Chevron Left
返回到 Indigenous Canada

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Indigenous Canada 的评价和反馈

4.8
16,300 个评分
5,945 条评论

课程概述

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

热门审阅

LM
Oct 31, 2020

so grateful for the experience and the opportunity. I am richer for having participated. I am not interested in learning more about the indigenous people that lived/live in my area of the PNW (Oregon)

MD
Jul 2, 2021

This course was very interesting and very informative. Not only did it help correct stereotypes or prejudices, it showed a wide range of subjects pertaining to global and specific Indigenous cultures.

筛选依据:

5801 - Indigenous Canada 的 5825 个评论(共 6,156 个)

创建者 Jacob B

Nov 24, 2020

Educational and, I believe, very important to teach to youth to form a better worldview of the country we live in. Gives understanding to Canada's roots and origins.

创建者 April L

Dec 9, 2020

Great course, great starting place for self education. Everyone should really take this course to better understand Indigenous culture, traditions, art, and beliefs

创建者 Bonnie J

Dec 14, 2021

Thank you for making this course available. Having it online and free is an amazing opportunity. I have learned a lot and it encourages me to seek out much more.

创建者 Michelle

Jul 24, 2021

Wonderful journey to walk through from the beginning to current! I have learned much and my awareness and appreciation has enlarged with this community. Thank you.

创建者 Glenn W

Oct 1, 2020

Well done. There were a few technical issues. For example, one video (week 10, first video) had a question moment, but the answer came immediately after the quiz!

创建者 James M

Feb 14, 2019

I really liked the course because it represented a cultural evolution over the past several hundred years and I feel like I can be part of this new movement with .

创建者 Nadean S

Sep 2, 2020

I really liked it, and I got to go at my own pace. I already knew some FNMI information, but there were gaps. This helps solidify some general knowledge. Thanks!

创建者 Rod B

May 24, 2021

Very informative course. I currently do, and have worked with First Nation communities in Alberta and BC, for numerous years and this was very inciteful course.

创建者 Barbara G

Feb 12, 2021

Liked the format of this course and look forward to future studies. I would not hesitate to recommend Coursera to anyone interested in online courses/education.

创建者 Rhonda M

Jul 14, 2021

E​xtremely informative and well paced course. I only wish the subtitles had been more accurate as I tend to absorb the information better if I can read along.

创建者 George C

Jan 8, 2021

Good course, a little to much dedication to art, nothing on the 60 scoop, trafficking of Indigenous women, high rates on incarceration, how to work with youth.

创建者 Melanie B

Nov 24, 2020

I really enjoyed this course ! It definitely gave me a new perspective on Canada's history. Thank your for the opportunity. I highly recommend this course !

创建者 Andrea M

Jul 9, 2017

Some of the history oriented lectures were a bit difficult to follow, but overall this was an excellent survey course on the subject of Indigineity in Canada

创建者 Tanvir J

May 27, 2021

Very informative and I appreciated the units dedicated to feminism and art! Howver, I wish there wasn't so much overlap between the videos and the readings.

创建者 Angela M

May 7, 2021

So much amazing information. I was disappointed that many questions in the quizzes were ambiguous. There was often more than one potenitally correct answer.

创建者 Terry L S

Dec 20, 2020

This course sheds light onto a vast, historical, cultural, and conceptual landscape, providing insights and understanding valuable to contemporary society.

创建者 Colleen H

Aug 29, 2020

I am very disappointed that I, after completing the course and wanting to support this learning for others, would have to pay $66. to print a certificate.

创建者 Aneeshka V

Mar 20, 2019

Really great course. I definitely learned a lot. Best part is that you can take your time with it and it encourages you to delve deeper into these issues.

创建者 Gael W J

Jun 3, 2017

Excellent introduction of the history of the Indigenous peoples of Canada, influent topics that are relevant to today's world. So glad I took this course.

创建者 Jacqueline G

Sep 6, 2020

Great overview of Indigenous peoples' lived experience and perspective of our shared history. I have gained a better understanding and a more open mind.

创建者 Owokade S O

Jan 22, 2021

Its a nice course that gives you an insight into the history and background of Canada and its indigenous people and how they co-existed from inception.

创建者 France P

Feb 20, 2021

J'ai beaucoup de difficulté avec des choix multiples comme méthode d'évaluation. Les questions ne sont pas clairement posées ceci demande une revision.

创建者 Bryce B

Nov 18, 2020

The course was informational but could have been easier to learn from if there was more interaction and examples - rather than reading from a textbook.

创建者 Hanna

Nov 14, 2020

I wish that the content in the lectures varied a bit more from the written component. Great overview of information. Thank you for all your hard work!

创建者 Brian T

Aug 22, 2021

A good introductory course that's flexible and has you re-examining your basic middle school/high-school Canadian history through an Indigenous lens.