Chevron Left
返回到 Health Across the Gender Spectrum

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 Health Across the Gender Spectrum 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,259 个评分
439 条评论

课程概述

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

热门审阅

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

CM

May 18, 2020

I love how concise and easy to understand the videos were. They all get straight to the point and it was really a mind-blowing experience to learn about the differences and what we can do to support.

筛选依据:

26 - Health Across the Gender Spectrum 的 50 个评论(共 435 个)

创建者 Nilver J C A

Jul 19, 2019

It helped me to have an opened mind about this matter and what things could be done to have a better environment that make transgender people to live well.

创建者 Lamia

Jul 23, 2017

This course was a brilliant started pack to understanding the gender spectrum and also identifying the possibilities for myself as an individual to be gender neutral. The videos were so concise and clear and articulated the messages extremely well. The content was easy to understand. The glossary and recommended reading list is comprehensive and very useful. This course has left me with a lot of food for thought as an educator and psychologist working with children and adolescents. I'm beginning to reframe my ways of working within classrooms and rethinking ways of making schools gender neutral and safe spaces given the structural and contextual difficulties. The first person narratives shared by professors from Stanford as well as those depicted through the animated videos were so impactful and provided such insights into the realities of those who are not conforming to the binary idea of gender. Here's to exploring and inculcating the idea of gender along a spectrum personally and professionally! At a deeper level, this course has inspired me to be free and the kind of person I am and want to be, regardless of societal norms! Thank you! :)

创建者 Shigemon R

Apr 22, 2020

I have learned enjoyed this course a lot. As an active all girls' junior/high school teacher, I meet students who are transgenders. Since where I live is quite conservative about gender identity and sexuality, teachers do not have a full understanding of accepting the gender spectrum, nor most of them are not interested in trying to learn themselves about the topic that has assumably been an ongoing thing for many years. It seems like I am one of the rare teachers in that school who shows interest in diversity in gender and expresses that as well (as a female employee, I usually wear shirts, slacks, loafers, and a tie on official occasions). This course has helped me learn about some tips that I can consider doing in classroom setting so that it will be an environment that accepts potential transgenders and about some advice I could give to those transgender students about medical procedures that they can consider to be in the body that they are satisfied with.

创建者 Val R

Nov 04, 2017

I am a Brazilian woman, studying Psychology and this is my first semester in University, even tough I am a 46y.o. My classmates are half of my age in general, and despite of that they were a little concerned and scared when I proposed we to discuss gender identity focusing on the transgender people as the basis of our interdisciplinary paper for the semester. This program was key to my research and to enrich my vocabulary, it strengthened our position to present the importance for the professionals of psychology, to question themselves how to serve this community. I feel grateful to the Stanford University, for the opportunity to listen to the testimonials of so many people in a variety of roles and stages on the coming out as a transgender process. I think =, as a psychologist to be that I can and will serve people with a more open heart and mind, and more equipped to fight the expectations created on myself based on stereotypes.

创建者 Stacey K

Oct 01, 2017

I enjoyed the course very much. I have learned a lot about gender and sexuality and how to deal with people being different. it's a current debate in Melbourne, Australia as to whether the policy, called "safe Schools" which empowers teachers to protect LGBT students from bullying should be introduced in school. I see a lot of people railing against the program which I believe stems from ignorance. This course is very good to provide real people's stories and explain how inaction can cause harm. I've recommended it to my son's school's principal. Thank you for putting together such an excellent course. Personally, my favorite part was the interview with transgender professor where he mentions how his research was perceived to be of better quality after he presented it as a male.

创建者 Arlen N T C

Dec 29, 2017

I was really ignorant about gender topics since a few months ago when I met a lot of new friends and one of them were transgender. I never really understood what that meant, but after meeting her I was concerned by this matter. I myself never identified with female or male cloths and attitudes, but I never thought so much about it because of my traditional family. It really opened a new world to me and since I met my friend I did research on this, and this course actually made me see so many new things and I feel conscious of the matter. I'm so thankful to be able to find this course online, or else there would be so much that I wouldn't know about. It made me think, about society, about families, about relationships and about myself. Thank you so much.

创建者 Rafael d l C G

May 10, 2017

An incredibly personal and touching way of making us understand the complexities and depth of these experiences that transgender people go through.

