Chevron Left
返回到 Industrial Biotechnology

学生对 曼彻斯特大学 提供的 Industrial Biotechnology 的评价和反馈

4.6
376 个评分
75 条评论

课程概述

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

热门审阅

JQ

Aug 07, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and although I am not a chemist nor a research biotech guy, I am a dentist that enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about industrial biotechnology. Thanks so much!

YH

Oct 30, 2017

It is a very interesting course that inspired my passion in industrial biotechnology. The introduced knowledge covers a wide range of fundamental science and applied technologies.

筛选依据:

51 - Industrial Biotechnology 的 74 个评论(共 74 个)

创建者 Anton Z

Sep 01, 2019

The course presents a comprehensive overview of significant Industrial Biotech achievements and most promising areas of study. The creators put great emphasis on genetic engineering opportunities. However, in the real enzyme world, true non-GMO enzymes can be perfectly applied in many cases, specifically in the food sector with very high yields and selectivity. I would love to see more specifics on how some certain enzymes were developed, how some certain genes were picked with a further tune-up of the downstream process. Overall, I enjoyed the course a lot, specifically the part about next-generation biofuels and biopharmaceutical synthesis.

创建者 Brendan C

Jan 28, 2019

Very informative and captivating course. I feel like my understanding of biotechnology is now at a point where I can pick up topics of interest to learn more at my leisure. I'd love to take another course like this.

Most of the lecturers were great, except for the glycoscience Prof., who just read out long wordy slides.

创建者 Miao L

Jan 22, 2019

Overall it's a great course to generally peek into Industrial Biotechnology. Since my major is biochemistry, this course is not difficult for me to catch up with. It's quite a good resource for academic researchers to broaden the horizons, especially in applications and real cases of their research.

创建者 Ahmed I H A M

Jan 09, 2018

I really loved this course, I gained more knowledge in terms of general industrial biotechnology. However, It would be tremendously helpful to put some examples of applied techniques in production of bio medicines.

创建者 Aditya V

May 18, 2019

Good overview of industrial biotechnology. I especially enjoyed the modules on bioprocessing, they were general enough to teach broadly applicable concepts. The later modules were a little too specific for me.

创建者 Bruno V F R

Feb 17, 2020

Please, note that the test to the 3rd week has lots of "X" marked at the end of some questions: the sames that are the correct showing the response before the students can even think about the questions.

创建者 Rute C

Oct 20, 2018

Several interesting topics are teached along the course, however the structure of the course seems to be a little bit disorganized in some of the weeks. Also, the videos could be more appealing.

创建者 Álvaro L A

Nov 04, 2019

Quizás demasiado básico en algunos aspectos, y por otro lado también ofrece demasiado ejemplos concretos...Lo mejor la cantidad de temas que abarca

创建者 Jianteng J H

Jan 29, 2020

I have learnt a lot out of what I expected. Working in a pharmaceutical sector, week 3 and week 6 lessons are my favorite.

创建者 1392051

Jul 27, 2017

Hello sir,

it will be more better if you add more examples in the sessions. overall it is very good part .

创建者 Alex L

Jun 24, 2018

Gained a broad understanding of the biotechnology field (methods of production, formulation, ect)

创建者 Rasťo J

May 08, 2018

the lectures about the structure of the medicines was a bit too much but over all quite good

创建者 Laura M P C

Dec 12, 2019

Muy interesante pero me hubiera gustado que den certificado por realizar el curso

创建者 Prajwal K P

Jul 29, 2019

fairly inquisitive course, great insights of industrial processes and approaches.

创建者 Svein E

Jan 20, 2019

This course should more acurrely , but has intersting facts

创建者 Abhishek k

Dec 12, 2019

I didn't get any certificate so little bit disappointed.

创建者 Rakesh P

Mar 15, 2018

this is really helpful for me for extra study

创建者 fosuprince

Nov 02, 2017

it an educative course. I luv it

创建者 Rajeswara R E

Oct 22, 2017

Good and informative course

创建者 Wael G E

Jan 28, 2020

a very nice course for a beginner like me to start understanding the wonderful world of biotechnology in industry. I would like to improve in this course is to offer a certificate of achievement.

创建者 Rory H

Aug 22, 2019

Some lectures where very good and very well presented, Others where unfollowable and too hard for a 'Beginners' course

创建者 Wong K H

May 16, 2018

Highly useful. But I wish there was an explanation for terms

创建者 Vedika N

Feb 02, 2020

i really like the course and it was quite informative

创建者 Nirmal K

Dec 30, 2019

No certification upgrade