Chevron Left
返回到 摇滚史,第一部分

学生对 罗彻斯特大学 提供的 摇滚史,第一部分 的评价和反馈

4.8
845 个评分
231 条评论

课程概述

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

热门审阅

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

筛选依据:

51 - 摇滚史,第一部分 的 75 个评论(共 232 个)

创建者 Bruce L

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

创建者 Stuart M

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

创建者 Phil G

Jan 17, 2017

I found the course to be very interesting. I enjoyed learning about the artists and songwriters that shaped the birth of Rock and Roll and made it into the genre that so many are great fans of.

创建者 渐晨

Dec 31, 2018

nice!I have learned a lot of knowledge which I did not know before,I really appreciate this lessons and the teacher,John

Covach. During the study period,I also collected many beautiful songs.

创建者 Mary

May 29, 2020

This is a very comprehensive course. I learned a lot about both the major and lesser-known bands important in the rise of rock music. I am looking forward to taking part two of this course.

创建者 Anna B

Sep 11, 2016

Loved this course so much! Thanks to John for informative and interesting lectures. Higly recommend it to all who love rock and would like to have a structured knowledge about its history.

创建者 Maria I

Aug 14, 2015

It's a great course, very interesting. I've learned a great deal about the history of rock music and it gave me a new understanding of some of its aspects.Thank you very much.

创建者 Anna D

Sep 08, 2017

I had a great time learning in the course! The professor did a great job in educating and providing an unbiased history of rock music. I had a lot of fun!! Ready for Pt II!!!

创建者 Celine T

Oct 09, 2016

This is an excellent course that I would highly recommend to any music and history lover. The professor is wonderful and is obviously passionate about the subject matter.

创建者 Shruti D

Sep 12, 2017

Great course! Learnt so much about the culture and music genres such as blues, pop and rock during the 50s-80s. Enjoyed the lessons and music recommendations! Thank you!

创建者 Constance C

Apr 30, 2020

This course was very interesting as well as the nice teacher ! Would recommend if you love music and want to increase your culture. I wish I could do part 2 now !

创建者 Akshay K

Apr 17, 2020

Would highly recommend this course for those interested learning about the roots of Rock and where the great bands of the 60's got their musical influence from.

创建者 Shirley J

Oct 30, 2017

This course has given a good explanation of the inspiration behind Rock, as well as a perfectly understandable explanation of why things were the way they were.

创建者 Kelsei L P B

Apr 03, 2016

I love music and this course changed my life! More than just learn some music that I didn't know about, I learned its evolution through years I have not lived.

创建者 Jean P G C

Jul 05, 2020

Genial curso.... Mucha información y permite madurar gracias a los conocimientos del profesor Sr. Covach sobre la genesis del género y su desarrollo inicial.

创建者 Manuel F C S

Apr 24, 2020

It was an interesting course. English is not my first language but I can assure I undertood the teacher all the time. I can't wait to check out the part two.

创建者 Gary K

Feb 02, 2016

Must know for anyone that is interested in where all (most) current/popular music stems from. Explains origins of most American/European music genres.

创建者 Nazarov R

Feb 14, 2019

Interesting material and great tutor indeed. Definitely the course is worth time spent and it is for everyone who’s interested in rock music history.

创建者 Denis M

Jul 15, 2017

Great course, great teacher! It's very important to know all these things if you want to understand the origins of rock and rock and roll music!

创建者 Maria C

Aug 29, 2015

This course was EXCELLENT! It held my interest the entire time, exposed me to so much music I had not yet heard, and I am excited to take Part

创建者 Lee-Adele S

Mar 26, 2020

This was a fabulous course! I've always loved music and this course surpassed my expectations! I'm looking forward to embarking on Part Two!

创建者 Ray W

Aug 16, 2018

These two courses we're very fun compared to most.They we're very informative but important for anyone working in the music business.thanks

创建者 Grandom F B R

Nov 14, 2019

Es un curso bastante completo, interesante e innovador, me gustaría que realizarán un curso especial donde se aborde la cultural del Metal

创建者 Shahr S

Aug 16, 2015

The course I always loved to take! Thank you Coursera and Rochester University for giving people the opportunity to take this course.

创建者 Gustavo N S

Jul 30, 2019

I really enjoyed with this course, It was very informative, interesting and a great source of information about rock and roll music.