Chevron Left
返回到 美国食品系统概论:从公共卫生的观点出发

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 美国食品系统概论:从公共卫生的观点出发 的评价和反馈

4.7
140 个评分
29 条评论

课程概述

A food system encompasses the activities, people and resources involved in getting food from field to plate. Along the way, it intersects with aspects of public health, equity and the environment. In this course, we will provide a brief introduction to the U.S. food system and how food production practices and what we choose to eat impacts the world in which we live. We will discuss some key historical and political factors that have helped shape the current food system and consider alternative approaches from farm to fork. The course will be led by a team of faculty and staff from the Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future. Guest lecturers will include experts from a variety of disciplines, including public health, policy and agriculture....

热门审阅

RD
Apr 28, 2018

Loved it! I recommend it to anyone new to public health, horticulture, agriculture, farming, agroecology and the like. I wish I took this course sooner. A+

YF
Aug 27, 2017

I really enjoyed learning about all the different aspect surrounding the U.S. food system. The video lectures were very clear and informative!

筛选依据:

1 - 美国食品系统概论:从公共卫生的观点出发 的 25 个评论(共 29 个)

创建者 Andrea B

Dec 31, 2017

This was an interesting course and wasn't what I expected when I first signed up. I think I was expecting a more dry course on the US food system, but it actually ended up being quite interesting and focused a lot on different aspects of the food system which are problematic. For an introductory course into the food system it covered many different topics without getting too focused on any one thing, and I hope they decide to add more courses that focus on these different topics so we can learn about them on a deeper level.

创建者 Milonee

Mar 15, 2018

Excellent primer into the history of the U.S. Food System, the problems associated with industrial agriculture, and the efforts which are currently underway to address these problems. Highly recommend for someone who has little experience in this field and wants to learn more. Lectures are engaging and taught by a variety of experienced professionals, many of whom have books/essays which you can follow up with if you find their lectures engaging.

创建者 Nehleen A

Nov 28, 2017

One of the best classes I have taken in Coursera. Amazingly informative and comprehensive lectures, yet understandable to the lay person. I learned a lot and grateful for all the information about our food systems. This class gave me a broad perspective and understanding of our food system, something that I need

创建者 Reshama D

Apr 28, 2018

Loved it! I recommend it to anyone new to public health, horticulture, agriculture, farming, agroecology and the like. I wish I took this course sooner. A+

创建者 Nancy Y M

Aug 11, 2020

Thank you for the insight into the present state of our food system and for showing me the opportunities for advocacy. I loved the course !

创建者 TIgba T C

Nov 10, 2020

Wonderful experience. Impactful and so exposing to importance of a transformed global food system inferred from the US food policy

创建者 Beatriz E

Jul 14, 2020

This has been one of the best courses that I have encountered as it provides a lot of information. And this information would help me apply the concepts to my field, as well as raising awareness to positive and negative impacts of food to nutrition, public health, agriculture, aquaculture, economics, society, and the environment.

Thank you to this course! I am hoping for more courses relating to food.

创建者 Matthew L

Oct 31, 2020

This course is an excellent series of lectures that provide essential information to anyone who is interested in understanding how our national food system developed over time. Moreover, the instructors provide recommendations for how we can thwart further harm and rebuild our food system into a more resilient one.

创建者 Ava R

Jan 13, 2018

This course contains a wealth of information concerning the U.S. food policies from the history of the Farm Bill to cultural and subjective norms that determine our food choices. I would recommend this course for anyone interested in environmental sustainability,

创建者 Molchanova A

Dec 21, 2020

First two Modules are great! Inspiring, that this things are taught in Universities. The module about fish is missing information about where all nutritional benefits of fish are coming from - nothing about algae.

Worth of doing anyway!

创建者 Claude C

Jan 9, 2020

Excellent course for both the uninformed and those familiar with food system work. Highly recommend to anyone seeking to deepen their understanding of the relationship between food and health, climate and equity.

创建者 Yotam F

Aug 27, 2017

I really enjoyed learning about all the different aspect surrounding the U.S. food system. The video lectures were very clear and informative!

创建者 Eleonora N

Apr 20, 2019

Great course full of deep, provocative and sometimes even shocking insights about the subject. We all should now these things!

创建者 Biswajit D

Apr 18, 2018

The learnings from this course will me more healthier and I will apply these concept to my family members .

创建者 Gedaliah R

Apr 11, 2018

life changing subject matter - excellently presented. highly recommended

创建者 Josh L

Sep 7, 2018

Great introduction to an extremely complicated topic

创建者 Rachel B

Nov 21, 2017

A great foundation for thinking about food systems.

创建者 Candace T

Apr 20, 2020

So very interesting.. particularly the Farm Bill

创建者 Milan S

Feb 1, 2018

Thank you -I learned a lot

创建者 RUKEN Z A O

Jan 7, 2021

Thanks for training

创建者 Mohamed A e N A S

Feb 20, 2021

It's good for me

创建者 Besto J

Oct 6, 2020

Loved the course

创建者 Emanuelle L

May 30, 2017

Very good!

创建者 Mona A A

Jul 1, 2020

good

创建者 Javier M

Aug 1, 2017

The course was comprehensive and interesting overall. I do have some criticisms: genetic engineering is viewed in a very negative light as well as conventional farming. The arguments that were presented resemble rhetoric from certain consumer groups, instead of sound science. I think it's important to get rid of this false dichotomy between scientific innovation and sustainability as these can come together to provide actual solutions to the problems facing the food system today.