Chevron Left
返回到 Front-End Web Development with React

学生对 香港科技大学 提供的 Front-End Web Development with React 的评价和反馈

4.8
412 个评分
98 个审阅

课程概述

This course explores Javascript based front-end application development, and in particular the React library (Currently Ver. 16.3). This course will use JavaScript ES6 for developing React application. You will also get an introduction to the use of Reactstrap for Bootstrap 4-based responsive UI design. You will be introduced to various aspects of React components. You will learn about React router and its use in developing single-page applications. You will also learn about designing controlled forms. You will be introduced to the Flux architecture and Redux. You will explore various aspects of Redux and use it to develop React-Redux powered applications. You will then learn to use Fetch for client-server communication and the use of REST API on the server side. A quick tour through React animation support and testing rounds off the course. You must have preferably completed the previous course in the specialization on Bootstrap 4, or have a working knowledge of Bootstrap 4 to be able to navigate this course. Also a good working knowledge of JavaScript, especially ES 5 is strongly recommended. At the end of this course you will: - Be familiar with client-side Javascript application development and the React library - Be able to implement single page applications in React - Be able to use various React features including components and forms - Be able to implement a functional front-end web application using React - Be able to use Reactstrap for designing responsive React applications - Be able to use Redux to design the architecture for a React-Redux application...

热门审阅

BK

Feb 10, 2019

Instructor Jogesh is really good and I feed the course pace is set absolutely perfect for online learning quickly and easily.\n\nThank you sir,\n\nBest Regards,\n\nKishore Buridi

GB

Sep 18, 2018

This was just the right amount of "taking me by the hand" for my level. The emphasis on building a site and hands-on experience is how I prefer to learn. Thanks!

筛选依据:

1 - Front-End Web Development with React 的 25 个评论(共 106 个)

创建者 Marek T

Mar 09, 2019

I was really excited to find this specialization. I work with React and

full stack JavaScript for several years now, and I am always looking

for high quality learning resources for me and other developers from

my company. I thought an university level course will surely qualify

as such a resource, but oh my, was I wrong.

The instructor clearly doesn't have any real world react experience. The

instructions in the course go maybe a bit beyond basic and FREE

tutorials on the websites of React, React Native and other used technologies.

The whole specialization is very basic and I can honestly tell you, that

the knowledge acquired in this course would not be even close to what I would

expect from a junior developer before considering him for a position.

Application created during the course is trivial and will not prepare you

for real world development.

Another really astonishing thing for me were the assignments. I simply

cannot understand how a course created under the name of a university can

provide such ridiculous amount of hand holding. Pretty much everything is

given to you, all the way down to details like how you need to name your

functions.

To sum in up, on the plus side I did appreciate:

1. The idea of a full stack JS development course.

2. Technologies chosen for such a course.

On the other hand, my biggest issues are with:

1. Too trivial.

2. No automated testing.

3. No architecture. A project structured by this course, would be hell to work with in just

a slightly larger code base.

4. Very sloppy coding.

5. And worst of all: usage of well-known antipaterns. Eg.: functions in render

methods of components.

I would advise anyone to save their money and just read throughout official

React documentation. If you like to learn by online video courses, there are

much better (and cheaper) options around made by top developers with plenty

of experience.

创建者 Herbert R

Oct 04, 2018

The pace of the course is too fast for the topics being introduced. In week 4, too much information is being thrown at you to learn. One cannot get a good understanding of these topics in such a short time.

Additionally, the professor should have diagrams of concepts like ReduxThunk and Redux in general to give students a much clearer explanation of what is going on.

Finally, instructors assistants rarely reply to discussion questions.

创建者 sbabureddy

Jun 06, 2019

Good course on React Web Development but it does not cover latest concept of react hooks that is the only bad thing about this course.

创建者 Aravind V

May 16, 2019

Excellent Course to get a grip of React JS. I loved the way you start a project from the week 1 and finish parts of it as assignments during the course. This actually helped me focus on the learning rather than getting stuck in the assignments. The concepts were clear. I felt some of the redux concepts could have been explained with more diagrams etc. But still overall this course is really good compared to some of the online tutorials I was referring to for learning React. It gave me a proper structure to developing a React application.

