Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization 的评价和反馈

4.8
375 个评分
65 条评论

课程概述

Accounting has always been about analytical thinking. From the earliest days of the profession, Luca Pacioli emphasized the importance of math and order for analyzing business transactions. The skillset that accountants have needed to perform math and to keep order has evolved from pencil and paper, to typewriters and calculators, then to spreadsheets and accounting software. A new skillset that is becoming more important for nearly every aspect of business is that of big data analytics: analyzing large amounts of data to find actionable insights. This course is designed to help accounting students develop an analytical mindset and prepare them to use data analytic programming languages like Python and R. We’ve divided the course into three main sections. In the first section, we bridge accountancy to analytics. We identify how tasks in the five major subdomains of accounting (i.e., financial, managerial, audit, tax, and systems) have historically required an analytical mindset, and we then explore how those tasks can be completed more effectively and efficiently by using big data analytics. We then present a FACT framework for guiding big data analytics: Frame a question, Assemble data, Calculate the data, and Tell others about the results. In the second section of the course, we emphasize the importance of assembling data. Using financial statement data, we explain desirable characteristics of both data and datasets that will lead to effective calculations and visualizations. In the third, and largest section of the course, we demonstrate and explore how Excel and Tableau can be used to analyze big data. We describe visual perception principles and then apply those principles to create effective visualizations. We then examine fundamental data analytic tools, such as regression, linear programming (using Excel Solver), and clustering in the context of point of sale data and loan data. We conclude by demonstrating the power of data analytic programming languages to assemble, visualize, and analyze data. We introduce Visual Basic for Applications as an example of a programming language, and the Visual Basic Editor as an example of an integrated development environment (IDE)....

热门审阅

YH

May 30, 2020

It teaches us the basics of data analytics and it is very progressive. There are assignments to help us understand and practice the methods being taught. This allows us to have first-hand experiences.

CT

Nov 6, 2021

I have learn a lot of solid knowledge about Data Visualization, Excel VBA, and programming hints from this course. I recommend this course to those who wants to skill up on Excel and Data analytic.

筛选依据:

26 - Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization 的 50 个评论(共 66 个)

创建者 Lee Y

Jun 3, 2020

The lecturer is very concise and goes through concepts in depth by showing examples that build on top of previous knowledge and used dataset that was previously introduced.

创建者 Michael J

Dec 18, 2020

Instruction was clear and I found all of the information presented to be useful in my current work with Excel spreadsheets. Now I'm keen to learn Python!

创建者 Toh P Q

Sep 27, 2020

For a beginner at excel, this course really teaches you a lot about data visualisation and organising data in excel and other similar applications.

创建者 Raji R

Aug 24, 2020

Excellent course. I loved it from the beginning to the end. Enjoyed throughly the two assignments. Professor teaching skill is increadible

创建者 Annabelle S S Z

Sep 20, 2020

Love the enthusiasm of the professor Ronald Guymon and the module helps me with learning more about the use of Excel and its VBA functions

创建者 GOH K Y

Jul 9, 2020

Being the first online module I've ever taken to date, the content and videos far surpassed my expectations. Looking forward to more!

创建者 Jaslyn L

Jul 9, 2020

This is a really helpful course! I have learned not only about using Excel for accounting, but also the many functions of Excel.

创建者 Jacob S

May 20, 2021

It was really good.

Actually, before week 7, general contents are a bit tedious, but week 7 and 8 was perfect.

Thank you so much

创建者 Sithandazile Z D

Sep 2, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and the lecture was very interactive, clear & precise in such a way i felt i was in a classroom.

创建者 Chiam Z S

Jun 1, 2020

The two lab sessions were useful and the speaker was well present himself and his points making it easy to understand him.

创建者 Goh J Y D

Aug 12, 2020

The course enables its learners to get a hands-on experience using tools to accounting data analytics and visualisation.

创建者 Fabian T

Jul 5, 2020

Excellent and interesting videos, not too long but not too short. Lengthy enough to be very informational and helpful.

创建者 Jesús A S G

Feb 2, 2022

enought materials, good teacher, I feel confident just want to keep learning about interpreting the numbers/data

创建者 Jurgita Z

Jul 19, 2020

This course is so useful. The instructor is awesome!

I am very happy to have attended this cours. Thanks!

创建者 Edmund K C H

Jul 20, 2020

Enriching course that really helps brings new comers into the world of data analytics and visualization

创建者 Muhammad A B A R

Jun 25, 2020

It provides a lot of hands on example that really help with the explanation of the concepts taught

创建者 Mutra T T W K

Jul 16, 2020

Great overview of data analytics. Teaches you basic tools that can be useful for basic analysis.

创建者 Loh D W

May 27, 2020

Interesting course for students willing to learn more about analytics for accounting

创建者 Kyoungmo K

Oct 22, 2021

Great course to transform traditional mindset of accounting into data analytics

创建者 Phoa J L

May 31, 2020

A course with an excellent overview of data analytics suitable for beginners.

创建者 Lim T F

Aug 11, 2020

Fantastic course with many infomative videos which is really helpful.

创建者 Chow K M

Jun 17, 2021

G​reat introduction to the basics of data analysis using Excel.

创建者 Manmohan D

Nov 10, 2021

Covered a wide range of topics in a brief and clear manner !

创建者 Ouyang Y

Jul 9, 2020

The course outline is clear and the contents are useful.

创建者 Gilda H

Nov 3, 2020

Great course, great professor, great learning platform.