Chevron Left
返回到 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

学生对 莱顿大学 提供的 International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的评价和反馈

4.8
755 个评分
176 条评论

课程概述

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

热门审阅

AK

Dec 15, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS

May 31, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

筛选依据:

26 - International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice 的 50 个评论(共 175 个)

创建者 Didem

Dec 14, 2018

absolutely I have learned a lot. I'm now thinking to learn much more about IHL and write an article about it. I loved teachers and the way that they explains very serious subjects to us. I hope I can be there, in Leiden, in The Hague :) again, thank you all. I am really grateful.

创建者 Rick a D N V

Jan 19, 2019

Excellent course! Objective material with well-prepared teachers. All exercises and activities are practical, with a very good theoretical basis. The "Arfula Case" is the icing on the cake, inasmuch as it presents an stimulating and pedagogical option to deepen knowledge about IHL.

创建者 Estíbaliz C

May 03, 2020

Este curso realmente me ha servido como base para conocer el DIH y su marco de aplicación. Los cuestionarios de caso con el ejemplo de Arfula han servido para ilustrar cómo se aplicarían estas leyes en un conflicto real. 100% recomendable, haré más cursos de este tipo sin duda!

创建者 Gabriela G N

Jul 12, 2019

It's been such an easy way to learn a lot about IHL!, even if your academic background is very low or not related at any point, you will find flexible and high quality interviews, lectures and additional material to learn as much as you can, noticing your progress week by week.

创建者 Despina K

May 18, 2019

Excellent organIsation and categorisation of the modules. Very important and enlightening course for all of us who try to keep up the law in every range. Your university made the so called achievement on education on IHL, especially in nowadays worldwide warlike circumstances.

创建者 Karl B P A

Jan 06, 2020

Leiden U's IHL course offered broad and current perspectives alongside in-depth discussion of the different laws constituting the entire body of IHL. I felt comfortable with the mixed activities encouraging retention of knowledge, as well as discussion with peers.

创建者 Amina Z

Aug 12, 2019

Really enjoyed it! Completed 5 weeks in one! Is suitable for both those who already have some knowledge of IHL and those who just start getting familiar with it. Many thanks to all the people who worked on this course and made it available for us! Best of luck!

创建者 Lyhak C

Nov 25, 2019

This course provides a very interesting outline for students like me to easily understand the whole purpose of the course which makes me feel influenced by everything they have prepared. I suggest students who want to improve their IHL apply for this course.

创建者 Aruna P

Nov 14, 2019

This is a course everyone and anyone should take to understand what exists in terms of law. With the increasing number of armed conflict happening around the world, this course can help nation and states at war prevent from committing massive human casualty.

创建者 Michael M

Feb 26, 2020

The course is really fascinating and those who are interested in pursuing career in humanitarian field shall do it! The complexity of this course captured my mind. However, every single detail is explained in plain language. So do it and you won't regret!

创建者 ABU M Z

Mar 26, 2020

The whole experience was very good, learned about international humanitarian laws, practice and implementation. I hope it will develop skill and fill some motivation in me to work with Red cross/Red crescent movement and shape my career widely.

创建者 Gabriel M D

Oct 28, 2019

Very interesting and well-organized course. It serves as an exceptional introductory arena for future scholars and practitioners in the realm of IHL. The texts suggested are also a necessary tool for a more deep understanding of the subject.

创建者 pearl a l

Dec 10, 2018

A very well designed course - easy to understand and follow especially for non-lawyer like me. The arfula case study is challenging and an engaging application of laws/theories presented in the course. Thank you to all our lecturers.

创建者 Birte B

Dec 29, 2018

This is an excellent course. Unfortunatetly I could not finish it before the deadline, as I am taking this court for fun, besides working. I was not able to find out whether I can download the course somehow to finish it later on.

创建者 Aditia B S

Jan 23, 2020

Really helping me to understand what International Humanitarian Law, this course acquire more some knowledges and law-vocabulary in the same time. It's appropriate with you who want to learn more about international law

创建者 Stacey B

May 09, 2020

A truly insightful course which gives you a good introduction to IHL in theory and in practice, especially for those with no background on the topic. Every concept is well-explained and the content is rich as well.

创建者 Marina T d M F

Mar 12, 2020

It's a privilege to have access to this content. I had a clear understanding of the mechanisms of IHL and how they differ from regular international law and hopefully can apply it further on my education.

创建者 Amanjeet K

Dec 15, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

创建者 Vaibhav S

May 31, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

创建者 Elvira M J

Nov 24, 2019

A complete and highly recommendable MOOC: enjoyable, with accurate readings, video training, podcasts and a case study that is being extended with each module. I recommend it without a doubt.

创建者 Samantha D

Jun 04, 2020

I really enjoyed the flow of the videos and modules, also the teachers were easy to listen to and understand. The podcasts with important figures in the field were an excellent bonus!

创建者 Elisa B

Dec 26, 2018

Really interesting course, well-organised and full of useful information. Thank you to all the Course Team for making it so enjoyable to learn so much about such a complex subject.

创建者 Gisela A C R

Jul 10, 2019

I enjoyed this course immensely. There is enough material as well as additional material to delve deeper into the content of the course. I will definitely recomend this course.

创建者 Daniil B

Apr 07, 2020

That's an incredibly interesting course, it can make you interested in Humanitarian Law if you've never heard of it. I was enjoying all the time I participated in the course!

创建者 Patience M N

Jun 12, 2019

I'm enjoying the course. The quiz part is brainstorming as it mandates and allows one to pay attention to the detail in the explanations given.

Thank you for this course.