Chevron Left
返回到 Politics and Economics of International Energy

学生对 巴黎政治大学 提供的 Politics and Economics of International Energy 的评价和反馈

4.7
1,015 个评分
246 条评论

课程概述

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

热门审阅

DP

Sep 11, 2016

Excellent delivery.\n\nFantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.\n\nGreat range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

RJ

Aug 03, 2017

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

筛选依据:

1 - Politics and Economics of International Energy 的 25 个评论(共 240 个)

创建者 Aditya

Jul 29, 2019

It could have been less focused on the energy policies of the countries of the Europe and European union.

创建者 Carlos A

Nov 11, 2017

This course gave me a better understanding on Geopolitics of Energy and a clear view of the energy trends with regards to oil, carbon, gas, renewables and nuclear. I feel more prepare to understand the debate between de-carbonization via renewables, energy efficiency, less pollutant energy sources (such as gas) and the dependence on traditional energy sources such as Oil. It was also very interesting to listen directly from the experts their points of view and the issues that need to be tackled first. The role of Russia and the emerging new leaders and potential providers of GAS, Shale Oil, and the new frontiers on innovation. I do recommend this course to anyone who has something to do with a Job related to any source of energy, either on the upstream, the downstream of oil/gas/carbon, on the Government, on Energy Agencies, on the Global warming side, or even in the Environment protection and Climate change defenders side. We all are part of the same planet and it is of outmost importance for all to understand each other.

创建者 Charlotte J

Apr 28, 2017

I learned a lot! Very interesting, educative, relevant and up to date issues/infos, eventhough it is not a 2017 course. The structure of the course makes a lot of sense. I enjoyed the teacher, easy to listen to. This course taugh me (as expect) about international politics through topics such as the difficult situation of gas pipelines. However it also encouraged me dig deaper on subject that should matter to any citizen. In fact, I found myself researching about my country's energy mix or recent green buildings in my city. Finally, I learned about technical and alternative option such as portable and safe nuclear energy -it did not even cross my mind that nuclear would be anything else than huge reactors -tricky to stop.

创建者 Alejandro P

Feb 05, 2020

This is a great course if you're interested in learning the introductory concepts of international energy. Not only does it provide a great backdrop of the past, but also where we should be going in the future. The course gives a well-balanced view about all aspects of the energy sector, from supply to consumption, and often delves in to technical aspects of the sub-sectors it covers. Lastly, this course is great for understanding the climate challenges that the world faces today, and the steps that need to be taken in order to start reversing the negative impacts of CO2 emissions.

创建者 Amnuaysak T

Oct 15, 2017

Professor Giacomo LUCIANI is very knowledgeable in this field and he has ability to present the topics in an easy and understandable way. We learnt this course with full understanding of the course content.

The course content is very good. It covers the basic topics that one should know about the issue so that they can use it being the stepping stone to search for deeper and specific relevant information/knowledge.

Thank you very much for your contribution.

创建者 Wadner P

Jan 27, 2017

I will strongly recommend "Politics and Economics of International Energy" to anyone working or thinking about working on the energy field. This course is also an asset for those advising policymakers or policy -makers themselves. I have learned so much from this course though the materials and interviews. Yes it was challenging because it is good. I can only say that I am glad I made the decision to take the course.

创建者 Nino V

Jul 11, 2016

Very interesting course that provides a very insightful overview of the international energy issues. I like the way it is structured and how much of valuable information is given (taking into account relatively not big time commitment). I work in the electric power industry and I find information that I have learned during this course to be very helpful for my general understanding of the international energy issues.

创建者 Divine M N

Jun 02, 2017

The course syllabus is very well structured.

In addition, crucial and complex aspects of the international energy industry are explained in a simple and excellent style.

If I could make a suggestion, a course on law/legal aspects of international energy could be a very good complement for this course. Maybe Coursera and Sciences Po (or some other University) could offer such a course sometime in the near future?

创建者 David L R

Dec 12, 2018

A very comprehensive approach to the most well-known energy sources and their economic, social and political implications. I had no previous experience nor knowledge about energy before joining the course; now I can say I am way above average in my class. A recommendation would be to suggest more up-to-date papers regarding energy trends or websites that contain relevant updates to keep building knowledge.

创建者 Chandra S A

Nov 13, 2017

Fantastic course with amazing presentations through videos, graphs, interviews and excellent pictures or videos of related fields in the background made the course really interesting.

The interviews conduct by Respected Professor Giacomo Luciani

made me felt as we are really present in a class.

