Chevron Left
返回到 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

学生对 莱顿大学 提供的 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的评价和反馈

4.8
794 个评分
182 条评论

课程概述

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

热门审阅

AK

Dec 15, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS

May 31, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

筛选依据:

151 - International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的 175 个评论(共 180 个)

创建者 Hafiz M A

Jun 03, 2019

Best.

创建者 G s

May 21, 2020

Good

创建者 Hamdan M M A

Apr 22, 2020

Good

创建者 Anthony O ( L

Jul 05, 2019

T

o

s

t

a

r

t

w

I

t

h

,

I

d

I

d

a

n

d

c

o

m

p

l

e

t

e

e

d

e

v

e

r

y

a

s

p

e

c

t

o

f

t

h

e

I

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

,

t

o

m

y

s

u

p

r

I

s

e

I

a

m

s

e

e

I

n

g

a

r

e

a

s

a

d

j

u

d

h

e

d

u

n

c

o

m

p

l

e

t

e

.

T

h

I

s

I

s

I

n

d

I

c

a

t

I

v

e

t

h

e

r

e

I

s

a

n

I

a

n

t

e

c

h

n

I

c

a

l

I

s

s

u

e

w

I

t

h

t

h

e

s

I

t

e

.

A

l

s

o

,

t

h

e

r

e

a

r

e

t

w

o

p

o

r

t

I

o

n

s

o

n

A

f

u

l

a

w

a

I

t

I

n

g

c

o

m

p

l

e

t

I

o

n

a

s

b

ag the Honours Certificate. Nothing of such had been brought to my knowledge. I would like to see such indicated on my profile so I could get those done and over with. In all, I admire this programme a great deal, and envisage it will go on to enhance my chance being gainfully employed. I would equally appreciate hard copy of my original Certificate post to my door step ( mail box). I would also welcome counselling on way forward, -what I need do next to improve upon myself. Such should be within the legal studies and gainful employment. Let me also use this opportunity say a big thank you to the tutors and organizers that made this programme possible. It was educative, informative and most intriguing, I appreciate you all. Regards. Anthony Ogbeide (DipHe Laws).

创建者 Luca P

Jun 20, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It gave me some basic tools and overview of law framework which now allow me to have a better understanding war conflict situation in which IHL apply and how.

It was particularly useful for me to have the chance to download the text of the videos in order to have the chance to read what was said in the videos. Thanks to all the coordinators to put togheter all the materials!

创建者 J P W

Dec 22, 2018

Outstanding course. The materials was clear and well presented. Some of the quiz questions could have been clearer. The presentation takes into account the advances and positive aspects of IHL, but in some respects fails to recognize the inherent flaws relating to implementation and enforcement in the face of a new and ambiguous transnational type of armed conflict.

创建者 Jon S

Mar 16, 2019

Very easy to follow and to learn for a non-law person. However, I had one issue with the quizes. When the ansers were wrong it was very hard to see or learn why it was wrong other than going back to the curriculum. I don't necessarily have a problem with that but would find it interesting if there was a better means to ensure learning efficiency.

创建者 Sudhir P

May 21, 2020

Very good exposure to many deeper facets of International Humanitarian Law. Easy paced and well structured, the readings that I was exposed to was the major takeaway. If there is one thing that is missing is automatic scrolling of video transcripts as in Lynda.Com now Linked Learning and transcripts of the audio lectures.

创建者 Emayaval N

Jan 16, 2019

I found the course helpful. It would have been better if all the details have been covered in the video lectures instead of making it necessary to read book. I found that the books had few extra information that was not covered in the video.

创建者 Diabe M P D

May 28, 2019

Thank you Coursera, through this forum i have learnt a lot i never thought was possible. the good thing with this is that you can learnt anywhere, anytime, and at your own pace and time. i will highly recommend this forum to anyone.

创建者 Nymoom S

Apr 29, 2020

I have had a tremendous experience taking the course. Because the contents were so articulately decorated and the instructors were very deliberate in response to giving lectures. Learnt a lot.

创建者 Derek D (

Jun 06, 2020

A good basic course, but with some questions to the academic gap between videos and the comprehensive material which can be downloaded.

The general impression is, however, very good

创建者 Mary B

Sep 14, 2019

The course could have been more interactive and the discussion forums better managed, but overall the content was very good and I was able to gain a sound basic knowledge of IHL.

创建者 Abu B J

Jun 11, 2020

I had an amazing experience learning about the International Humanitarian Law and look forward to more such online courses through Coursera !!

创建者 Amin Z

Nov 28, 2019

Please add more topics, videos and materials to this course. It seems some important issues in IHL have not been discussed. Thanks.

创建者 Joanna H

May 28, 2020

Great introductory course. Highly recommended for those without earlier experience but interested in IH

创建者 Sonia K

Apr 07, 2020

Very good course for the basic concepts of IHL. I enjoyed the lectures and podcasts with experts.

创建者 Tufurahi R E

Mar 19, 2020

I appreciate the way this MOOC is designed to quench thirst of readers who are committed to learn

创建者 Malou v B

May 01, 2019

I helpful, easy way to learn more about IHL. Great level and doable hours. Thank you!

创建者 MBIANYOR B A J

Mar 15, 2020

A great course to understand the technicalities of International Humanitarian Law.

创建者 Yasmin E

Jun 15, 2020

Recommending this course especially if you want more knowledge about IHL.

创建者 Aurora S

May 01, 2020

Very clear and weel structured. It gives a good insights on the topic

创建者 Maria A M

Jan 28, 2020

I am having problems with uploading my assignments and posts

创建者 Anjali S

Oct 14, 2019

This course gave me a good foundation to IHL.

创建者 Dumisani B

Aug 15, 2019

very good course