Chevron Left
返回到 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

学生对 莱顿大学 提供的 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的评价和反馈

4.8
905 个评分
201 条评论

课程概述

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

热门审阅

AK
Dec 14, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS
May 30, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

筛选依据:

26 - International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的 50 个评论(共 199 个)

创建者 Bešir I

Mar 21, 2020

This was my first online course and I am very pleased with this kind of education and learning. It is interesting and a huge advantage is that you have an opportunity to access the course whenever you want. I am sure I will attend many more courses, especially because of positive experience on this one. I recommend it!

创建者 Marlon G

Nov 6, 2020

It's enlightening to learn more about IHL. It really opened more horizons to explore and act more towards realization of IHL concepts and principles. You'll be more confident in dealing with realities of life in the communities we belong. Looking forward to continue this learning platform for the welfare of mankind.

创建者 Katie S

Jul 11, 2020

I learned a lot from this course, content that will be relevant for me in my pursuit of a specialized graduate degree and in my career. I would recommend to those beginning the course to plan on the weekly assignments taking a bit longer than indicated if you want to get through all of the readings. Time well spent!

创建者 Molly A W

Oct 19, 2019

I completely loved this course and I learnt so much about IHL and how its put into practice and it has helped me realize that I really want to study Law and so I am now applying for Bachelors Programs at various universities in The Netherlands and Ireland, my dream is now to become a Human Rights Lawyer.

创建者 Giuliano G

Nov 8, 2020

Basic but comprehensive and well organized course. Main IHL topics are covered and textbook and optional readings offer an extensive possibility for further understanding and experience. Excellent level of instructors and experts insights contributions; Leiden University IHL vocation is well renowned

创建者 Cassandra B

Apr 19, 2019

The course explores all the main components of IHL. However it also introduces the student to contemporary issues and challenges in IHL. It is very didactic with the case study on Arfula. Explanations are great and all the professors interesting. I like the fact to have podacts with visiting experts.

创建者 Abhijit B

Apr 18, 2020

As an educator I learnt a lot about how to structure a course whereby both, persons who are just starting out with the subject and persons who have some experience with the subject, can be be effectively engaged. I humbly express my gratitude and congratulations to the entire team of professors.

创建者 Camille N D

Oct 29, 2020

This course provided the opportunity for a clear understanding of International Humanitarian Law. I especially liked the podcast interviews. I found these to be quite practical in giving the real time experiences of modern day professionals in the field. I would do another course with Coursera.

创建者 Didem

Dec 14, 2018

absolutely I have learned a lot. I'm now thinking to learn much more about IHL and write an article about it. I loved teachers and the way that they explains very serious subjects to us. I hope I can be there, in Leiden, in The Hague :) again, thank you all. I am really grateful.

创建者 Rick a D N V

Jan 18, 2019

Excellent course! Objective material with well-prepared teachers. All exercises and activities are practical, with a very good theoretical basis. The "Arfula Case" is the icing on the cake, inasmuch as it presents an stimulating and pedagogical option to deepen knowledge about IHL.

创建者 Estíbaliz C

May 3, 2020

Este curso realmente me ha servido como base para conocer el DIH y su marco de aplicación. Los cuestionarios de caso con el ejemplo de Arfula han servido para ilustrar cómo se aplicarían estas leyes en un conflicto real. 100% recomendable, haré más cursos de este tipo sin duda!

创建者 Gabriela G N

Jul 12, 2019

It's been such an easy way to learn a lot about IHL!, even if your academic background is very low or not related at any point, you will find flexible and high quality interviews, lectures and additional material to learn as much as you can, noticing your progress week by week.

创建者 Despina K

May 18, 2019

Excellent organIsation and categorisation of the modules. Very important and enlightening course for all of us who try to keep up the law in every range. Your university made the so called achievement on education on IHL, especially in nowadays worldwide warlike circumstances.

创建者 Ramses M

Aug 11, 2020

This course is expertly taught by professors from institutes centered around IHL. In other words, they know their stuff. This is an excellent introduction to IHL, and covers a good deal of its foundation. Greatly deepened my interest in the subject. The instructors are great!

创建者 Karl B P A

Jan 5, 2020

Leiden U's IHL course offered broad and current perspectives alongside in-depth discussion of the different laws constituting the entire body of IHL. I felt comfortable with the mixed activities encouraging retention of knowledge, as well as discussion with peers.

创建者 Amina Z

Aug 12, 2019

Really enjoyed it! Completed 5 weeks in one! Is suitable for both those who already have some knowledge of IHL and those who just start getting familiar with it. Many thanks to all the people who worked on this course and made it available for us! Best of luck!

创建者 Lyhak C

Nov 25, 2019

This course provides a very interesting outline for students like me to easily understand the whole purpose of the course which makes me feel influenced by everything they have prepared. I suggest students who want to improve their IHL apply for this course.

创建者 Aruna P

Nov 14, 2019

This is a course everyone and anyone should take to understand what exists in terms of law. With the increasing number of armed conflict happening around the world, this course can help nation and states at war prevent from committing massive human casualty.

创建者 Michael M

Feb 26, 2020

The course is really fascinating and those who are interested in pursuing career in humanitarian field shall do it! The complexity of this course captured my mind. However, every single detail is explained in plain language. So do it and you won't regret!

创建者 ABU M Z

Mar 26, 2020

The whole experience was very good, learned about international humanitarian laws, practice and implementation. I hope it will develop skill and fill some motivation in me to work with Red cross/Red crescent movement and shape my career widely.

创建者 Gabriel M D

Oct 28, 2019

Very interesting and well-organized course. It serves as an exceptional introductory arena for future scholars and practitioners in the realm of IHL. The texts suggested are also a necessary tool for a more deep understanding of the subject.

创建者 pearl a l

Dec 9, 2018

A very well designed course - easy to understand and follow especially for non-lawyer like me. The arfula case study is challenging and an engaging application of laws/theories presented in the course. Thank you to all our lecturers.

创建者 Birte B

Dec 29, 2018

This is an excellent course. Unfortunatetly I could not finish it before the deadline, as I am taking this court for fun, besides working. I was not able to find out whether I can download the course somehow to finish it later on.

创建者 Гостев Ф А

Oct 27, 2020

A very good basic course on the IHL. Good structure and content, very helpful to set the foundation. Features a great amount of linked sources, interesting further readings, podcast interviews etc, which is worth your time.

创建者 Aditia B S

Jan 22, 2020

Really helping me to understand what International Humanitarian Law, this course acquire more some knowledges and law-vocabulary in the same time. It's appropriate with you who want to learn more about international law