Chevron Left
返回到 Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 Stanford Introduction to Food and Health 的评价和反馈

4.7
stars
10,596 个评分
3,017 条评论

课程概述

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

热门审阅

CS

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

NK

Feb 25, 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

筛选依据:

176 - Stanford Introduction to Food and Health 的 200 个评论(共 2,980 个)

创建者 Abigail R

Jan 23, 2018

It's a great course! I've learned a lot about healthy eating and I have been inspired to eat better. Eating healthy is hard, in my opinion, because unhealthy food is all around you, is cheaper, and looks very appealing. However, in this course, she made eating healthy look appealing and not too expensive.

创建者 Angélica S

Apr 01, 2016

I recommend widely this course, it reaches very important information about our western diet and how can we improve it to a healthy diet. As a Physician I got important tips for my patients, most of them have metabolic syndrom; and obviously I want to apply this information to me and to my family health.

创建者 Steve R

Nov 28, 2019

Excellently prepared and presented course. Maya is superbly knowledgeable and talented as a presenter of this valuable information. We cook at home on a regular basis, so we are in control of what we eat. Now we have the knowledge of what to consider in choosing our menus and ingredients. Thank you Maya.

创建者 Andrea B

Dec 01, 2016

This was a fantastic introduction, as the food suggests. The commitment is very minimal, and the quizes are very fair, and help to reaffirm and commit to memory what you just learned. I completed the whole course in a few short days! Will definitely be taking other courses by this instructor if possible.

创建者 Marcela M

May 31, 2016

I loved it! The format was excellent, the information was well presented -and useful- and I really liked that the recipes at the end were actually taught, and then we could have the printed version.

The only thing I didn't like was that it seemed too short :-)

I look forward to the next class!

Marcela

创建者 GIDGET P

Nov 13, 2019

This course was insightful and not overwhelming. I was able to take in the information sans the stress of complicated reading and unreasonable deadlines. Such simple food and wellness recommendations that give the student a positive outlook at achieving best practices in food education. Thank You!

创建者 Akash P

Jun 08, 2018

The course provides a lot of essential information about our daily diet and also includes some immediately actionable advice.

The material is presented in a very fun and engaging way (great Production team!) and is very accessible.

The only prerequisite that I see here is that you should know english!

创建者 Jenifer B

Jul 21, 2017

This was an incredibly helpful and practical class about how to better the way I relate to my food and diet. It took a practical, relatable approach to teach long term habits that could only benefit the student. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and I am already incorporating new habits into my life.

创建者 VICTOR B

Feb 10, 2016

I really enjoyed the course, the simplicity of the lectures made each of the topics easy to understand.. it's been great to have participated in this course, I feel much more equipped in knowledge of nutrition and better understanding of the differences between nutrient dense foods vs energy dense.

创建者 Светлана Э

Feb 19, 2019

Thank you for this course! i Glad to learn new information about health & nutrition. I hope for succesesful students will be free sertificates soon=)

I know that Free information not be appriciated as an usually, but think most successesfully deserve to have the list with marks=)

Thank you so much!

创建者 Karen P

Mar 20, 2016

This course literally changed my life. I have been trying to cook healthy meals, and actually have certain ingredients I always have, like lemons, onions, olive oil, and several others. I took this course at a perfect time, where it really helped me move more toward plant-based meals. Thank you.

创建者 Srikar K P

Dec 16, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the informative course. The presentation was good as well.

Perhaps the flip side of it being a US-central is that the food recommendations and the recipes in Week 5 were many a times impossible to make in my home (India). Nevertheless, the other sessions were quite fascinating.

创建者 Christine N

Mar 15, 2017

One of the best courses I've taken on Coursera. All of the videos were clearly explained, had detailed graphics and were short enough to get the point across but not too long that I would get bored and uninterested. Excellent work on this series and the cooking videos at the end a wonderful bonus!

创建者 Andrea B

Jan 24, 2016

It's a really good introduction to food and health in our daily lives. It would be great to continue by understanding how we can solve a lot of health issues. The Dr. Kousmine succeeded through her researches to fight against the cancer and other diseases. Thanks again Maya for your great courses.

创建者 Myriam V S A

Jan 09, 2019

Excelente conocer el proceso de la alimentación y la manera en cómo incide en el bienestar y salud de las personas. Realmente muy útil para aprender la mejor manera de alimentarse sin perjudicar la salud y aprender lo divertido que puede ser participar en la preparación de tus propios alimentos.

创建者 Kateryna B

Dec 31, 2017

Very useful course for those, starting their way on responsible nutrition. I particularly liked recipes at the end of the course, brief and important information gathered and practical advises on shopping and reading labels. Thank you, Maya, and all the team, involved in this course preparation.

创建者 Odejide J I

Feb 24, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and would encourage people the world over to really listen to the truth in this course. Beyond food , I've learnt a whole lot more and I believe this would help individuals, coporate societies and communities make informed choices about this important sphere of life

创建者 L. M

Dec 28, 2019

A great introduction to the study of healthy foods for those who have absolutely no knowledge. A glaring observation is that those who are most likely to benefit from a course like this are not likely to have a lot of expendable income. Perhaps some more info on cost-effective food choices.

创建者 Cassie P

Nov 20, 2017

This course provides both a fundamental understanding of the basic principles of nutrition as well as general, easy-to-work-with philosophies and rules of thumb to make implementing a healthier diet doable. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning more about nutrition.

创建者 Annigje F

Jan 28, 2016

I liked this information, but I wouldn't call it a 'course'.

I'm a certified PT and I benefit from the information, but many books have been written about the subjects as well.

I, personally, loved the information given, as it gave me a touch-up on my knowledge and tips to give to my clients.

创建者 Omkarr D H

Dec 25, 2018

this is a wonderful start to know the science of the food we eat. this not only opens your eyes to the facts commercialism has hidden us from but also allows us to be more aware, as to what 'food' really is and what is not. I highly recommend it to all in every walks of life and all ages.

创建者 Kevin H

Oct 30, 2016

I didn't come away from this course with a ton of technical knowledge or a complete understanding of nutrition, but I'm pretty sure the point of this course was to teach a simple set of guidelines to eat healthier and navigate today's environment regarding food. And it did that just fine.

创建者 Ashley-Lynn

May 05, 2016

Fun, quick and easy course that had useful information for beginners and those with more experience alike. Don't expect to learn a lot about the physiology and chemical science of food, but has some great useful information for anyone looking to make healthier choices in their everyday li

创建者 IFY I

Apr 01, 2018

Very very good course. The contents are so easy to understand and I like the fact that you are texted on your learning. Dr.MAya really knows her stuff and I enjoyed the course really well, as it was very clear, no systems or audio problems. Thank you for making this course this great.

创建者 Tadahiro Y

Dec 12, 2016

The teacher`s pronunciation is really clear and easy to follow.And the movie makes me really relaxed and motivated me to the healthier life.This course is useful to change your view to foods.

After this lesson,I became to avoid fast food restaurants and try to eat vegetables and fruits.