Chevron Left
返回到 摇滚史,第一部分

学生对 罗彻斯特大学 提供的 摇滚史,第一部分 的评价和反馈

4.8
901 个评分
254 条评论

课程概述

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

热门审阅

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

筛选依据:

101 - 摇滚史,第一部分 的 125 个评论(共 253 个)

创建者 Jeff K

May 07, 2020

Such a good course! It only makes you wish there was time to go more in depth about every topic covered!

创建者 Niki

May 06, 2020

Great Teacher :) Really enjoyed this course. It was well-rounded, clear and very interesting. Thank you !

创建者 Mauricio A S P

Aug 15, 2019

Te entrega mucho conocimiento de la historia del rock y en realidad de la música en general, muy bueo

创建者 Carrie F

Jun 26, 2017

Great info, I loved listening to the music and learning about the bands! Can't wait to get to Part 2!

创建者 Cathy G

Jan 24, 2017

Extremely knowledgeable teacher!! You will learn amazing facts and details of the rise of rock music.

创建者 Andrew G

Jun 30, 2016

Very, very well done course -- great information, well presented and well paced. Highly recommended!

创建者 Michael V

Nov 09, 2015

Terrific course. John Covach knows the material and presents it well. Enjoyed the course immensely.

创建者 Geert P

Oct 08, 2016

Great course, with great stories. A Professor you can listen to for hours. Absolutely top notch!

创建者 Huang K

Jan 15, 2016

The professor gives a fun speech on music and I really enjoy watching as well as listening in his

创建者 Steve M

Apr 13, 2020

Great insight and learning course about the greatest music in the world,

Rock and roll! 🎼🤪🎸

创建者 Ferdinand P

Jan 26, 2018

A truly amazing class. I had a great time and learned a lot. I'm looking forward to Part 2!

创建者 任欣雨

Dec 04, 2016

Very good course for beginner to know about rock history,looking forward to join the Part.2

创建者 Aline D

Mar 03, 2016

I loved the content and found the teacher spectacular. This is a really fun course to take.

创建者 Brendan C

Nov 14, 2018

This was fantastic preparation to help me teach a course using this text next school year.

创建者 luis g

Aug 13, 2017

Really nice course to know about history of music on the first 6 decades of XX century

创建者 Joanne P

Jun 05, 2020

Entertaining and informative. Terrific instructor. I would recommend it to a friend.

创建者 Phyllis S

Jul 31, 2016

Delivered by an instructor whose lectures are knowledgeable, well-paced and dynamic.

创建者 Zillah K

Aug 29, 2015

Fascinating account of popular music, mostly American, from 1955 to 1970. I love it.

创建者 Kathy P

Mar 22, 2020

Very informative and fun to learn so much about music. Looking forward to part two.

创建者 Gregg H

Apr 12, 2016

Exciting course, especially if you use the book and the additional on-line material

创建者 Marcos L R G

Feb 24, 2016

Great course. I love rock and now I understand better this wonderful kind of music.

创建者 Brittani G

Jan 15, 2019

This was extremely fun and informational. You can impress your friends at parties.

创建者 cristinamih

Sep 14, 2017

A good fun way to learn about the history of ronck. Can't wait to start second p

创建者 Josefin

Oct 31, 2015

This course is the best! Very interesting and informative. Fun to. Check it out.