Chevron Left
返回到 摇滚史,第一部分

学生对 罗彻斯特大学 提供的 摇滚史,第一部分 的评价和反馈

4.8
845 个评分
231 条评论

课程概述

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

热门审阅

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

筛选依据:

201 - 摇滚史,第一部分 的 225 个评论(共 232 个)

创建者 Ricardo T G S

Apr 14, 2019

Good.

创建者 Jhoan S B A

Apr 22, 2020

Good

创建者 SONU K

May 07, 2019

NICE

创建者 Kiyotake S

Jun 03, 2016

Very

创建者 米勒

Sep 16, 2016

u

创建者 Jeanie S

Jun 21, 2016

I

创建者 James G R

Nov 05, 2015

A

创建者 Denise M

Dec 03, 2017

This course is a great overview of modern rock music. I think it is greatly enhanced by using the text which is a nice reference to have on its own. One thing that really needs to be improved are the written transcripts for the videos. Sometimes I preferred reading the transcript as opposed to listening to the video but I found that the transcripts were at times very garbled, inaccurate to what was actually being discussed by Professor Covach (names, places, etc.), and need general editing for grammar. I know that transcription has probably been done on a very basic volunteer basis but it should be reviewed again in comparison to the actual video discussion because frequently, the two media are not aligned.

创建者 Jan-Willem J

Aug 27, 2015

This is a great course that is very informative. It brought many performers to my attention that I had not heard of before or that I had not appreciated before and has enriched my appreciation of music. The course focuses mainly on the history and development of rock music, rather than the technical side of the music itself. It is a pity that the course itself only discusses the music, but does not feature the music itself. I suggest that you keep a streaming service, such as Spotify or Deezer, open in a separate window on your browser, so you can pause the lectures and listen to the music as you go along.

创建者 Marcelo F

Jan 26, 2019

Until what I have seen today it is a great course. However it is in many ways "too american". It should be rebranded History of American Rock. Despite that, it is very informative and have quite a good insights of what has been happening in America at the time and how Americans perceived themselves their culture and the British Invasion. Congrats. To this extend I am loving it!.

创建者 Angelina W

Feb 04, 2016

Excellent general course about the history of Rock in the Western World. Lots of names of musicians, companies, and music make the course seem to revolve around memorization. Even so, the professor does describe the historical element in logical chains of events and biographies.

The quizzes could have been offered every week. There's no need to clump the quiz material.

创建者 Sam A

Dec 05, 2015

Really enjoying this course (nearly done).

The subject is perfect for my age (about 50) as I grew on much of this music and play guitar.

Wish there was a way to incorporate the music.

I am pausing, going to youtube and back constantly but it is worth it.

创建者 Albert M V

Apr 21, 2017

It was a great course. I love the professor's explanations and it was quite well organized. It would be good to have a document with all the links to songs and albums on Youtube or whatever, so you don't have to manually search for each track.

创建者 Robin A

Apr 22, 2018

this course i great if you want to increase your knowledge about rock music,it has helped me a lot to understand different genres of music and how it came into picture of music.

very helpful course with lots of examples to understand perfectly

创建者 Dennis G

Aug 26, 2019

Enjoyed class. Got a little weary of watching videos toward the end. Definitely will consider future classes. More time on The Beatles and Rolling Stones would make the course more interesting.

Thanks for

创建者 Rodolfo F L

Oct 06, 2016

Could be improved using musical videos or complementary material. Is a little be boring just listening to lectures. :(

创建者 Zachary B

Oct 15, 2015

Instructor is very articulate. The layouts for all of the lessons are very simple and easy to maneuver.

创建者 Yana N

Mar 24, 2016

Thank you for the course. It's really interesting! I enjoy it so much, especially the quizzes :)

创建者 Mark L

Oct 07, 2015

Good course, but I was disappointed that clips of some of the music weren't played.

创建者 Juanjo R C

May 21, 2018

lástima que no esté en castellano 100%. Me ha parecido muy útil. Muchas gracias

创建者 Dave E

Jan 11, 2020

Buen curso! Muchos datos importantes sintetizados y bien explicados.

创建者 Mark S

Jan 16, 2017

Well done. Lot of material covered. I enjoyed it.

创建者 Garry K

Jul 14, 2017

A lot of great info and it was easy to understand.

创建者 Jade T

Sep 08, 2018

Engaging and an overall very informative course.

创建者 Raymond D

Oct 10, 2017

Great course! Well presented. Very informative.