I am very impressed by the course content of Geo-Politics of Gas especially.

Great Course.

创建者 Mohsen V

Feb 28, 2018

Very good and useful course. I have learnt a lot of things from Videos and seminaries about the global energy. But I think it would better adding up a final written work in the last season. Thank You.

Muy buen curso. He aprendido muchas cosas de los videos y seminarios sobre la energía global. Pero creo que sería mejor si habría un trabajo final escrito en el último apartado. Gracias.

创建者 Ondrej Š

Oct 21, 2016

More like 4,5 a star, but still a very good introduction to International energy markets. It touches the economy of energy, the politics of energy and also provides a deep look into the actual technological process of drilling oil, gas, etc. Materials are visual, lots of graphs, sometimes articles and interviews. Tests are moderately hard. I would certainly recommend this course.

创建者 Zulfiqar A

May 19, 2019

One of the best course you can take online in the field of International Energy.

The course is very thorough, it covers most of the aspects of International energy. Specifically, you get to know more of the European energy market and its dynamics.

Highly recommended for those who want an insight into global energy markets, more specific to European markets.

创建者 Gianluca G

May 16, 2019

Very well structured and taught MOOC. Highly interesting and provides a very good introduction to Politics and Economics of International Energy. The guest interviews were an adequate supplement to the video lectures. The only drawback is that some of the external links to videos and articles didn't work. Overall, highly recommendable!

创建者 Daniel B

Dec 22, 2016

Excellent course. I have no experience in this field so I took it out of curiosity and learned a lot. Very well taught, very well organized, covered just the right amount of material. Does take a bit of a commitment, I would suggest keeping up, it only takes a couple of hours per week. It made me want to learn more about the field.

创建者 Daniel C

Sep 18, 2017

A very good introductory course for anyone willing to get in touch with energy matters in the political and economic areas. Professor Giacomo Luciani handles the classes with confidence and clarity and it allows us to obtain a fair command of basic principles regarding the global energy sector. I definitely recommend this course!

创建者 Jerome

Oct 07, 2017

First of all thank you to Pr. Giacomo Luciani and his team for this outstanding course.

Reaching all the goals proposed, fundamentally explaining the World Energy Market and Challenges we are yet to overcome.

Sciences Po is sharing knowledge freely in this MOOC and paving the way for other Universities worldwide.

Thank you.

创建者 Gabriel L

Jul 22, 2018

It was one of the best course I ever had! It helped me to widely understand the dynamics related to geopolitics, strategies and tactics decided by states to achieve results in the energy sector. On the other hand, it gave me a good range of specific knowledge regarding different resources and types of technologies used.

创建者 Caterina D

Mar 08, 2018

I have liked a lot the course. I have appreciated that the professor has divided the course into charters and he has talked about the main energy sources. I have personally enjoyed a lot the classes about nuclear energy, they were very well explained. I enjoyed the intervention of Prof. Bertrand Barré!

创建者 Dorian S

Dec 09, 2016

Ce cours est idéal si vous souhaitez apprendre comment fonctionne les marchés des énergies. Il est clair, les sous-titres et la transcription sont très pratiques pour suivre le cours et rendre des notes.

En revanche, j'aurai aimé que le cours aille plus loin, notamment sur les énergies renouvelables.

创建者 Julia V

Jan 15, 2017

A great introductory course for Social Scientists in the interesting world of international energy. The course is not that much about the actual politics and economics of int. energy, rather than about an introduction in to the complex ways in which energy is acquired. Very enjoyable nevertheless!

创建者 Alex S

Mar 06, 2017

A very well organized course that provides a perfect overview of global Energy markets. Professor Luciani has combined a good mix of informative lectures, practical examples as well as specialist views and opinions from academics heavily involved in specific areas of the global Energy industry.

创建者 Imtiaz A

Jun 20, 2017

This is really a great course. I as a Petroleum Engineering undergraduate student get benefit from this, as it is presented in a very basic and simple way with huge precious knowledge that opens my mind how large petroleum field and the technology is. I would recommend you to do this course.

创建者 Thomas A

Jul 06, 2017

Excellent course content covering a wide range of elements in the field of International Energy - from the production lines, to the economics and geopolitics, and to future policy aims, this serves well as a comprehensive introductory course from an impressive array of presenters.

创建者 Mark J C

Sep 29, 2017

I wish to extend my sincerest thanks to the fantastic course which is Politics and Economics of International Energy. The course was well presented and informative, and gained a good insight into the energy sector in a global sense. I would recommend this course wholeheartedly.