Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Imagemaking

学生对 加州艺术学院 提供的 Introduction to Imagemaking 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,487 个评分
297 个审阅

课程概述

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

热门审阅

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

筛选依据:

26 - Introduction to Imagemaking 的 50 个评论(共 293 个)

创建者 Henintsoa T A

Sep 13, 2016

I loved it, it pushes me to get out of my confort zone. the course helped me a lot especially in discovering new technique for image making.

创建者 Mohamed G W

Oct 09, 2017

great course that will teach you the meaning of the pictures and spaces in the image

创建者 Zuzana P

Oct 09, 2016

It was really challenging, and interesting course. I wish I had more time to work with it.

创建者 Mariana M

Jun 12, 2018

Truly change my vision of design, the meaning of visual communication and composition.Thank you

创建者 Fabian M

Dec 31, 2016

This course challenged me to expand my visual creative skills and for that I am thankful.

创建者 Martha W

Jun 07, 2016

I like how the weekly projects built up until we had our book at the end.

创建者 Ferdinand P

Sep 01, 2016

Image-making will let you appreciate how a design is formed. Having finished the course, I look at designs now as more than just a representation of something. I see designs now as art forms, styled to express not only its connotative meaning but its denotative meaning as well.

创建者 Nicoleta P

Apr 12, 2017

The way information combines with practice to enhance your creativity is just great!

创建者 Xiomara C

Jun 23, 2016

You make me work... grab crayons and paint. And that's exactly the kind of things I needed to do to make images, just theory wouldn't make a thing. Very well structured course, the Coursera plattform is amazing!!! (pardon my english)

创建者 Jane R R S A

Mar 14, 2017

Very interesting and useful

创建者 Béatrice A

May 01, 2016

it is a fantastic course !

创建者 Juan C E

Nov 22, 2016

This is an inspiring course, and a challenge to go back to the basics. As I was at college 2 decades ago, this has been a powerful experience of re-discover and put to work my talents and skills. A true turning point in life! Thank you.

创建者 Pedro M P R

Jul 14, 2016

Great course!

创建者 Shirlena R

Jul 09, 2016

I am running out of words to describe how much I loved taking this class and those in conjunction with it. I'll be a little sad when it's over and I'm taking the last course. There is a true connection

创建者 Daniel D

Apr 15, 2016

Great course!! Thanks again!!

创建者 Roxana A S

Feb 21, 2017

Good course! Nice experience!

创建者 Edi O

Sep 21, 2016

The course is delivered in a simple manner, easy to follow and with clear instructions. I'm not sure how much a peer review is a valuable contribution once most of the students don't really know how to criticize properly the peer's assignment, either always giving the full mark or evaluating according to its personal ideas and not necessary what the exercises called for. Anyway, it's still a very valuable alternative to formal education, specially if the student is committed enough.

创建者 Alisha T

Jun 01, 2016

Fun and informative. Very creative.

创建者 Shiela O

Aug 17, 2016

I learned a lot esp the extent of using materials to create an artwork. Well done!

创建者 Angela M F

May 17, 2016

Very practical, great exercise, easy to understand and follow through, the student doesn’t need major computer programs or high quality technology in order to complete each assignment. The design of each assignment is made to use your imaginations, hands on tools and materials. Love the videos, clear, to the point beautiful made. Lots of room to work and do something quite good and unique if the student want! I am really having fun!

Thank you!

创建者 SYED Q

Jul 18, 2017

I really like that course and I will try my best to do more. Its really Important for every Graphic Designer and becoming artist.

创建者 SADIA A

Nov 20, 2017

It's a great course

创建者 Kevin K

Sep 10, 2017

good materia

创建者 Muhammad A Y

Jan 31, 2018

i really thankful to coursera to give me this opportunity learn about specialization in graphics design

创建者 Lisa A C

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!