Chevron Left
返回到 商业游戏与创业

学生对 密歇根州立大学 提供的 商业游戏与创业 的评价和反馈

4.4
661 个评分
128 个审阅

课程概述

As well as a form of art and entertainment, games are about business. Whether you want to work at a game studio, start your own business or make games as a hobby, recognizing the dynamic landscape of the videogame industry is critical to finding your place. This course will introduce you to game production, project management, teamwork skills, and how to position your game ideas and yourself in the broader marketplace. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an impactful portfolio of game work to get noticed and/or develop an effective business plan to bring your game to market....

热门审阅

AA

Jun 05, 2016

A 'must' for everyone! Entrepreneurship is something unique, is not for everyone but can be reached with some effort. A course that can be applied to all areas. Nice experience.

RD

Jan 31, 2017

I am grateful to Coursera and MSU for this great leaning opportunity.Thanks Coursera and MSU for providing me such a great learning opportunity.Rafi Ud Din-Pakistan.

筛选依据:

1 - 商业游戏与创业 的 25 个评论(共 127 个)

创建者 Alex A

Nov 26, 2018

While the quality of the lecturer/professor and content production remain high and engaging, this discipline's ROI, value, and learning potential are degrading rapidly.

This section seems almost entirely filler, and although I acknowledge that my opinion is partly due to myself not being the target market; the assignment sections don't really even match up with the course content. (i.e. what does creating a game-specific competitive analysis have to do with corporation structures and resume writing?). This was a catch-all bucket of highly subjective content which while at times interesting, was extremely irrelevant to the learning and development I'm seeking/expecting; and that lack of ROI on my time is further destroyed by the activeness and peer-review elements of this class.

At the third class in this specialization, I've seen my willingness and effort for each assignment deteriorate. Are these courses dead? (the discussion boards are nothing but spammed links to review assignments from every corner of the earth). The feedback returned from peers is not substantial to improve, and especially with an entire class/section of purely subjective course assignments. In fact, I find myself in some sort of "pod", perhaps a result of timing, of receiving the same feedback from the same two-three people, and always in a position of not having any peer assignments to review myself (so I'm forced to go back to a dead forum and pull links of old students' requests for review, just to complete the course). Where are the actual admins and professional mentors/instructors?

Overall, I was happy with the learning and new information I received via the first course improving my hard/technical skills. While the second course was more subjective, it was still value-add and incredibly interesting, despite the peer+activeness critiques I elaborated on above. However, I felt this third course was an absolute waste of my time (maybe not so for others, fine), and there's really no tangible ROI to putting in the time or effort here other than trucking through this for the sake of completing the Coursera Discipline.

I remain eager and excited for the subsequent courses; as receiving structured guidance towards a Capstone project seems like worthwhile endeavor towards learning and development. Overall, through other courses on other sites like Udemy, this does not seem like something worth spending money on at this point - you just paying for pre-recorded videos with a university's logo slapped on them (albeit from an engaging and passionate professor), outdated/dead links, and almost 0 active students. The courses on Udemy are better managed, updated, and have communities of learners. This series could be posted to Youtube for free and have the same impact - to this point anyway :(

创建者 Axel D

May 21, 2018

This course covers the basics of games business, but is clearly aimed at people with no previous work experience in the games industry. If you're already a professional thinking of starting your own company, you'll find some interesting information but a lot of it will also be redundant. I'd also like to point out that the Week 3 assignment requires you to produce a 30-60 second video with a recommended time of 2 hours, which is clearly unrealistic if you expect to produce quality work.

创建者 Tobias W

Jan 05, 2018

The content of this course is pretty valuable and important for game developers. Everybody wants to be creative and enjoy making games, but it's still a business and you want to make money, right? I went into the course not really expecting to be interested in anything, but a lot of the material was very insightful and will surely help me in the future.

Note: The material is mostly US centric, so if you're somewhere else, you'll have to put in some extra work to find out how some of the stuff works in your country.