创建者 Michael S

May 05, 2019

I was able to use the course to build some simple React apps and further my knowledge. Has a good set of additional readings, lectures are clear, the assignments are quite simple if you follow the lectures and gave me a good code base to start creating my own projects.

创建者 Muhammad U S

Apr 14, 2019

A comprehensive course to get you started with React. It covers all the fundamental concepts with good explanation and steadily escalates to advanced concepts. I would highly recommend developers with good JavaScript (ES6) knowledge to pursue this course.

创建者 Raul R

Mar 18, 2019

Awesome course!! I am learning a lot in the course. React is fantastic!

创建者 DIPUNJ G

Mar 02, 2019

The course 1 was really good. It's strange though, it's the first time I didn't like a coursera course. But I dont't blame the instructor/course creators since I believe that React is tough and complex to understand for a beginner like me. You really need a thorough JS background to really understand what's going on. I have been resetting my deadlines for more than 3 months now, and I don't think that this course is meant for me, at least for my given understanding of JS and web technologies.

I would strongly suggest that you first familiarize yourself with react and then try to pursue this course.

创建者 Basanta P

Feb 16, 2019

Got lost often. It would have been better if I knew the overall picture and what I was working on currently, not just in terms of confusion, which really resulted in confusion.

创建者 Buridi S K

Feb 10, 2019

Instructor Jogesh is really good and I feed the course pace is set absolutely perfect for online learning quickly and easily.

Thank you sir,

Best Regards,

Kishore Buridi

创建者 Syed M M H

Dec 08, 2018

Course is backdated. Poor coding style.

创建者 SHAILENDRA S

Sep 29, 2018

Good

创建者 Guillaume B

Sep 18, 2018

This was just the right amount of "taking me by the hand" for my level. The emphasis on building a site and hands-on experience is how I prefer to learn. Thanks!

创建者 Tarun K

Jun 24, 2019

You should have good working knowledge of Javascript because this course doesn't tell you about javascript part in React .

创建者 Geanny H R

Jun 21, 2019

Es un excelente curso para aprender React

创建者 Meryl M

Jun 20, 2019

I really like this professor! He has a pleasant voice, explains everything very clearly and gives you a lot of context for understanding why he's doing what he's doing. I learned a LOT in this course and feel comfortable using React&Redux in my own projects. As an experienced full-stack developer, I didn't need to use the forums for help much at all, and I was able to watch most of the videos at 2x speed. That said, there was a ton of useful content in this course, and I often refer back to the materials while building my own projects.

I have one problem with how Redux is taught, although it's not huge. In the exercises, we wrote the whole project using just React first. Then, to teach the Redux part, he had us replace React code with a whole ton of Redux code without showing us what it was doing and ended by saying something like, "As you can see, everything works exactly the same way it did before." In my opinion this didn't make it very clear how Redux was working. It would've been clearer if the data retrieved via Redux would have been a little different - like maybe it could have had some extra dishes/leaders/promos in there that weren't in the React-only dishes objects. That said, I still left this course understanding Redux and Thunk much more clearly.

Also, his mic is right next to the keyboard, so you have to hear this loud clunking for hours and hours and hours if you're listening to this course on headphones.

Overall, I would highly recommend this course to experienced web developers who are trying to learn new skills.

创建者 Rafael M H

Jun 17, 2019

Really nice!

创建者 Kushnoor P

Jun 11, 2019

Hight quality of teaching methods

创建者 clive

Jun 06, 2019

excellent

创建者 Santiago M M

May 31, 2019

Amazing how you can develop a web app using components

创建者 Apurv T

May 29, 2019

It was a nice experience.

创建者 Amaury C R

May 27, 2019

Just great

创建者 CHIRAG J

May 27, 2019

Very nicely illustrated. Found it very useful for my projects.

创建者 Chang Z

May 25, 2019

老师讲的很棒,而且每节课都有不错的例子配合,让我真正体会到了制作网站的乐趣。

创建者 Bek R

May 14, 2019

good pace, and a lot more interactive than just watching videos