Chevron Left
返回到 Human Rights for Open Societies

学生对 乌得勒支大学 提供的 Human Rights for Open Societies 的评价和反馈

4.7
stars
217 个评分
46 条评论

课程概述

Human rights are under pressure in many places across the globe. Peaceful protests are violently quashed. Voting is tampered with. And minorities are often excluded from decision-making. All of this threatens the ideal of an open society in which each of us can be free and participate equally. A solid protection of human rights is needed for an open society to exist and to flourish. But it is often an uphill battle to work towards that ideal. Equip yourself and learn more about what human rights are and how they work. In this course, we will introduce you to one of the world’s most intricate human rights systems: the European Convention on Human Rights. You will see when and how people can turn to the European Court of Human Rights to complain about human rights violations. You will learn how the Court tries to solve many of the difficult human rights dilemmas of today. We will look, amongst other things, at the freedom of expression and demonstration, the right to vote, and the prohibition of discrimination. And we will address the rights of migrants, refugees, and other vulnerable groups. And, of course, we will see whether it is possible to restrict rights and if so under what conditions. You will even encounter watchdogs and ice cream in this course. We invite you to follow us on a journey of discovery into the European Convention!...

热门审阅

DM

Jun 11, 2017

Very good to find out the basics. What are human rights, what they represent and in which way we should interpret them. Also, it has an easy language so you don't need law school or other studies.

SG

Jun 19, 2017

This has been a great introduction to the European Convention and Court of Human Rights. It has really helped deepen understanding of the treaty and how the court functions.

筛选依据:

1 - Human Rights for Open Societies 的 25 个评论(共 45 个)

创建者 Tofail A

Sep 28, 2019

Who knows or care about the UNHDR? I care and everyone might have care about it. I am thankful for the access to learn more about it....

创建者 sara a

Mar 24, 2018

I have been very pleased with my presence within your educational group and I have benefited greatly from the information, considering that my field of architecture studies is not well versed in this field so you have opened our eyes to some important concepts that we need in our lives and especially in these days the days of war that our cities are facing

创建者 Joseph J A

Jun 19, 2017

An excellent introduction to Human Rights in an inclusive and Open Society. I have learned a lot about the basic rights that ALL human beings have irrespective of the countries they reside in. All states have an obligation to ensure that those human rights are protected at all cost and in the best interests of each and every citizen and non-citizen!

创建者 Consie L

Dec 30, 2016

This course has offered sufficient information on the ECHR system, and the relationship between Open societies and human rights. By giving concrete examples, the course is able to explain, even simplify, complex (legal) concepts and cases. I strongly recommend this course for everyone wishing to have basic knowledge on how the ECHR system works.

创建者 YALCIN O

Mar 03, 2019

I find this subject very very important. The course is great for everyone who want to learn something about human rights and open democracy relationship. The content of the course is not boring, and there are many examples from real life that help us to understand better. I strongly advice to everyone.

创建者 Sarah H

Dec 18, 2016

Fascinating course, had a blast learning about the topics covered. Can see that it would be useful across many fields of work/expertise, or just for the fun of learning, and also still very useful and applicable even if you're not from a country that is not included in this particular convention.

创建者 Julieta C

Mar 09, 2018

The course content was really good, i found on this course the necessary resources and tools to really have a deep comprehension about what it means human rights for open societies within the context of the ECHR and Convention.

I am really glad i have choosen the course ,very reccomendable

创建者 Antonija P P

Jun 19, 2017

Amazing for all the beginners. The course has very clear structure, which enables you to connect all the topics. Very clear lectures and quizzes that help you with further understanding. Wish they would have also some more advanced courses.

创建者 María I P

Oct 18, 2017

It is an excellent opportunity to learn about human rights and acknowledge its importance within a democracy. The lectures are thorough, supported by materials of great quality, as well as experienced intructors.

创建者 Dorin C M

Jun 11, 2017

Very good to find out the basics. What are human rights, what they represent and in which way we should interpret them. Also, it has an easy language so you don't need law school or other studies.

创建者 Shabana G

Jun 19, 2017

This has been a great introduction to the European Convention and Court of Human Rights. It has really helped deepen understanding of the treaty and how the court functions.

创建者 Anna W

Jun 12, 2017

The course is prepared very well, professional. Knowledge served in a very accessible way. I started with a basic level and I'm glad that I've done all the lessons.

创建者 JOHN Q

Jul 29, 2017

Interesting course and fun to see stated the rights we have in America stated as human rights for all open societies.

创建者 PHẠM N Á

Sep 04, 2019

very comprehensive and the professors talk very cleary, easy to understand!

Love from Vietnam - Cảm Ơn

创建者 Alina A

Dec 30, 2016

This course is an excellent guide to the problems and benefits of human rights within open society!

创建者 Tri I Z

Mar 20, 2017

I really like this subject, it comprehend my knowledge especially about human rights. Thank you.

创建者 Aybüke A

Jun 23, 2017

I loved that it was a great summary and also the quality of the materials were also impressive

创建者 Fábio R L P

Dec 13, 2016

A nice course, it permitted me to improve my knowledge about the ECHR in our open societies.

创建者 Maria C B M G

Oct 12, 2019

Excellent I have really enjoyed it! Thank you! How can I download my Coursera certificate?

创建者 Debbie H

Oct 02, 2019

Great course that offers you an insight on what human rights mean in our open society.

创建者 BARIŞ A

Sep 19, 2017

I have learned so many things thanks for your cooperation and education best regards..

创建者 Tamara

Dec 14, 2016

It is a interesting course, which is clear and good to follow.

创建者 kamran s

Aug 31, 2018

Thanks to all the administrators of this course

It was my wish

创建者 Brad W

Dec 27, 2016

Great course! The format was accessible and I learned a lot

创建者 Vasilis K

Jan 11, 2019

In depth review of ECHR and case law, with amazing tutors.