Chevron Left
返回到 Politics and Economics of International Energy

学生对 巴黎政治大学 提供的 Politics and Economics of International Energy 的评价和反馈

4.7
1,284 个评分
335 条评论

课程概述

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

热门审阅

DP

Sep 11, 2016

Excellent delivery.\n\nFantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.\n\nGreat range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

RJ

Aug 03, 2017

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

筛选依据:

251 - Politics and Economics of International Energy 的 275 个评论(共 329 个)

创建者 Richard H

Jun 10, 2016

Very good course.

创建者 KEYSER

Apr 12, 2020

Really good MOOC

创建者 Gherald E

Sep 23, 2017

Amazing course!

创建者 sergii k

Aug 23, 2016

splendid course

创建者 Mohammad S Q

Sep 24, 2017

amazing course

创建者 Robert S

Jun 29, 2017

Very teaching

创建者 Karan D

Feb 19, 2017

Great course.

创建者 Oladimeji O

Jan 02, 2019

Solid Course

创建者 Nicole O E

Oct 21, 2017

E

x

c

e

l

e

n

t

e

!

创建者 JOSÉ O P B

Jan 26, 2019

very good

创建者 余景慧 Y J

Jul 22, 2020

niceeeee

创建者 Matteo U

Feb 06, 2018

Awesome!

创建者 Tariq A

Feb 17, 2017

the best

创建者 Jagunmolu N

Jul 27, 2020

Awesome

创建者 Arnab K A

Mar 06, 2020

great

创建者 Bruno I

Apr 29, 2020

1.5x

创建者 Assylzhan Z

Aug 06, 2019

:)

创建者 panagiotis t

Apr 15, 2020

Very good course.I recommend it if you want a full introductory to all sources of energy.I came here because i wanted to learn more about solar and wind energy but i ended up liking more the classes about oil and gas (very fascinating) .Also i liked that at the end of each week the prof had interviews with professionals,this gives you a different view on the topics, less academic but more practical.

Very good prof i liked him, good english and when he talks somehow you know that he knows,liked his energy.I could say that i rated it 4 stars and not 5 because you wont learn something too practical that you can lets say use it on your job right away, but i do not think that actually such a course exists on this field.Generally you take a very good peak of how the world of energy moves.(note that the course is 6 years ago)

Thank you for this course.

创建者 Mohamed F

Oct 11, 2020

Professor Luciani delivers an informative course on global energy trends, decarbonization policies, renewable and non-renewable energy, energy security, and IEA's future expectations of trends based on new policies. A lot of additional helpful resources are provided.

A few interviews make up part of the course. Some interviewees had heavy accents which made it difficult to follow. A few videos were substantially long for a MOOC as well. For some tests you only get 2 chances before being able to try again after an entire week (incorrect answers are not displayed). But overall recommended for anyone who wants to learn about the current energy market and possible future scenarios.

创建者 MOHAMMAD N

Mar 18, 2019

The course is very helpful for those who wish to learn the Energy scenarios across the globe. The current push towards renewables and the challenges it faces from the conventional sources of energy can be understood quite well. The constrains of Gas energy and the impediments for Nuclear energy is also well explained. The connect of energy demand & supply with Politics i.e. the Geopolitics of energy, has given a new dimension to learning about energy.

The course however may be updated with recent updates across the globe.

I would like to sincerely Thank Prof Giacomo Luciani for this course.

创建者 Merih K

Apr 17, 2020

It really helped me to gain wider perspective in terms of environmental approach. Because as an environmental engineer I only studied how to improve a situation or what's harmful to the environment. Although I started to this course to understand oil products, I found more than that in terms of comprehensive approach for both environment, political, economic and social aspects. The course is beginner level but the more you digging than given resources, the more can be achieved. As a cons, it took longer than I expected.

创建者 Marta W

Jun 27, 2020

The course is rich in knowledge, allowing to understand all aspects of international energy issues. The lectures are informative and introduce all relevant concepts. However some weeks have been oversaturated with the amount of content. Also not all the exteral links were available (revision would be useful). However, overall I am glad that I've taken this couse. I've certainly enriched my knowledge on the topic of international energy.

创建者 Johan B

Sep 10, 2019

Great course!

In the oil section, I would have liked a little more insight into heavy oil (which is abundant in Venezuela for instance) and 'sweet' low-sulfur oil which is used to make Diesel and the implication this has for a particular country. Why this concern? Because we always talk about oil abundant countries but we often neglect that there are different types of oil which can have very different implications ...

创建者 Natasha C

Mar 21, 2020

Very informative and well-explained by the professor. However, there were several resources that were not available (broken links, restricted data), as well as resources that were outdated. It would have been a lot more relevant if the course materials were up to date. Nevertheless, a good course that taught me a lot! The interviews were quite insightful. Thanks to the team who put this MOOC together.

创建者 郭可中

Jul 07, 2018

Great course! This is recommended for anyone who is looking for courses on energy. This course includes information from oil, natural gas, renewable energy, and nuclear energy. Certain information and data the course provides is outdated; however, this course provides a thorough understanding and additional videos and documents for anyone who is looking for more detailed analysis.