Chevron Left
返回到 Politics and Economics of International Energy

学生对 巴黎政治大学 提供的 Politics and Economics of International Energy 的评价和反馈

4.7
1,315 个评分
340 条评论

课程概述

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

热门审阅

DP
Sep 10, 2016

Excellent delivery.\n\nFantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.\n\nGreat range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

RJ
Aug 2, 2017

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

筛选依据:

276 - Politics and Economics of International Energy 的 300 个评论(共 335 个)

创建者 Marta W

Jun 27, 2020

The course is rich in knowledge, allowing to understand all aspects of international energy issues. The lectures are informative and introduce all relevant concepts. However some weeks have been oversaturated with the amount of content. Also not all the exteral links were available (revision would be useful). However, overall I am glad that I've taken this couse. I've certainly enriched my knowledge on the topic of international energy.

创建者 Johan B

Sep 10, 2019

Great course!

In the oil section, I would have liked a little more insight into heavy oil (which is abundant in Venezuela for instance) and 'sweet' low-sulfur oil which is used to make Diesel and the implication this has for a particular country. Why this concern? Because we always talk about oil abundant countries but we often neglect that there are different types of oil which can have very different implications ...

创建者 Natasha C

Mar 21, 2020

Very informative and well-explained by the professor. However, there were several resources that were not available (broken links, restricted data), as well as resources that were outdated. It would have been a lot more relevant if the course materials were up to date. Nevertheless, a good course that taught me a lot! The interviews were quite insightful. Thanks to the team who put this MOOC together.

创建者 郭可中

Jul 7, 2018

Great course! This is recommended for anyone who is looking for courses on energy. This course includes information from oil, natural gas, renewable energy, and nuclear energy. Certain information and data the course provides is outdated; however, this course provides a thorough understanding and additional videos and documents for anyone who is looking for more detailed analysis.

创建者 Alessandro D

Nov 18, 2017

Good introduction to the Energy World and its main pillars. More focused is given on fossil fuels overview which are well explained, and also are the ones more impacting the geopolitics balances. The renewables section could be expanded to explain better the economics. Overall a very good general course and I thanks Professor and Science Po for having it available.

创建者 CHAMPIGNY C

Apr 5, 2017

Hello,

This course is very interesting and content are very usefull.

As improvement points I would like to mention:

1-Some videos are not anymore available

2- A general update is necessary to take into account the last years big chances and evolutions on the energy politics and economics dur to the stabilization of oil price notably and all its impacts.

创建者 Andrea M

Nov 13, 2020

The course provides a broad perspective of energy and international energy relationships touching on most of the high-level industry-driven topics. Although the technical aspect is not so well developed (as it should be, being a non-technical course) the socio-economic-policy aspects are well described with suitable examples.

创建者 Diego A

Jul 21, 2019

I loved it, the only thing is that it would be awesome that they explain deeper the politics of petroleum. The impact of OPEC and an interesting fact is that countries do not say that their oil reserves increase because it would cause a diminish on the oil prices and so on. Great course, thanks Giacomo!

创建者 Sheena N

Sep 8, 2019

Very interesting insight into geopolitics of energy. It would be nice to see a more heavy focus on the application of economic theory - however, given that this is just an introduction, it did well to wet my appetite to continue researching global energy economics and politics further.

创建者 Diana S

Nov 15, 2018

Definitely, it needs to be outdated. There is a lot of relevant events that have happened (or have not happened I would say) since COP21 that are crucial for the energy discussion. Notwithstanding it is a very complete, detailed, well referenced and neutral course. 100% recommended.

创建者 Brian B

Aug 2, 2017

An excellent introduction to the subjects. Perhaps the emphasis on Europe is high in proportion to the rest of the world. Little information about developing countries.

More extra readings and references would be appreciated.

Some of the link to video resources no longer work.

创建者 Claudia A O B

Aug 9, 2020

El curso es bastante completo en su objetivo de enseñar política y economía en el mercado energético. Eso si le agregaría ir analizando escenarios a partir de lo aprendido, pero en general me gustó mucho el curso y las instancias de discusión

创建者 Brendan H

Feb 6, 2017

Overall a good introduction to the current state of global energy supply and demand. It covers basic information about the controversy of nuclear vs renewables though personally I would have liked a little more detail on this point

创建者 Ignacio M E

May 18, 2017

Excellent introduction to the issue. The only thing I miss is a chapter on the challenges that face developing countries to give their populations access to reliable and preferably non-carbon dependent energy sources

创建者 Grant L

Oct 7, 2020

A good intro into global political aspects linked to the energy sector.

Enjoyed the diverse topics covered and the scope of study. Exams were a good assessment tool too

创建者 Briac d P

Nov 25, 2020

Certaines données ne sont plus à jour et la partie "politics" a été un peu survendue mais c'est globalement intéressant et donne une bonne idée du monde de l'énergie

创建者 may t

Jul 7, 2020

This course gives me good insight about politics and economics of international energy. It would be better if this course is updated with current updates.

创建者 Timothée J

Jul 30, 2019

Great course to master the energy issues of modern societies, thank you for the quality of the videos. 4 stars only : too many broken link on lectures.

创建者 Garima S B

Apr 6, 2019

It has really helped me understand the energy dynamics. thank you. Giving a 4 star because the data is sometimes old and needs to be upgraded.

创建者 Liliana A

Nov 11, 2018

Great view of the energy environment and policies, would like to have some more updated information (2014/2015 oil prices drop for example)

创建者 Henrique S B

Apr 2, 2017

An excellent overview about the complex issues of international energy, its economic and geopolitical implications. I highly recommend it.

创建者 Rick V

Feb 17, 2019

Some of the videos were not accessible, I think the support materials require an update however over all it is a good course

创建者 Aizat M

Jan 12, 2017

A very informative and concise course that gave a very basic idea on what is going on in the Energy industry today.

创建者 Lothar H

Oct 9, 2020

Excellent introduction course to get to know the different aspects of energy and its politics and economics.

创建者 Thomas T

Sep 12, 2020

Very interesting course. Would like to see a new chapter on Hydrogen if possible in the forthcoming edition.