:

26 - Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior 的 50 个评论(共 387 个)

创建者 Martin C

Feb 11, 2016

This is a great course! Gary teaches always with a smile on his face and with great everyday life examples! I loved it because it provides great insights for corporations or ventures by linking econ. theories to businesses. Thanks a lot! Great teacher!

创建者 Dhinesh A D

Jun 27, 2020

Great course on the way consumers and sellers make decision under different circumstances. Concepts were explained in brief. Very precise approach to understand consumer behavior in market based on fluctuation in prices. Highly suggested course.

创建者 Vishwas K

Jun 18, 2020

I used to think that economics is just a subject where you have to remember a bit of some stuff and you are good to go. But during this course I understood everything taught by the Professor. The teaching method is quite good and understandable.

创建者 Samuel A

Jun 10, 2020

Even though, I have a degree in economics, the approach and methods used by Prof. Larry was much more revealing and easy to understand. A much better exercise for my mind in terms of practicality of the subject of economics in the real world.

创建者 Crismely P

Feb 06, 2016

I truly enjoy this course because I am using the knowledge I acquire during the lectures and applying it to complete assignments instead on relying on quizzes along to gauge my understanding. The assignments are based on real world examples.

创建者 Nursultan K

Apr 21, 2020

Absolutely loved it! The way Professor is explaining the material is easy to follow and enjoyable to study. Would recommend this course to everyone who wants to refresh their knowledge in the basics of economics or learn it from scratch.

创建者 Harsha M

Feb 25, 2020

Dr. Larry is an exception professor and educator. I learned a lot on Firm cost optimizations and will not forget the real life examples and bubbles (to remind) us to think and explore.

Thank you again Dr. Larry.

Regards,

Harsha Mahadev

创建者 Finella M

Oct 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, the lecturer made it easy to follow and understand. Even if you never had any experience or prior exposure to economics, with this course you can follow along easily and learn key terms and conditions.

创建者 Sumanth R

Sep 14, 2019

I was surprised by both the intensity and depth of material covered in this course. At the same time I think the pace of course was manageable within the recommended hours. Looking forward to my next courses on this subject.

创建者 Aninda B

May 02, 2016

Loved it throughout! If you have an introductory background of algebra and differential calculus, you will love this even more. Professor really knows his job, and he is doing great. Thumbs up! Thank you very much professor.

创建者 Akhila S P

Jul 13, 2020

I really loved to be a part of such a wonderful course. I am an MBA student and learning this topic named firm level economics will be very useful for me further. Thank you course era for giving this wonderful opportunity.

创建者 Anurag P

Feb 21, 2016

good course to enroll in , will not disappoint you especially if you are new to economics , the instructor is very good and grading pattern is a lot of fun .not for economics major there is nothing in here for you folks ..

创建者 L.G. Y

May 14, 2020

loved Larry’s teaching. had fun:))

love Larry’s Transcripts

easy to follow especially for me with Dyslexia

particularly loves the graphs and special slides with importance that pull out the key points for me very helpful

创建者 Jai P

Aug 31, 2018

The sessions were made very interactive and easy to follow, especially because of the graphical story telling ability of the Professor. It is not just boring equations, but a lively interaction. Thanks Prof. Larry!

创建者 Doruk

Oct 14, 2020

The course is great and it explains everything that is written on the syllabus. Overall I am really satisfied with the instructor and the course and would definetely consider taking another course from him.

创建者 Dr. R

Jul 13, 2020

Very good course to understand the basic concepts of consumer and producer behaviour.......Very well explained the shortrun conditions of profit maximization and shutdown...... excellent overall experience

创建者 Akshay H

Dec 11, 2017

Excellent course by Prof. Larry Debrock!

How does a market work? How is the price of a product decided? When should you shutdown a firm? and a lot more.

This is the course to get introduced to Economics.

创建者 Bruno C

Aug 09, 2017

Excellent professor.

Content well structured, videos, slides, quizz, assignments.

Support material and recommended reading also well structured.

Congratulations!

I was addicted until finishing in <2weeks!

创建者 Konul M

May 29, 2020

Əvvəlcə qeyd etmək istərdim ki, çox yaxşı bir kursdur. Əminəm ki, bu kursda əhatə olunan materialın intensivliyi və dərinliyi gələcək karyeram üçün müsbət təsir göstərəcəkdir. Təşəkkür edirəm.

创建者 Alireza A B

Feb 10, 2020

Concepts in this course are presented very thoroughly with real life examples and Larry is a great teacher! Learnt a lot in this course and looking forward to the second portion of the course.

创建者 Shubh S

Jun 01, 2020

Though being a student in technical field, i was easy for me to become familiar with the subject, as all basics were point to point explained. Larry sir was amazing xD. "I have got the pen"

创建者 Val S

Apr 12, 2020

Professor DeBrock is one of the best teachers I have ever encountered. He makes a daunting subject understandable. I can't wait for more of the same in the next microeconomics course.

创建者 Rakesh M S

Aug 23, 2017

Excellent course and very well explained every basic economic concept with real examples.

Thanks a lot Professor for allowing me to audit this course, wishing you a great success ahead!!

创建者 Emehinola O O

Jul 07, 2020

It was a very interesting course. The instructor taught really well and all his teachings were very easy to understand. I learnt a number of valuable lessons and skills in this course.

创建者 Steven H

Aug 13, 2020

Larry is an excellent teacher--clear, concise, and entertaining. This was a refresher course for me (I majored in Econ at Berkeley 40 yrs ago) and reminded me why I chose to study it!