I consider this a great way to educate us all, those related to a transgender student or adult, or not, about the humane aspect of this process, the importance of activism and more than anything, about the love, the empathy and the understanding without judging so needed in our societies and in our interpersonal relations.

I don't feel I am a better person after this course, I feel though, that I am a more sensitive person, a less judgmental individual and a more loving and caring member of my community. I feel empowered to stand for what I believe.

创建者 Melisa A V C

Apr 24, 2020

Es una gran variedad de conceptos y herramientas que permiten ser mas inclusivos con ninos y adultos transgeneros asi como géneros no binarios , permitiendo asi brindar una mejor atención al cliente y poder ampliar nuestros conocimientos con respecto a este tema que si bien lleva anos siendo estigmatizado y es mas normal de lo que creemos al hacer este tipo de cursos uno logra interiorizar y darse cuenta de que el conocimiento relacionado a esto es nulo, sin duda alguna este curso no tiene desperdicio me parece excelente como desglosan la información y brindan a los estudiantes opiniones asi como los puntos de vista de personas transgenero y sus familiares .

创建者 Sara H

Jan 23, 2019

El curso es increíblemente valioso, tanto para nosotros los profesionales de la salud encargados de acompañar a estos niños como para las familias y la comunidad en general. Creo que es es de vital importancia socializar este tipo de herramientas para que cada vez seamos mas las personas que amamos y apoyamos a los niños trans. Creo que los niños trans están en un mundo que aun no logra comprender la profundidad de sus sentimiento y es mi misión como profesional al menos desde mi sitió de trabajo hacer su vida y la de sus familias mas fácil y feliz; y este curso es un paso mas para lograrlo.

Lo recomendare a mis colegas!

创建者 Thomas A

Jun 06, 2017

I think the course is very well presented. Unfortunately, I was not convinced, however, by the material that all children/adolescents should have their ideas about trans be accepted so readily, especially for very young children. The course does not really describe the extensive interdisciplinary evaluation that accompanies each child and family, and the length of time and complexity of issues that are associated with each decision. Why not present some cases/material in which children returned to their sex and the reasons for their return. The scenario as presented is too simplistic (rosy) and too one way.

创建者 lauren d

Mar 29, 2017

I found this course to be eye opening, and wonderful in showing the range and variations the transgender community may contain. It helped add language and clarification of terms that are needed. It was nice to hear the stories of the children as well as the parents. It would have helped me to hear from those who are not handling the needs of their child who identifies cross gender. The levels of support shown by the parents was comforting but also seemed too good to be true. I would not have had that level of support in my own family by far. This was a wonderful course, keep up the great work.

创建者 Ivona O

May 29, 2017

I am really happy that I found this course and participated there. I´ve gained totally new information about problematic of gendre spectrum. Since I work with people on daily basis, I meet very different people day by day and thanks to this course I know, that I will feel fine when meeting transgender people, because I will already know, who I face to and how to work with them, so that both sites will be satisfied and pleased. This course encourrage me to sing up also for other courses that discribe different kinds of people. I can recommend it for professionals as well as for others. Thank you.

创建者 Rafael M C

Mar 06, 2019

This is a wonderful course! I loved the videos and the interviews. It was so enlightening to hear about people's experiences and also about how we can contribute to make our world a better place to everybody (and specially transgender people). I feel blessed for having had the opportunity to spend this time watching, reading and discussing this topic with this community. I'd also like to congrats the team responsible for this material. This is a course everybody should attend because I am sure most of us have important lessons to take from it.

创建者 Soledad S

Apr 27, 2020

Una de las cosas que más me gusto de este curso fue escuchar la experiencia personal de profesionales renombrados. Me gustaría mucho poder contar con personas como ellos en mi entorno profesional para poder cambiar la opinión que tienen en mi país de las personas transgénero, ya que la mayoría piensa que son personas poco serias y que buscan llamar la atención, no hay respeto, ni aceptación. Con este curso buscaba reforzar mis conocimientos y ver las experiencias de otros a fin de ser un elemento de cambio en mi sociedad.

