Chevron Left
返回到 Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides

学生对 华盛顿大学 提供的 Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides 的评价和反馈

4.8
186 个评分
47 条评论

课程概述

In the professional realm, most speeches and presentations we give are informative in scope. A scientist needs to explain her recent research findings. A financial officer needs to report on quarterly earnings to his company’s board. A technology professional needs to educate a consumer about a new product. Any time you need to convey ideas or demonstrate a process, you’re dealing with informative speaking. Informative speaking is a fun puzzle. You need to think from the perspective of your audience to identify what they need to hear in order to understand the key ideas. How much does the audience already know? What are the most important elements to convey? How should one convey these ideas with appropriate breadth and depth given the time constraints of the speech? This demands a strategic approach to speech design that we’ll undertake in this class. By the end of the course, you should be able to explain complex ideas vividly and accessibly, design clear and compelling presentation slides, convey your passion for a topic while maintaining your professional credibility, and speak dynamically from notes and/or a manuscript. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

热门审阅

OS

May 03, 2020

Very informative and practical course.Very interesting and well structured course for building confident in public speaking and exercises are very interesting to keep learner on track.

JJ

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent lecture structure. The logical progression of the lessons made it easier to understand and grasp the key concepts of the course. I would recommend this course to everyone.

筛选依据:

26 - Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides 的 48 个评论(共 48 个)

创建者 Aisaule M

Apr 01, 2020

Very challenging and interesting course!

创建者 Pablo E

May 07, 2018

Very interesting and practical course.

创建者 Muhammed N A

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent. Matt is good teacher ever!

创建者 Muhammad A A

Oct 14, 2019

best course for personal development

创建者 Aakash J D

Jun 28, 2020

fortunate enough to have one

创建者 Linyan a

Apr 24, 2020

Very helpful and beneficial

创建者 nagendra

Jun 12, 2020

excellent course

创建者 M F

Jun 14, 2020

Soooo good!!

创建者 PATIL H R

Feb 13, 2020

i love that

创建者 Tadeo

May 14, 2020

Excellent

创建者 How

Jan 27, 2019

Completed

创建者 Priscila M

Jun 08, 2020

Great!

创建者 Mona A A

Jun 16, 2020

G

O

O

D

创建者 Rolandas R

May 31, 2017

L

创建者 Santosh S

Jul 30, 2017

Good course, particularly for informative speeches.

I am doctoral student nearing by thesis proposal, so I was wondering - how the course will help me to structure my presentation.

Though the course is helpful, but I would have loved little more treatment of such topics like presenting proposals, defense, data. This treatment is bit sketchy in the course.

However, I will highly recommend the course to any doctoral student or anyone who wish to get into academia.

创建者 Sarah R

Apr 22, 2020

Enjoyed doing the course. I think I have learned skills that will be very useful in future. It was good to engage in all the assignments as it really does help build confidence

创建者 Nguyen T T N

Jul 11, 2019

I prefer fewer peer-review

创建者 Palani T A

Jan 23, 2020

Very useful.

创建者 Huda M S A O

Mar 20, 2018

w

创建者 GIOSUE P

Jun 11, 2019

The course should provide less explanatory sessions and more practice-based tips.

The videos are often repetitive and do not provide enough ground on theories of perception - i.e. how are we perceived while we do something when we speak?

Mostly generic.

创建者 Thomas M

Feb 12, 2018

Don't know if the instructor was nervous or just not competent. Pretty much useless if you have any type of training in publich speaking.

1 He speaks WAY TOO fast...and seems nervous and insecure

2 No clear communication (which is funny as he is trying to teach you to communicate!)

3. Do not seem to understand the topic very well (typical Academia, who never actutally done any real work)

创建者 mohit

Mar 19, 2018

This course could be made more interactive and informative.

创建者 PINJARI S A S A

Feb 01, 2020

good