Chevron Left
返回到 电子游戏中的角色设计

学生对 加州艺术学院 提供的 电子游戏中的角色设计 的评价和反馈

4.6
612 个评分
161 个审阅

课程概述

In this course you will explore concepts and approaches involved in creating successful character designs that can be applied to video games. Following a first week delving into some foundational concepts for successful character design, each of the remaining three weeks are structured as a master class where you will observe three professional character designers at work in the studio: Andy Ristaino (Adventure Time), Jacky Ke Jiang (Journey), and Robertryan Cory (SpongeBob SquarePants). Each designer will take on two different design challenges on the fly and address the various issues in designing characters for games, such as movement, expression, and technical limitations. At the end of each week you will have an opportunity to try out some of the concepts from that week's lesson on characters of your own design. This is a fun and engaging class especially useful for students interested in animation in film and TV as well as games, and is suitable for students of any drawing ability....

热门审阅

JM

Dec 22, 2016

As I said earlier, I recommend this course for everyone; doctors included (:\n\nI like how this course was treated in a different way. We see people doing the job on there ground, that's interesting.

AM

Nov 06, 2017

Fun and challenging to me. Is not easy to me to create new characters, but with this practice and professional examples, I feel more confident to just do and see what happens. Thank you, very much.

筛选依据:

126 - 电子游戏中的角色设计 的 150 个评论(共 154 个)

创建者 Eduardo S

Mar 15, 2016

For the first course, you will only be drawing. You will not learn anything about programming video games. It was nice that they showed famous artists for cartoons, but the videos felt too long, with dialogues that felt like rambling at times.

创建者 Joshua B

Aug 31, 2017

This course expanded my mind into creating a character inspired by surroundings. I have designed characters before in class but this was the next level i needed!

创建者 Deleted A

Sep 09, 2016

Interesting course overall ! Suitable for beginners.

创建者 Andrea B

Mar 14, 2016

I would have liked to get input on my work by an instructor instead of just other students, but it was a good exercise to hone my skills. I wouldn't pay for credit because I feel like my work isn't being professionally graded.

创建者 Lin J

May 22, 2016

This course is quite enjoyable and useful.

创建者 E. C C

Aug 14, 2017

Nice use of iteration to push your ideas of who or what a character should or could look like.

创建者 Emilio M

Feb 16, 2016

I liked the talks a lot but didnt expect to be forced to draw :)

创建者 Joseph F

Aug 12, 2018

I wish this class had more actual lessons on character design concepts and philosophies rather than the demonstrations it used.

创建者 Julian A

Nov 26, 2018

There's effort placed in this course.

创建者 Ramon M L

Nov 29, 2018

I like the course but missing some basics of character design. As body shapes drawing, personalities, i wanted some basics on how to draw and approach to designing characters.

创建者 Sergio P

Jul 30, 2019

Grades were complicated to get (due to few people taking it)

创建者 Steve C

Aug 11, 2019

This was probably my favorite course of the 4 pre capstone courses. Having played video games pre Atari, the other classes weren't a huge surprise but the activities were fun. This is the first one that really challenged me to get out of my comfort zone.

创建者 David M

Nov 01, 2019

Very cool to see other artists in their "zone" talking about their experiences and giving some advice, gave 4 stars instead of 5 just because plenty of the talking isn't as informative as I would have liked.

创建者 Viola B

Sep 27, 2016

It was a fun course, not sure about the educational content, but it was fun.

创建者 Felipe A C

Jan 06, 2016

I believe that exaggerated the amount of minutes per video and lack of theory, but it was still a good course.

创建者 Benjamin H

Sep 13, 2016

Instruction was through watching other characters designers talk about their process.

创建者 Ricardo D

Nov 23, 2016

I would like a different approach on the way this course is given to the student. The first couple of classes were really cool and inspiring, but the later two became more of the same and kinda took my inspiration and motivation down to finish the course.

创建者 Luca L

Jul 26, 2017

Good course, fun to do, but the video quality is terrible.

创建者 Aurelija M

Aug 07, 2016

While the information given by Fran was useful, the part where other artists talk is not presented well.

创建者 Gastón N M

Dec 05, 2016

First week and last week were pretty useful with some good tips from the videos... the other weeks not so much.

创建者 Francisco N

Jan 29, 2016

The interviews were great, and useful to see a real experienced designer, however the contents in the course were almost nonexistent. The homework was well planed but it depends much more in the student to learn something that the contents exposed in the videos. Tips aren't the same as methodologies and content in character design.

创建者 Irene P

Oct 26, 2016

I liked the assignments and the creative ideas discussed in the class. However, I wish there had been more practical, step-by-step instruction in approaching design work; game artists of more diverse styles; and some discussion of game character design as a career.

创建者 Michal K

May 30, 2016

Very open way of learning. Few talks with people from the industry, sharing their approach.

Not much of fundamental knowledge.

Generally great motivator to exercise Character Design. Not that great resource to learn from a beginning.

创建者 Juan C D M

Jan 21, 2016

It is cool. but it does not give any certificate of completion at the end as other courses do.

创建者 レヷブレート サ

May 16, 2016

great first week, I like Fran's First week video, with the puppets and very engaging interaction,

the next following 3 weeks are total bummer, It does give some tips for character design (such as what is tangent, or some other design tips), but it feels like a bloated interview and not a class-like experience. Great first week, terrible following week