Chevron Left
返回到 地图和地理空间的革命

学生对 宾夕法尼亚州立大学 提供的 地图和地理空间的革命 的评价和反馈

4.7
130 个评分
48 个审阅

课程概述

Learn how advances in geospatial technology and analytical methods have changed how we do everything, and discover how to make maps and analyze geographic patterns using the latest tools. The past decade has seen an explosion of new mechanisms for understanding and using location information in widely-accessible technologies. This Geospatial Revolution has resulted in the development of consumer GPS tools, interactive web maps, and location-aware mobile devices. These radical advances are making it possible for people from all walks of life to use, collect, and understand spatial information like never before. This course brings together core concepts in cartography, geographic information systems, and spatial thinking with real-world examples to provide the fundamentals necessary to engage with Geography beyond the surface-level. We will explore what makes spatial information special, how spatial data is created, how spatial analysis is conducted, and how to design maps so that they’re effective at telling the stories we wish to share. To gain experience using this knowledge, we will work with the latest mapping and analysis software to explore geographic problems....

热门审阅

DA

Apr 07, 2019

from the first week it introduces the student to the subject it breaks the ice between the student and the subject.If you want to start this is the perfect place for you.

CS

Feb 09, 2019

This was a great introductory class to geospatial thinking. I really like how the class is set up, the content is easy to digest and explained in an exciting manner.

筛选依据:

1 - 地图和地理空间的革命 的 25 个评论(共 48 个)

创建者 Kenneth B

Apr 06, 2017

I thought the course had good overall information and provided an online mapping tool using ArcGIS despite access and technical issues which I recorded in the forums. I felt getting rushed at the end of the course for the major map project and peer review and final exam all in the last week. The map project itself should be Week 3, peer review Week 4, then final exam Week 5. All students should use the same ArcGIS Online too for the final map project, instead of allowing everybody a free-for-all to use whatever map tool they wanted to including images. I was steered to be more lenient in reviewing submissions of simple PDF or image map without interactive content. This made for an awkward and rushed peer review with little time to address access or technical issues. The final map project should be standardized for all students using ArcGIS Online for an equal playing field and applied learning.

创建者 Raul E G j

Apr 28, 2019

Not Very good

创建者 Deleted A

Apr 07, 2019

from the first week it introduces the student to the subject it breaks the ice between the student and the subject.If you want to start this is the perfect place for you.

创建者 Colette

Apr 02, 2019

Very interesting course and has a workable timetable with a worthwhile end project which cements the knowledge and learning.

创建者 Salma T

Apr 01, 2019

Excellent course. I learnt alot.

创建者 Edlira

Mar 28, 2019

SUPER :)

创建者 Cody S

Feb 09, 2019

This was a great introductory class to geospatial thinking. I really like how the class is set up, the content is easy to digest and explained in an exciting manner.

创建者 Nevena Y I

Oct 11, 2018

I liked this course. I gained new knowledge every week and I solidified the old ones. I recommend it to other students. I enjoyed these weeks a lot. Thank you very much for the new knowledge, it was a great course.

创建者 Abdullah B

Sep 25, 2018

It was good courses.

创建者 Finn

Aug 15, 2018

The best GIS courses and nicest teacher here! You will receive tons of knowledge and resources for self-learning. GIS is my major and thanks to Pro.Anthony, I know more about it and I‘m inspired by him. You will also gain a lot of fun here because the classes are easily accepted by newcomers and humorous atmosphere. Highly recommend it!!

创建者 MOHAMED A A A

Aug 02, 2018

WOW

创建者 ASEEM A

Jul 03, 2018

Good introductory course

创建者 Muhammad A B

Jul 01, 2018

its change my old style work now i am working with advance way after complete this coursera.Regards

创建者 carly w

Jun 10, 2018

So amazing!! Would 100% recommend for anyone with an interest in Geography and Geospatial analysis.

创建者 Saurav G

May 03, 2018

Great course , completely covers all the fundamentals and provides interesting insights properly. Recommended to all geospatial enthusiasts.

创建者 Arthur

Apr 27, 2018

idea: use locations of co-students in mandatory excercise. Will provide insights in many relevant aspects of the field where location is privacy sensitive by law and feeling

创建者 David R

Mar 09, 2018

Really enjoyed this course. It was carefully structured and presented in a light-hearted way, without dumbing down. The labs were interesting and introduced this old geographer to new ways of mapping and presenting information to learners.

Will be using story making maps with my adult learners and hope to build on the experience.

Great course, great ideas, well presented. A fabulous experience and really cheered me up!

创建者 Asako Y

Mar 06, 2018

An excellent introductory course that covers basic theories and concepts about mapping and engages you with a useful map creation assignment during the last week of the course. Lectures, videos, and texts and a list of resources all useful.

创建者 Benjamin

Mar 04, 2018

Great content, good structure and inspiring lectures.

创建者 Joy S

Jan 13, 2018

super informative. Learned things I never thought about before.

创建者 Adam M

Jan 08, 2018

Very Helpful and Educational. Would Recommend to Students Especially.

创建者 Chris M

Jan 05, 2018

The course itself was good and an interesting take on an element of GIS and cartography not necessarily covered in other GIS modules, sadly I must mark it down quite heavily as the final peer graded assignment is poorly constructed, Its marking guidelines have no structure at all and encourage a completely personal objective grade from the reviewers.

I have undertaken GIS courses from the University of Cali. Davis and the marking criteria are clear and concise, fair and unambiguous, giving the person studying a fair chance at a quality grade based on effort, this sadly is not the case for this course exam.

创建者 Luayi S A G

Nov 17, 2017

Is a very important course that illustrates Geospatial RevolutionIt also shows important facts about maps

创建者 carl a

Nov 13, 2017

If you like cheesy jokes, he's your man. Good short intro to GIS with some interesting examples and hands on with ArcGIS online

创建者 beth g b

Nov 07, 2017

This was a great course and intro to geospatial data and mapping. Lots of theory was taught, while the hand on activities were most valuable. Recommended.