Chevron Left
返回到 First Order Optical System Design

学生对 科罗拉多大学波德分校 提供的 First Order Optical System Design 的评价和反馈

4.3
133 个评分
46 条评论

课程概述

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5600, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Optical instruments are how we see the world, from corrective eyewear to medical endoscopes to cell phone cameras to orbiting telescopes. When you finish this course, you will be able to design, to first order, such optical systems with simple mathematical and graphical techniques. This first order design will allow you to develop the foundation needed to begin all optical design as well as the intuition needed to quickly address the feasibility of complicated designs during brainstorming meetings. You will learn how to enter these designs into an industry-standard design tool, OpticStudio by Zemax, to analyze and improve performance with powerful automatic optimization methods....

热门审阅

RG

Aug 26, 2019

Really nice course with very clear explanations of the principles of optical engineering and learn how to use ZEMAX Opticstudio to simulate your optical system

AR

Apr 30, 2020

An excellent course that teaches you geometric optics and gets you started with ZEMAX. Some of the quizzes have typos/bugs in them, but this is a minor gripe.

筛选依据:

1 - First Order Optical System Design 的 25 个评论(共 46 个)

创建者 Bailey C

Mar 19, 2019

This course has a lot of potential, but leaves a lot to be desired. It’s definitely not for everyone, so take a few things into account before you join:

1) The lecture videos are pretty superficial. You can read the majority of the information in the first few chapters of pretty much any textbook on optical engineering.

2) There is a large discrepancy between the depth of information presented and the depth required to solve the assignments. Solving the assignments can often require a significant amount of time researching on the internet or in other optics sources to find the necessary background information.

3) Many of the assignment problems are very poorly written. Questions and explanations are ambiguous or unclear more often than not. I often had to solve the problems 2-3 different ways using a different interpretation of the question to get the right answer.

4) There is no interaction between the teachers and the course whatsoever. The forums are full of posts by confused students asking for help with 0 replies. Even now, well over a year after the course was created, the final assignment has technical issues that prevent students from even submitting the assignment as intended.

Issues #2 and #3 wouldn’t be critical if #4 were remedied, but the creators seem to have no interest in maintaining their course or interacting with the students in a meaningful way. In short, if you are looking to be dropped in the deep end of optical design and are an effective self-learner (seriously, you are on your own here), you can learn a lot simply by grinding through the assignments. If you are looking to be taught in the traditional sense, or for professionalism, look somewhere else.

创建者 Randy H

Aug 09, 2019

I am still struggling through this course. The lecture materials are insufficient. The instructors are non responsive and the other students taking the class are too few in number for me to have a cadre with which to discuss. I'm left googling the topics in order to proceed. For the money spent, this is unsatisfactory. I'd highly recommend NOT taking this course.

创建者 Chen S

May 31, 2019

Very poorly designed course. No one to ask or clarify requirement if you have any question. Project submission is such a mess that a lot of information can't be uploaded. Project instruction keeps telling you to save the file while a trial version that can't save any file is provided. Few peer to review assignment. This course just needs tons of polish before it's a good experience to go through. It's helpful to learn the knowledge but the process of studying is such a pain

创建者 lihan

Jan 05, 2019

I appreciate the content of the course, however, it is not meet my expectation. I did the the questions and most of the questions is pulling my attention on numerical calculation rather than understanding the optics principle. It is wasting of my time on those calculation rather than understanding the optics design. I would highly recommend the teacher think deeply and carefully to assign the homework and questions which would reflect to the value student paid rather than coping the questions from his/her real class or somewhere, good questions are really important for student to understand and digest the knowledge.

创建者 Marek B

Apr 12, 2019

Good Course but it is impossible to get any response from the Instructors or TAs and the fact that we were using demo version of the Optic Studio which had some limitations in comparison with the regular version (like number of decimal places displayed, lack of optimisation wizard, inability to save your work) and needed to be reinstalled every two weeks or so felt very unprofessional.

