Chevron Left
返回到 Indigenous Canada

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Indigenous Canada 的评价和反馈

4.8
17,898 个评分
6,402 条评论

课程概述

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

热门审阅

MJ

Dec 8, 2020

Thanks for teaching me a lot about indigenous history in Canada. I am inspired to learn more. I just finished Chelsea Vowel’s book, Indigenous Writes and I’m currently reading the summary of the RCAP.

LJ

May 5, 2022

I really enjoyed this course. I liked that it was taught by indigenous peoples from their perspective. I feel much more confident in my knowledge regarding indigenous issues and traditions. Thank you!

筛选依据:

6126 - Indigenous Canada 的 6150 个评论(共 6,639 个)

创建者 Donna F

Jan 12, 2022

Great course but I never got a certificate that I paid for, and finding it difficult to contact anyone to assist this issue. There is no customer service help obvious on the website. Still searching for assistance. Reply emails are undeliverable.

创建者 Michael W

Dec 22, 2020

Hello!

I found this a very well done presentation. There was a lot to learn, and I particularly appreciated the inclusion of Dorion's artwork and her interpretation. It was a lovely accessory to the didactic part of the course. Thank you very much!

创建者 Damian N

Nov 11, 2020

Very informational. There are a handful of grammatical errors, and it's clearly a low-budget production. If you're interested in learning (even just a bit) about Indigenous people, and their shared history with Canada, this is a worthwhile course.

创建者 Adriana M

Jun 15, 2017

I found it educational, informative. It did move a part of me to shift my views and broaden my perspective of our First Nations, but I also felt the information provided the motivation to discover and ask questions about my own native ancestry.

创建者 Jeff D

Feb 28, 2021

The content and stories are great--thank you. I learned a lot.

The multiple choice questions are weakly constructed by pedagogical standards, and I'd recommend that you review their construction using best practices for multiple choice testing.

创建者 Jeremy S

Mar 17, 2022

Wonderful introduction into Canada's Indigenous Peoples, their culture, struggles , resiliance, and success. Recommend this course for any one wanting to work with Indigenous populations, or to thouse who want to refresh their knowlegde base.

创建者 Patricia L S

Feb 23, 2021

I learned a lot and would have liked a bit more detail to put things into context of what else was happening in Canada at the time. I also would have liked to see some of the art that the artists are famous or when you mentioned their names.

创建者 Debra S

Feb 22, 2022

T​he course was excellent. It is obvious that I have much more to learn. it would be helpful to perhaps add another module that brings the participant up to the current time as the content here is not static but continues to grow and evolve.

创建者 Virginie D V

Nov 21, 2020

Excellent course and well done. A suggestion to improve it would be to add more imagery and photos. For example, in week 12 module, when talking about the art pieces, it would be nice to see an image of them while they are being described.

创建者 Kai L

Apr 18, 2022

V​ery informative and helpful to gain an understanding of the history and legacy of colonialism. Provided excellent variety in the subject matter covered. Unfortunately, the use of mutliple choice questions for testing was very colonial.

创建者 Abiola O

Mar 7, 2021

As a new Canadian from the United Kingdom (I became a Canadian Permanent Resident on 1 January 2020), this course has been so useful and informative in teaching me about Canadian history. It has made me want to learn more about Canada.

创建者 Cole N

May 8, 2018

Really good overview of Indigenous history and culture in Canada. I thought there was a little bit too much focus in the questions on remembering names rather than important concepts, but I learned a lot and it challenged my worldview.

创建者 Maria D

Mar 20, 2022

As an immigrant myself, this course gave me a broader view of the First Nations and their contribution to Canada today. It also allowed me to confirm that we are indebted to the indigenous peoples and that we still have much to learn.

创建者 Timothy L

Oct 20, 2019

Excellent course with broad applicability for all Canadians, especially non-Indigenous Canadians looking to learn about Canada's relationship with Indigenous peoples. Could have used more groups discussion or interactive portions.

创建者 Jocelyn M

Feb 10, 2022

This was a great course to build on the little knowledge i had prior to taking the course. It really motivates you to want to dive in further and obtain more knowledge and understanding of the true experiences of indigenous people

创建者 Kate G

Dec 12, 2020

This course provided a path to deeper understanding of colonization issues. I am now able to understand the historical roots behind issues that affect indigenous communities today. In short, a solid education with great readings.

创建者 Stefanie T

Aug 27, 2019

I enjoyed the learning and the content, but the format became repetitive. it would have been nice to have other activities and types of presentations rather than just videos of people talking and a reading overview in each module.

创建者 Jacqueline S

Sep 4, 2017

It was very interesting but some videos were really long and difficult to understand. Plus the questions sometimes were trick questions which I personally don't think are really helpful with the learning and understanding process.

创建者 Dora S

Dec 2, 2020

I learned a great deal from the course. Some parts were a good historical refresher and while other parts were new and challenging. Most importantly the course challenged some old assumptions and provoked new perspectives for me.

创建者 Chad W

Oct 12, 2021

E​xcellent overview of Indigenous history, issues, and culture. Perhaps infusion of images and video of relevant material would make it more captivating? This could be a copyright issue but would make the course more stimulating

创建者 Harmen H H

Mar 16, 2019

Although the course was quite biased as it only showed one viewpoint, it was valuable in seeing the indigenous viewpoint of history. Hopefully we can all learn to get along with each other and to accept each others differences.

创建者 Neeltje S

Apr 11, 2022

liked the set up: the videos and variety of topics covered were impressive. Wish the dictation was rehearsed more prior to filming - pronounciation of simple words was frequently incorrect which is distracting and easily fixed.

创建者 Amy M

Sep 30, 2021

Very insightful. I would be interested in learning more about present day movements as well as indigenous influencers and educators.

I'd also like to learn more about how to be a better ally.

Thank you for the great opportunity.

创建者 Alrac S

Mar 13, 2021

Great course with a lot of info to build from for reference. I would have like to see more Canadian representation in the artists section since I am an artist and have many talented Indigenous artist friends here in Vancouver.

创建者 Colby J H

Jan 23, 2021

Provided a wider perspective on indigenous people and culture in Canada. Covered a wide number of aspects influencing the culture, the people and the ongoing relationship between indigenous peoples and more recent settlers.