Chevron Left
返回到 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

学生对 莱顿大学 提供的 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的评价和反馈

4.8
794 个评分
182 条评论

课程概述

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

热门审阅

AK

Dec 15, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS

May 31, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

筛选依据:

76 - International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的 100 个评论(共 181 个)

创建者 Isibor K N

May 18, 2019

Wonderful. Simply wonderful!! Although I recommend more topics in the future, like the "responsibility to protect".

创建者 Michaela E

Apr 26, 2020

Course was very engaging and I feel I have gained a lot of usefule knowledge in terms of IHL and its application.

创建者 Sophie M

Mar 17, 2019

This course was truly amazing! Very thorough- I learned a lot! Definitely am going to take another Leiden course!

创建者 ABOG. Y M A G

Jan 13, 2020

Excellent course, very interesting, and the best thing is that it tests your knowledge in theory and practice.

创建者 Khalaf M I

Jul 05, 2020

top stuff, amazing course and very good interviews with professional people who knows about the subject well.

创建者 Virginia M C

Jun 16, 2020

Great way to get a general and somehow more specific knowledge of IHL and war conflicts. It was inspiring

创建者 Samson K

Dec 20, 2018

Am already impressed with the introductory animations and notes, it's an awesome course worth a take👌👏

创建者 Charvi D

Jun 04, 2020

I was a truest enlightening experience.It Dave critical and analytical view of each and every concept.

创建者 Sergio P C

Jun 14, 2020

Recomendable, es una excelente herramienta para la introducción al Derecho internacional humanitario

创建者 ANIAGOH E U

Jun 05, 2020

Fantastic course delivered exquisitely by season lecturers.

All round knowledge on IHL is certain.

创建者 Sebastian S

Jul 08, 2020

Excellent course and I would recommend it to anyone interested in International Humanitarian Law

创建者 Claudia A P L

Sep 20, 2019

Excelente curso , ya que estudias diferentes corrientes del derecho internacional humanitario.

创建者 Guillermina V

Jun 17, 2020

An excellent method of teaching and a very accessible opportunity as an introduction to IHL!

创建者 Muhammad A A

Jun 28, 2020

This is a great course to gain fundamental understanding of International Humanitarian Law.

创建者 Muhammad i R

Oct 25, 2019

Indeed a prestigious to gain a firm foundation of Humanitarian LAW and its implementation.

创建者 Musa O

Sep 09, 2019

I am learning something new under this great course recommended by Prof. Blessing Lawal

创建者 Göktürk D

Dec 23, 2018

It was a nice and helpful course. Podcasts are better if the transcripts are published.

创建者 Pablo A M G

Jul 01, 2020

Thanks, this course was excellent, the information was important to learn and apply.

创建者 Imtiaz B

May 28, 2020

Tremendously outstanding Course with perfectly complete Syllabuse and best faculty.

创建者 Juan J A

May 05, 2020

excelente, los materiales del curso son muy completos, y el aprendizaje es mucho

创建者 LENGA A

Jul 19, 2020

Thank's to Pr. Robert Heinsch and his team, this course was really interesting!

创建者 Sri N

Feb 05, 2020

Its very interesting course. upload some easy materials.and upload more videos

创建者 Nikki V

May 19, 2020

Was very helpful and I enjoyed a lot. It gave me a basic background in IHL...

创建者 Vanessa L O R

Jun 25, 2020

Muy buen curso. Aprendí muchísimo de teoría y terminología respecto al tema.

创建者 Trisita P

Apr 16, 2020

very precise and to the point learning materials. Very well designed course.