Chevron Left
返回到 The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State

学生对 特拉维夫大学 提供的 The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State 的评价和反馈

4.6
743 个评分
214 条评论

课程概述

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

热门审阅

TA

Sep 26, 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

SS

Sep 29, 2020

It gave me more insight for me about Israel history. The tutors explained it in a simple way, although some parts of the materials were a little bit difficult to understand

筛选依据:

176 - The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State 的 200 个评论(共 214 个)

创建者 Kelly

Dec 1, 2015

A good synopsis of the history of Israel. I enjoyed learning about this subject, and especially enjoyed the interviews and conversations.

创建者 Agnès L

Jan 12, 2018

Great course, I learned a lot from it. I would have liked more details and larger class, maybe some optional readings

创建者 Sarah S Y

Apr 20, 2017

Interesting course. Good quick way to gain a better understanding of the conflict between Israel and Palestine.

创建者 Mary L P

Jan 17, 2016

Excellent course. I enjoyed learning about Israel and will help with understanding world events.

创建者 Deleted A

May 21, 2020

very informative one, which will provide you an insight to the evolution and history of Israel.

创建者 Abbas M

Dec 25, 2020

Very interesting to learn about the process leading up to Israel's creation. Great course!

创建者 Shi Y

Feb 8, 2016

good for people who wanna know the brief. would be better with more details and sorties

创建者 Christopher T C

Jan 17, 2016

Very good class though at times it could be hard to hear some of the audio lessons

创建者 Göktuğ E

Mar 11, 2022

Professors were so qualified but, voice quality was not fine. It can be improved.

创建者 Varun N

May 26, 2020

Good one for those interested in Israel and the larger politics of Middle East

创建者 Sandra O

Nov 21, 2015

The teaching for this class is 1st rate. Much information and nuances given

创建者 Julen B

Oct 19, 2017

Really interesting but sometimes it is difficult to follow the translation.

创建者 Teymur S

Feb 11, 2016

There is a problem with subtitles.Sometimes they are different from speech.

创建者 Mike J

Nov 11, 2015

Interesting course, but rather too short and not going very deep

创建者 Leonel C

Aug 15, 2020

A good, even if short, historical review

创建者 Steven Z P

Nov 19, 2016

a bit tedious but lots of information

创建者 Idan F

Mar 23, 2016

Great way to learn. Tests are to hard

创建者 Yang X

May 20, 2018

good to learn about the history

创建者 INGRID T H

Jul 29, 2017

It is a good course.

创建者 Elaine H

Feb 14, 2022

​good...

创建者 Reinaldo V d C

Oct 20, 2016

good

创建者 Michael G

Jul 7, 2017

V

创建者 Stephen H

Feb 27, 2016

Good, concise course.

The reason I didn't give it a higher rating is because I found it difficult (not impossible) to follow some of professor Eyal Naveh speach. His first language is not English, so I do not expect him to speak perfect English. However, I would expect the subtitles/transcript not to have basic mistakes. This became important when professor Naveb interview another person in Hebrew, as I found I could not really trust the subtitles.

I think it wouldn't take much to make it an excellent course.

My cheeky suggestion is to have a specialisation with The Emergence of the Modern Middle East by Professor Asher Susser as nucleus and a series of shorter, more in depth courses on certain of the bigger countries, such as Egypt, Turkey and Iran, similar to this one on Israel.

创建者 Alan M D

May 22, 2021

This course is Part 1 of four hours and Part 2 is 12 hours a total of 16 hours. This should ONLY BE ONE COURSE of 16 hours! A significant proportion of this course is also given by Professor Asher Susser and the material he provides is EXACTLY THE SAME as for part of his Emergence of the Middle East, Part 2 I believe. In other words, this is a RIP-OFF! I already paid for Prof Susser's excellent teaching and although I enjoyed most of Part 1, it should all be new material and not mixed with old stuff I have paid for twice. I think Tel-Aviv University is trying to make students pay double and should be ashamed of themselves.