Chevron Left
返回到 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

学生对 莱顿大学 提供的 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的评价和反馈

4.8
806 个评分
185 条评论

课程概述

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

热门审阅

AK

Dec 15, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS

May 31, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

筛选依据:

51 - International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的 75 个评论(共 183 个)

创建者 Gisela A C R

Jul 10, 2019

I enjoyed this course immensely. There is enough material as well as additional material to delve deeper into the content of the course. I will definitely recomend this course.

创建者 Daniil B

Apr 07, 2020

That's an incredibly interesting course, it can make you interested in Humanitarian Law if you've never heard of it. I was enjoying all the time I participated in the course!

创建者 Patience M N

Jun 12, 2019

I'm enjoying the course. The quiz part is brainstorming as it mandates and allows one to pay attention to the detail in the explanations given.

Thank you for this course.

创建者 Ajay R

Jun 20, 2020

The best course to understand the basics of International Humanitarian Laws. The tutors have remarkably succeeded in making this subject quite interesting and engaging.

创建者 Elena V

Mar 22, 2020

It was the most interesting course of Coursera. I'm specialised in IHL for 2 years and notwithstanding this fact I found out many important things. Thank you very much!

创建者 Daniela D

Mar 14, 2019

Es un curso excelente, te ponen casos practicos para que los estudies y te indican en donde se encuentras la normas de DIH, así como su explicación e interpretación

创建者 Johnny E

Jun 10, 2019

This is a nice course, It helps me open many ideas about International Humanitarian Law and the role of this IHL for every individual and for a society in general.

创建者 Jose S M

Jun 28, 2020

Excellent course to understand International Humanitarian Law. This will help a lot in my teaching of Constitutional Law and International Law. Thanks and cheers!

创建者 Olena N

Dec 28, 2019

I Liked this course. I do recommend International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice for all who interested in International Humanitarian Law. Many thanks.

创建者 Avinash S

Jun 06, 2019

excellent course for the understanding of the international humanitarian law both for academicians and practitioners to begin a further study on the subject.

创建者 Malu C

Jul 28, 2019

This course has helped me for a better understanding of the International Humanitarian Law, its implementation and enforcement. It will help me in my career

创建者 Andreea I

Jan 30, 2019

This course is very well structured and the video lessons are thoroughly explained, in a language for anyone to understand. I am really enjoying it so far!!

创建者 Charlotte E

Oct 04, 2019

Really interesting, through and enjoyable course. So much to learn but really gives you the insight into the complexities and obstacles to consider in IHL.

创建者 Soumaya

Jun 07, 2020

I am absolutly delighted with this course! I have gained a great understanding of IHL and it did broaden my perspective of law in war times.

Thank you!

创建者 Maroof R

Aug 19, 2019

Though it was my first MOOC, but the kind of which made me interested for more electronic self-education! Indeed a perfect website to excel and thrive!

创建者 Tofail A

Sep 28, 2019

As a humanitarian, it's a highly demanded course to me. Will put in my practice and so on the "International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice"

创建者 Ewa R

Jul 31, 2019

Very comprehensive course, which helped me to systematize my knowledge. I definitely recommend it, and am thankful for the possibility to take it!

创建者 Chris S

Feb 18, 2020

i do like this course and you do can learn something if you study this course hard, it also expands and renovates my knowledge to IHL!! i like it

创建者 Wayne A T

May 31, 2020

This course is great. Thank You to all those who made this online course possible and for sparing your time to us who participated. Mabuhay!!!

创建者 Amanda F O

May 11, 2019

Enlightening and complete, this course is a great option for anyone who wants to learn important concepts of IHL. I strongly recommend it.

创建者 Aimé B

Nov 17, 2019

Very clear, straight to the point. With basic knowledge I acquired, I aim to learn more through the additional recommended readings.

创建者 Jana C R

Feb 24, 2019

An excellent primer on international humanitarian law with useful reading material and interesting interviews with practitioners.

创建者 Diego R V A

Jun 28, 2020

Excelente curso y las temáticas verificadas enb un dinámico material de estudio. Muy actualizados los profesores. Muchas gracias

创建者 Nico

Oct 18, 2019

Great course to get an introduction to IHL. I recommend it to anyone who wants to have a basic knowledge of the field.

创建者 Aanchal K

May 03, 2019

Wonderful Course! Helped me a lot in understanding International Humanitarian Law. Podcasts were my favourite part :)