The one thing that I didn't like about this course was that some of the projects didn't have much to do with the material taught during that week and many students were a bit lost on what to do exactly. Don't get discouraged, because everyone is in the same boat. Just see it as a challenge and do some research outside of the course, talk to people on the forums and it'll be fine.

创建者 Pola K Z F

Jun 22, 2019

Amazing course that put your hand on the basic of games within the modern business models

创建者 Pablo F S

May 30, 2019

O curso é muito bem trabalhado e cheio de conteúdo. Se você quer aprender como entrar no mundo dos desenvolvedores de jogos, além das habilidades técnicas, irá precisar aprender sobre negócios e esse curso irá te dar as ferramentas para iniciar nessa jornada. Só tenho uma ressalva, em alguns momentos fiquei com a impressão de que o curso focou muito no padrão americano, o que não me ajudou muito, mas entendo os motivos para que isso tenha sido feito e mesmo dessa forma me auxiliou a procurar os conteúdos relativos referentes ao meu país.

创建者 Roberto V

May 09, 2019

Awesome course. Comprehensible, insightful and rich. I personally found it excellent in respect of the assignments and reading/extra materials.

创建者 Benhur O J

Apr 17, 2019

Much better lectures however the project assignments are a little bit out of topic considering the information cover by the videos. It would be more practical to show some examples in one of the videos.

创建者 andraž g

Feb 26, 2019

Coveres about 80% off business side. It lacks marketing and differenct campaings for starting your game conpany or strategyes for getting funds.

创建者 Dmytro N

Feb 25, 2019

Pretty good course for general overview of the industry, legal and production sides of games.

创建者 Jakob K

Dec 05, 2018

Just Fantastic

创建者 Ali A K G

Oct 18, 2018

Good course for learning about the business side of games

创建者 Pablo M

Oct 11, 2018

Really nice overyview on how to start a videogame company or get a job in the industry.

创建者 Ian L d C

Jun 26, 2018

Um ótimo curso! Parabéns à equipe!

创建者 Brian S P J

Jun 16, 2018

A very helpful, and somewhat depressing, course for people interested in learning the monetary side of the video game business. The lessons learned are very helpful for people interested in pitching game ideas and possibly starting their own business/studio. The depressing part is when it sinks in that video game creation is a multi-million dollar project unless you're resourceful and can do things at or near free.

创建者 Alon A

May 29, 2018

adequate

创建者 Vignesh R

May 02, 2018

Good course and I love how passionate the instructor is.

创建者 Zheng L

Mar 15, 2018

For this lecture I give 5 star is because it talks the whole picture of game industry, and talks many soft skills game developers should consider. All of these things are usually ignored by many developers while the professors tells this to us by his own experience and knowledge from the industry

创建者 Armando M d S S

Feb 02, 2018

Make this course, you will enter in a completely new world

创建者 Roselle C

Jan 14, 2018

Despite I'm not really a business person, Casey did really well. Better than in the previous course. I was shocked to be honest. He got a lot of good points here, delivered excellent reading materials. I found myself in a rabbit hole of the stuff he brought us.

I learnt a lot here and could probably use this information into the company I've been working on. I don't regret taking this course and I'm glad I didn't drop out.

创建者 Domytomtom

Jan 04, 2018

Very good course, i really like this teacher. For those who have some working experience some parts like looking for a job is less interesting... As a feedback, I would perhaps like to have a part about the game production process, roles involved. Could be great.

创建者 marco

Jan 03, 2018

really good this is a most if you want to really get into game development and be more than just a hobby

创建者 Nikki P

Dec 04, 2017

the resource materials are gold

创建者 Rui M R H

Nov 10, 2017

While I did not enjoy this course per se, it was essential so I could better understand the game industry. Some US-centric perspectives do not drive anybody out of scope. I was able to understand and compare the equivalents in Europe. What I would improve would be some quiz questions. Some tend to be confusing, and even misleading in some cases. But overall, recommended.

创建者 solange m u

Nov 07, 2017

I miss some master class about Monetization and in-app Purchases with real samples or an assignment related to.

创建者 Deleted A

Sep 28, 2017

A great course for people seeking jobs or starting a company in the video game industry.