创建者 Muhammed Ç

Dec 11, 2019

there were so much missing information, so I took the first test and the questions were not that much related to what I got through the lectures

创建者 Matthew D

Nov 29, 2019

Fantastic intro to optics as a field. I'd recommend:

* Knowing a fair amount of trigonometry beforehand

* Reviewing matrix multiplication

* Time. You *must* understand how much time each concept takes to sink in, and you need to give it appropriate breathing room. Without that, it's very difficult to do well.

创建者 Matthias W

Jan 31, 2020

Could be less academic and more industry oriented.

创建者 Maryam S

Jan 10, 2019

I really enjoyed taking the course. Completing assignments especially after week 3 took me 2-3 times longer than the suggested specified time. However I learned a lot from this course.

Learning Zemax was always like a hurdle for me but amazingly the instructor walked me through the main features of the software and I feel you already know a lot about optical design and simulations.

The capstone project seems to be tough (I haven't started it yet), but it is worthed spending the time since it complements your learning and proficiency level.

创建者 Zhaoning Y

Jan 17, 2019

Learned a ton about paraxial optics design. Great lecture, capstone project is A LOT of work (>20 hour) for me.

创建者 Mary S

Jan 11, 2020

Sometimes the lectures didn't contain enough info to do the homework. But the lectures and the homework were both h

创建者 Richard D

Feb 05, 2019

Very advanced, and might be intractable for those without some previous optics experience.

创建者 Rafael C

Jul 08, 2019

The course is very good and has a high level - it can be quite demanding at times. The classes are neat and instructors very didactic. What is a little bit upsetting is that the instructors rarely check the discussion board... interaction there is very low even with other students, which can make learning a little bit harder...

创建者 Ilse J M

Jan 28, 2019

This course is an excellent and concise way to get acquainted with basic (paraxial, paper-based) optical design. I've been on a quest to self-study to becoming an optical designer and I've been looking for something like this - this is the course that addresses the gap in many an optical engineering text book. The assignments also necessitate some critical thinking and further study. The course is more involved than the overview would have one believe!

创建者 osama a r

Mar 25, 2019

A unique and very well designed online applied optics course which provides insight to optics designing and helps in understanding the optical systems. After this course, i feel enriched with the optics knowledge. Anxiously looking forward for more courses in this specialization.

创建者 önder S

Jul 20, 2020

Pretty much intuitive and quite sort of pushing up was involved throughout the course. I tried hard to get the most as much as possible out of it. Practices and tasks, all assignments, are well preparing one for the optical design industry

创建者 Nadir S

Aug 23, 2020

Very well delivered lectures - explanation of concepts are done methodically. Recording of and presentation of lab experiments were good and to the point. Assignments were challenging but well within the grasp of subject taught.

创建者 Aydin A B

Apr 02, 2020

Thank Professors for the informative course that forces us to deal with some practical design systems. Some problems needed extra knowledge that not taught here and we should search for them in more detail.

创建者 Roberto F G

Aug 26, 2019

Really nice course with very clear explanations of the principles of optical engineering and learn how to use ZEMAX Opticstudio to simulate your optical system

创建者 Aakash R

Apr 30, 2020

An excellent course that teaches you geometric optics and gets you started with ZEMAX. Some of the quizzes have typos/bugs in them, but this is a minor gripe.

创建者 Rafel

Jul 30, 2020

Good course, explanations are clear and concise and I got a good learning. Tricky exercises! Perhaps more exercises with quantstudio would have been nice.

创建者 Lawrence S

Dec 20, 2018

A few new insights even for a senior optical engineer. I will keep working through their lectures if each one offers at least a few nuggets of insight.

创建者 You-Chia C

Apr 04, 2020

Wonderful course! I have learned a lot. This course not only covers the knowledge but also the actual approach to design a working optical system.

创建者 Melvin K J

Sep 21, 2020

The course is well structured. it would have been much better if there was more zemax design model in the weekly quiz.

创建者 Dirk V

Jun 25, 2020

Good lectures and presentations in this course. A sound and systematic basis for the next courses to follow.