Chevron Left
返回到 Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 Stanford Introduction to Food and Health 的评价和反馈

4.7
16,468 个评分
4,957 条评论

课程概述

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

热门审阅

AE

Jun 22, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

筛选依据:

101 - Stanford Introduction to Food and Health 的 125 个评论(共 4,906 个)

创建者 Valda W B

May 26, 2020

My experience has been very satisfying. Thank you Dr. Adams for your presentation and for the way you and your guest speaker, Michael Pollan have explained and tied these concepts to everyday life. As a certified Diabetes Prevention Program lifestyle coach, I want to apply what I have learned to supplement my presentations to people that are at risk of developing Type 2 Diabetes, high blood pressure, and obesity.

Self-Isolation due to the pandemic and time well spent. Thank you very much.

Valda L. Wisdom Brown, MSA

创建者 Chibuzo C C

Aug 28, 2020

In a world that is increasingly suffering from diet-related diseases, Stanford Introduction to Food and Health provides a rich and insightful knowledge of the relationship between foods we eat, the impart on our health and how to eat better. The language of instruction is clear and easy to follow, the interviews in-between offers important perspective and the cooking experience towards the end make this course a necessity for any individual or family that desires to make food decisions that supports their health.

创建者 MIRELLA L Q S

Jun 02, 2020

Es la primera vez que llevo un curso de nutrición , aunque en realidad la carrera que actualmente llevo en la universidad de mi país de de negocios internacionales. siempre me ha gustado mucho el mundo de la salud, al comienzo quise estudiar psicología o nutrición pero por motivos económicos no se puedo por ahora pero pienso lograd mi objetivo de aprender y estudiarlo ya que también estoy muy metida en el mundo de la comida saludable. Agradezco esta iniciativa de ayudar por medio de cursos libres. ¡Muchas gracias!

创建者 Sayali T

Feb 12, 2017

I found this course amazingly helpful and informative about the various kinds of foods we eat. Different facts and tricks and checks are listed out here to make sure that you stay healthy and fit. This course makes me want to cook more and not regard cooking as a tedious activity anymore. It is effectively explained by professors Maya Adams and Micheal Pollen. They are passionate about food and the need for everyone to be healthy. This is an excellent course and I would recommend for everyone to take this course.

创建者 Grace L L

Sep 22, 2019

I like the course overall arrangement (the contents, the lecturer, the vedio..) in view of reading time and the digestion of useful food information. Though the program itself may not be all new to me, definitely an excellent reminder, reinforcement to exceed my expectation to improve the family eating behaviours. I enjoy learning all the practical tips given in the courses, easy to apply to daily life and I already exercised the key eating principals since day-(1) I joined the course. Thank you very much.

创建者 Tim B

Jun 12, 2020

This is a very accessible, instructive course that everyone who has never thought about the way they eat or the foods they buy should be taking. It is the kind of 'grandma' knowledge + scientific background that is useful to all. The course format made very easy to engage with the content in a way that suited me, and I think I got valuable lessons out of this.

Since it is also a short course, it will only take a small bit of your time; there is little reason not to do it, time-wise. Definitely worth your while.

创建者 Cecilia C

Nov 01, 2019

I loved this course because the information given was of easy access and understanding. Everybody can feel related to a situation of not paying attention to our diet. I love the recipes also!

I want to share the videos with my friends and family who I know are struggling with their health because of poor food decisions. I wish that everybody could understand the imperative of having a healthy and delicious diet and also to have access to information and more and better food options. Thank you for this course!

创建者 Ashley R

Jan 18, 2016

I love this so much, and I think everyone should watch these videos. This is a work of art really. There is so much useful, globally applicable information packed into a concise, interesting, and credible collection. I love that there are scientific explanations and that the chemistry is shown. I also love how understandable it is to the lay-person, and how there are so many sensible pieces of advice that I feel the need to take and run with. Thank you for this; I will be passing this along to everyone I know.

创建者 Deleted A

Jan 25, 2017

Should be required for everyone, even if you think you already eat healthily! Essential and up-to-date information about food and health is presented in an extremely clear and engaging manner. The quizzes are exceptional and you'll know you learned a lot when you are not only able to find the right answer, but correct the wrong answers in your head. Thank you so much for creating this course, I truly hope it helps change the world's eating behaviors and eliminates our population's chronic health crisis.

创建者 Arianny R d C P

Jul 25, 2019

Sou muito grata por ter recebido a bolsa e ter conseguido concluir esse curso que já me engrandece e que certamente me ajudará em breve levar tal conhecimento para os meus pacientes e conhecidos. Obrigada equipe! Continuem proporcionando aprendizado e enriquecendo ainda mais essa plataforma. Gostaria de sugerir mais cursos de especialização na área da nutrição, acho que seria muito bom se tivesse pós graduação e mestrado com assuntos mais específicos para essa área. Obrigada mais uma vez, até breve.

创建者 Desiree N B

May 14, 2020

Great class. Videos were great and I like that there is a visual (video) provided along side the notes.

I am a vegetarian and have learned a lot about nutrition and healthy eating in my personal quest to overcome some health conditions. In this course, I learned a little more about nutrition, macro nutrients, nutrient density, quality of foods, portion sizes and practical tips when food shopping, etc. "Eat food (real food). Not too much. Mostly Plants" is simple and sound guidance for anyone.

