Chevron Left
返回到 基因与人类(从行为到生物技术)

学生对 马里兰大学帕克分校 提供的 基因与人类(从行为到生物技术) 的评价和反馈

4.6
498 个评分
119 个审阅

课程概述

To acquire an understanding of the fundamental concepts of genomics and biotechnology, and their implications for human biology, evolution, medicine, social policy and individual life path choices in the 21st century....

热门审阅

BB

Aug 26, 2016

Broad spectrum over view useful to beginners as well as advanced learners. would have loved to be able to download slides along with Transcripts for later revision , Thank you UMCP and the Faculty !

PS

Dec 26, 2015

I'm old - DNA was discovered in my last year of undergraduate studies. I am learning a great deal about what makes humans alike and different, what drives our behaviors. The course is informative

筛选依据:

26 - 基因与人类(从行为到生物技术) 的 50 个评论(共 119 个)

创建者 Xavier Y

Jan 25, 2017

Very good

创建者 Marnilen C

Apr 11, 2018

The course has been very helpful in opening up "possibilities".

创建者 Elvira A R L

May 22, 2018

I loved this course! It was perfect for people without much knowledge about genetics and Spanish speakers.

创建者 Hao H

Aug 19, 2015

Really good course. I have learned a lot.

创建者 Sagar C

Jun 10, 2018

Beautifully explained and well developed.

创建者 Emily R M

Oct 14, 2015

Thank you to Dr. O'Brien and Dr. St. Leger for an excellent course: solid information delivered clearly and intelligently. As the course moved along I found myself binge-watching! I must have finished all 7 weeks in record time-- like a good book, I could not put it down. This was an outstanding educational experience.

创建者 Abraham N

Aug 27, 2015

I am liking a lot what I see. Great course ! thank you

创建者 Gabrielle F

Jan 14, 2016

Instructors were very passionate. Very interesting topic!

创建者 Shohini B

Aug 01, 2016

I am a lover of the science of genetics and have some basic knowledge of the same. I joined this course with a hope to get my concepts clearer. The course is meeting with the expectations to the fullest - after just one week of exercise.

创建者 Ron S

Mar 06, 2016

Provocative and engaging review of topics in human genetics. Requires some basic familiarity with biological principles. But well worth a personal investment in time and effort. Both lecturers are fascinating. Only recommendation for improvement would be to present sources cited in the videos elsewhere in the course materials. They roll by so quickly at the end of the video segments that it was impossible to review them adequately. Great course.

创建者 Anna S L

Oct 05, 2015

Great Course, very interesting and well- made. I find it easy to understand and it is a fantastic opportunity to implement my biology university's studies. Thank you!

创建者 Jorge A Z L

Nov 05, 2015

wow great

创建者 Arun S G V

Jul 08, 2017

Just completed the video sections of this course and some of the quizzes. A very nicely structured and presented course. The knowledge and enthusiasm of the faculty for the subject matter comes thru and makes the entire experience

创建者 Lau, W K

Feb 07, 2016

Lecture material is well presented with green screen. Lectures are very clear and engaging.

Topics are recent and appropriate for this fast moving field. Quiz are at the end of the week and not immediately after each video to promote review and retention.

Overall, a very informative, broad coverage of this field.

Thank you

创建者 Jeremy C

Oct 23, 2015

This course did an exceptional job of providing a lay audience with a broad overview of human genetics, evolution, behavior, and associated technologies. The lecturers were engaging and have an impressively varied range of knowledge. This course lays an exceptional foundation for exploring a variety of in-depth topics covered with a more narrow focus elsewhere on Coursera (e.g., molecular biology, evolution, human behavior, neuroscience, &c).

Tammatha O'Brien’s initial lectures did a particularly good job of introducing basic genetics with accessible metaphors, without allowing those metaphors to be overextended. She was also careful to flag the caveats and exceptions where appropriate to ensure students didn’t walk away with an oversimplified narrative of molecular biology (a challenge I’ve seen in other introductory courses).

Raymond St. Leger’s passion is clear, and makes his lecturers particularly captivating. For the most part, he did a good job of flagging areas where results were preliminary (e.g., based on a single study) or speculative (e.g., based on his interpretation of the research). Nonetheless, there were some areas where it was unclear if he was presenting a well-established scientific consensus, or his own (well-informed) conjecture. In these scenarios, it would be useful to provide a more comprehensive bibliography for students interested in diving deeper into the research.

As an aspiring science communicator involved in addressing public concerns over GMOs, I was particularly pleased to not only see biotechnology covered, but also to have it effectively dispel many of the common criticisms. I’ve generally found that once a basic understanding of genetics and evolution is established, it’s a short leap to disarm most of the fears; nonetheless, I’ve now taken five genetics courses that have steered clear of even acknowledging either GMOs or their controversy. Thank you for addressing these head on.

Thank you for taking the time to put this course together and sharing it with the public via Coursera. The effort is recognized, and much appreciated.

创建者 Vanessa C d C L

Dec 30, 2017

I enjoyed taking this course it's simple, informative and I've learn a lot about genetics, evolution and even synthetic biology. I really liked all the lectures and all the readings and videos they recommended, they are very informative and useful so you can really have a good insight in the subjects in discussion. Really enjoyed it! Thanks you!

创建者 Claire C

Nov 17, 2015

fascinating!

创建者 James K

Feb 17, 2016

Great course -- especially the second half.

创建者 Jaroslav S

Dec 28, 2015

I just started this cours and I already like the way how the subjects are explain in simple and yet professional way.

创建者 Jose M G A

Aug 29, 2015

Excellent course and very good explained

创建者 Farbod E L

Sep 21, 2016

Can genes make us liberal or conservative ? If you want to know about genopolitics and many other interesting genetics, do not miss this fascinating and enriched course !

创建者 K K P

Oct 10, 2015

Through this course offered by Coursera, entitled Genes and the Human Condition (From Behavior to Biolechnology), I have learned an extraordinary amount of information about a burgeoning field of scientific study.

I found this course to be well-paced and easy to follow, even though the topics discussed were quite complex. Both professors provided fantastic and enjoyable lectures; the course was like a really great book that you can't put down.

I would strongly recommend this course for anyone who is interested in learning a bit more about human genetics.

创建者 Yael I

Apr 17, 2016

excellent course!

创建者 Miriam B

Feb 23, 2016

The best course I had on coursera. It is a comprehensive overview of current biotechnological techniquess and their established and potential results.

The course keeps a shrewd balance between giving scientific information and looking at the broader more complex implications for society. You might think at times that the professor is not a scientist but a philosopher as well.

The course is taught superbly by both professor and assistant, not one extra word, and not one word missing given the choice of topics.

I think most of what is taught here should ideally be known by the majority of all people, in order to make more informed and thoughtful choices about life, as well as understanding what will happen in the next decades.

创建者 farhad j

Sep 21, 2015

i'm in second week of this course and it's get better and better