创建者 Suzanne E

May 07, 2017

Great course. I learned a lot and it was fun and not difficult. The course got me to think and view the needs of others by making a few simple adjustment to things I might be doing. I also believe it brought an awareness to the issue of how important gender neutral bathrooms are and using correct pronouns and not dividing children into to groups according to their sex. Gender neutral classrooms are a positive for all children no matter how they identify with their gender. These issues are not just for transgender people.

创建者 Emely

Jun 22, 2020

This was an amazing class, I learned a lot of things to try and be more open, have more empathy, support people who go thru this. I learned that everybody is especial, everybody deserves de opportunity to feel comfortable with themselves and be who they want to be. We as a society need to support this community and work on this to make them feel more comfortable with themselves. This is something that every person should take cause you learn a lot! Im glad I found this :) LET'S FIGHT FOR A GENDER INCLUSIVE WORLD!!!!

创建者 Mary E R

Jun 07, 2017

Thank you so much Stanford University and to everyone who made this course possible. It's an effective way to educate about how important gender identity is to children. Taking this into consideration, our reactions to people we know who may be going through a similar struggle may affect how they will perceive the world and how they will behave in the future. After taking this course I have made it my goal to help in making a safer world for the transgender people as well as for the rest of the LGBTQ community.

创建者 Noël L

Oct 11, 2017

I loved this course. I am genderfluid myself, and took this course to ensure I am up-to-date on my current research knowledge as I'm pursuing a certification as a lactation consultant. Very few LCs have experience with lactation transmen, and while I don't either (yet!), I want to be able to serve ALL of my populations effectively and with as few screw-ups as possible. I feel like this course has been a great help and refresher, and will be recommending it to some of my personal and professional colleagues.

创建者 Anjuli G

Jul 26, 2017

This course brings to life the gender spectrum with empathy, humanity, and practicality. It spans a wide range of topics to equip all of us to be better friends, family members, colleagues, and community members. I personally took this course to support my 5-year-old godchild. S/he picks different pronouns on different days and is the most creative, spirited child you can imagine, whether in pants or dresses. I'm so grateful to have the tools to be a better godmother! Everyone should take this course.

创建者 Levi v W

Nov 13, 2017

As a trans person, I really love this course, as it educates others about what transgender means and why it's not as big of an issue as people make it out to be. I love seeing/hearing children and parents talk about their personal experiences, as it reminds me that I'm not alone. I also love how professionals (in education, medicine, etc) are debunking the ridiculous rumours and misinformation spread by biased /presidents/ and political parties. Seriously, though. Thank you for this course.

创建者 Brittany P

Dec 03, 2019

I really enjoyed the video content of this course, which included first-hand accounts of the transgender experience, from individuals who transitioned as adults as well as the parents of transgender children. Each story was unique, but they all helped to convey that we as a society must move to a more accepting place where each individual is treated the way they would like to be treated. In doing this, we can help each individual to be their truest self and reach their fullest potential.

创建者 Jeane A

Apr 15, 2017

I took this amazing course and found myself crying through the first 3 videos. I never knew what the child and parents experienc. My state is planning to pass a "bathroom bill' and I now know the full horrors of that. Being transgender is not a religious issue or a female privacy issue, but rather reaching out to children who need acceptane, support, and understanding. A wonderful course taught in a beautiful manner. A must for all teachers, parents, and healthcare providers! Thank you!

创建者 LAURA E H E

Sep 24, 2018

I loved this course, I am a professor in a private university and I would like to help my transgender students with the tools I acquired at the end of this instructive course. In order to be able to be of help for the students I need a certificate of completion of the course "Health Across of Gender Spectrum" to deliver it to the Directorate of the School of Architecture where I work and to start a program of support against discrimination of gender. Thank you very much!

创建者 Monica C

May 15, 2017

This is important work, making gender diversity education available to people across the board. This course is informative, and easy to comprehend. It is important to create safe spaces for gender nonconforming people and trans people. It is great that this includes information for teachers and for healthcare providers. These folks have a BIG impact on us as children and we need professionals in these areas to be educated so they can help our children grow and thrive.

创建者 Patricia L

Apr 11, 2017

I found this course very informative. It explain gender expectrum in a way that was clearly understood. I enjoyed having listened to personal experiences from parents and teachers of transgender children as well as personal stories of transgender individuals. This course has helped me by providing me with understanding about what is like being transgender. It also has given me the tools to be supportive and inclusive of transgender individuals and their families.