创建者 Anu A

Dec 19, 2018

This is a wonderful intro to healthy eating, including the science behind foods and the psychology behind food advertising. I would highly recommend this to any teenager going off to college or really anyone who is learning how to cook or lose weight. I appreciate the nice graphics and the clear explanations. Even though I've taken other food and health courses before, I still learned some things with this class and it was so short/concise that it was worth it. Thank you, Dr. Adam and Mr. Pollan!

创建者 Candice V

Jul 17, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and the supplemental videos, recipes, and resources at the end (Week 5). A lot of it was a refresher for me, but a helpful motivator to get back on track in certain areas of my family's nutritional life such as breakfast. My husband handles breakfast with boxed cereals, boxed pancakes, and bacon. I now have some motivation to make tweaks and implement new recipes (such as the blender pancakes) to help steer this meal in a healthier direction. Thank you Dr. Adam!

创建者 Ana P

May 02, 2018

Hello, i am a nanny and i loved this course, because makes me understand how much important cooking could be in our lives. I would love to know more. Unfortunately i have finished my weeks in few days because i was too interested in it and i didn't have time to take notes . I would love to have the possibility to have the text regarding all of the videos so that i can keep them and review them whenever i feel like i need a motivation because i can say it LOUD: this course motivated me soo much!

创建者 Beáta K

Oct 11, 2018

I think this is a very useful and well-structured course, but the target group maybe wasn't me. As a European, who actually almost never eat prepared food, and cook reguralry there wasn't any new information for me, but the videos was very entertaining and again, well-structured. I think this course is recommend for everybody, because it's short, not too deep, but really complex. I'm really graetful, that it's scientifically correct, and neutral, and don't want to force us some new "diet".

创建者 Samiah A

Nov 17, 2017

An easy to understand course with practical tips everyone can adapt. It starts on a basic level and doesn't require you to drastically change your diet, such as eliminate entire food groups or grow your own produce. A follow-up course will be helpful. These type of courses are needed since there is a lot of misinformation about diet. Many documentaries telling you to basically avoid everything that leave you dismal, hopeless, and more likely to give up on improving your diet altogether.

创建者 Tawfiq A

Sep 11, 2019

Fantastic insights on nutrition, perfect illustration and clear audio explanation, being passionate about nutrition and food and currently working on my F&B sustainable food start-up my team and I found this course really beneficial and being a home chef I can now illustrate and inform on defining healthy conscious eating. Currently I am also enrolled on Stanford's child nutrition and cooking. Thanks to Coursera, and Maya Adams and the entire supporting team of this course.

创建者 Adeen K

Dec 01, 2019

an informative course that acknowledge us about basic food components and human body needs. taught about the importance of home cooking, nutritional value of processed and home cooked food and how we can improve our health by taking simple changes in our routine and can connect with our family members. most importantly this course helps to learn the skill of good shopping, how we can know about the quality of food by looking at its ingredients and nutritional value chart.

创建者 Katia N

Jul 04, 2020

I could not have found a better course considering what I was looking for. I learned so much about healthy habits, how the food industry works, how with a few essential ingredients you can make a diverse menu and how to buy my products. I am very satisfied with the way this course has been made, loved that parts of it is Maya Adams talking, others interviewing Michael Pollan and others have pictures which are super easy to follow. Thank you so much for all I have learned!

创建者 Diana M C L

Sep 07, 2016

This has been an excellent Course. The content itself is very clear and gives you an enormous background about food and eating habits, although is focused mostly in the western diet in USA I think that at least in America continent an other parts of the globe eating habits are similar, Public health is a great concern and I think that in this way we should change completely our habits and stop eating processed food. Congrats Stanford University more courses like this one.

创建者 Kuntamukkala P K

Jun 15, 2017

This course guides us how to think while buying products in grocery store. I learnt that we should look at food as mixture of Colorful vegetables, healthy fats, whole grains.....not as mixture of Nutrients (I always get baffled with their chemical names). Maya Mam explained it in so easy way, she made me look the other side of products which they (some companies) claim as "Nutritional foods". This course helped me to get rid of some doubts I had about Supplement foods.

创建者 Harshit B

Mar 06, 2018

Maya Adams, MD and Michael Pollan have explained the rules of healthy food in such a simple and non-scientific way so that every one can understand the fundamentals. These basics if followed consistently can change our lifestyle from the growing obesity to a modern healthy and fit person. The efforts of the course contributors needs to be appreciated for not only the concept but also the presentation. This is a much recommended course on food, health and fitness!!

创建者 zory D C

Aug 26, 2020

Everything was interesting. I have a little confusion about sugar. I know it is better not to consume refined sugar, in some recipes Dr. Adam uses, probably if she says what substitutes will be more beneficial than sugar, it will help a little bit more. Other than that, I love the way she and Michael Pollan explained everything about food, and I also love her voice, sweet and determined. I am very grateful I found this web page to learn more from the best source.

创建者 Naira B E

Nov 21, 2019

Me parece un muy buen curso básico sobre nutrición y alimentación, que permite a todos ser mas conscientes de lo que comemos. Como estudiante de nutrición me parece interesante las estrategias que se indican para que todos tengan una alimentación saludable dando pequeños pasos. Finalmente, me parece excelente que el curso este enfocado en todos los componentes de la alimentación tales como variables sociales, económicas, personales, disponibilidad, entre otras.

创建者 Anya H

May 05, 2020

I have successfully completed this course and it is one of a kind. It zeroes in on daily struggles pertaining to food and nutrition for the average person. This course not only simplified the complexities behind macro nutrients, it also focused on breaking down the jargon on nutrition labels - two things I had found confusing, until now. The quality of the videos is aesthetically pleasing and the lectures are engaging, and fascinating to say the least!