Chevron Left
返回到 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

学生对 莱顿大学 提供的 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的评价和反馈

4.8
945 个评分
207 条评论

课程概述

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

热门审阅

AK
Dec 14, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS
May 30, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

筛选依据:

76 - International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的 100 个评论(共 205 个)

创建者 Ewa R

Jul 31, 2019

Very comprehensive course, which helped me to systematize my knowledge. I definitely recommend it, and am thankful for the possibility to take it!

创建者 Chris S

Feb 17, 2020

i do like this course and you do can learn something if you study this course hard, it also expands and renovates my knowledge to IHL!! i like it

创建者 Wayne A T

May 31, 2020

This course is great. Thank You to all those who made this online course possible and for sparing your time to us who participated. Mabuhay!!!

创建者 Amanda F O

May 11, 2019

Enlightening and complete, this course is a great option for anyone who wants to learn important concepts of IHL. I strongly recommend it.

创建者 Aimé B

Nov 17, 2019

Very clear, straight to the point. With basic knowledge I acquired, I aim to learn more through the additional recommended readings.

创建者 Jana C R

Feb 24, 2019

An excellent primer on international humanitarian law with useful reading material and interesting interviews with practitioners.

创建者 Diego R V A

Jun 28, 2020

Excelente curso y las temáticas verificadas enb un dinámico material de estudio. Muy actualizados los profesores. Muchas gracias

创建者 Nico

Oct 18, 2019

Great course to get an introduction to IHL. I recommend it to anyone who wants to have a basic knowledge of the field.

创建者 Aanchal K

May 2, 2019

Wonderful Course! Helped me a lot in understanding International Humanitarian Law. Podcasts were my favourite part :)

创建者 stella r

Feb 7, 2020

This Course equipped me with knowledge and materials I needed to further deepen my knowledge of IHL. I am grateful.

创建者 Isibor K N

May 17, 2019

Wonderful. Simply wonderful!! Although I recommend more topics in the future, like the "responsibility to protect".

创建者 Michaela E

Apr 26, 2020

Course was very engaging and I feel I have gained a lot of usefule knowledge in terms of IHL and its application.

创建者 Sophie M

Mar 17, 2019

This course was truly amazing! Very thorough- I learned a lot! Definitely am going to take another Leiden course!

创建者 ABOG. Y M A G

Jan 12, 2020

Excellent course, very interesting, and the best thing is that it tests your knowledge in theory and practice.

创建者 Khalaf M I

Jul 5, 2020

top stuff, amazing course and very good interviews with professional people who knows about the subject well.

创建者 Poliane m a

Sep 26, 2020

Pensar com o todo ampliando a visão de diversos ângulos e checando os registros em suas etapas do processo.

创建者 Virginia M C

Jun 16, 2020

Great way to get a general and somehow more specific knowledge of IHL and war conflicts. It was inspiring

创建者 Samson K

Dec 20, 2018

Am already impressed with the introductory animations and notes, it's an awesome course worth a take👌👏

创建者 Charvi D

Jun 3, 2020

I was a truest enlightening experience.It Dave critical and analytical view of each and every concept.

创建者 Sergio P C

Jun 13, 2020

Recomendable, es una excelente herramienta para la introducción al Derecho internacional humanitario

创建者 ANIAGOH E U

Jun 5, 2020

Fantastic course delivered exquisitely by season lecturers.

All round knowledge on IHL is certain.

创建者 Sebastian S

Jul 8, 2020

Excellent course and I would recommend it to anyone interested in International Humanitarian Law

创建者 Claudia A P L

Sep 19, 2019

Excelente curso , ya que estudias diferentes corrientes del derecho internacional humanitario.

创建者 Guillermina V

Jun 17, 2020

An excellent method of teaching and a very accessible opportunity as an introduction to IHL!

创建者 Muhammad A A

Jun 28, 2020

This is a great course to gain fundamental understanding of International Humanitarian Law.