Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to numerical analysis

学生对 俄罗斯国家研究型高等经济大学 提供的 Introduction to numerical analysis 的评价和反馈

4.7
317 个评分
43 条评论

课程概述

Numerical computations historically play a crucial role in natural sciences and engineering. These days however, it’s not only traditional «hard sciences»: whether you do digital humanities or biotechnology, whether you design novel materials or build artificial intelligence systems, virtually any quantitative work involves some amount of numerical computing . These days, you hardly ever implement the whole computation yourselves from scratch. We rely on libraries which package tried-and-tested, battle-hardened numerical primitives. It is vanishingly rare however that a library contains a single pre-packaged routine which does all what you need. Numerical computing involves assembling these building blocks into computational pipelines. This kind of work requires a general understanding of basic numerical methods, their strengths and weaknesses, their limitations and their failure modes. And this is exactly what this course is about. It is meant to be an introductory, foundational course in numerical analysis, with the focus on basic ideas. We will review and develop basic characteristics of numerical algorithms (convergence, approximation, stability, computational complexity and so on), and will illustrate them with several classic problems in numerical mathematics. You will also work on implementing abstract mathematical constructions into working prototypes of numerical code. Upon completion of this course, you will have an overview of the main ideas of numerical computing, and will have a solid foundation for reading up on and working with more advanced numerical needs of your specific subject area. As prerequisites for this course, we assume a basic command of college-level mathematics (linear algebra and calculus, mostly), and a basic level of programming proficiency. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

热门审阅

SR
Jun 6, 2020

A simple course that would definitely help me in the near future as it provides me an idea on how interpolation and estimation works.

VG
Dec 8, 2019

Excelent course. Really liked how the teacher explained the course in general. I would upgrade it with more examples reviewed.

筛选依据:

1 - Introduction to numerical analysis 的 25 个评论(共 43 个)

创建者 Víctor A M G

Dec 9, 2019

Excelent course. Really liked how the teacher explained the course in general. I would upgrade it with more examples reviewed.

创建者 Siddharth Y

Jun 18, 2020

This was a course which was most worth my time. I am a physics student who just completed year one of university and it is my first time dealing with these topics in numerical analysis/methods. Dr. Evgeni Burovski explains the various topics very well and doing the assignments gives you decent mastery over the course content. Recommended as an introduction to anyone interested in numerical analysis or scientific computing.

创建者 Dawars

Mar 25, 2020

Great course with useful homework assignments in Jupyter notebook. Highly recommended!

创建者 Chintan S

Dec 7, 2019

The course hardly provides any examples of the numerical methods discussed. If you are new to Numerical Methods, it would be better to learn Numerical Methods elsewhere and use this course only to build Python functions on your own in the assignments. These programming assignments are also not very crisp and you spend a lot of time figuring out how to implement.

The only great takeaway from this course for me personally was the handling of catastrophic cancellation problems.

创建者 Adil R

Nov 4, 2020

Great course if you want to understand mechanics of computations. However, sometimes had struggles with understanding of explanations. But i'm glad for taking this course

创建者 Pingchuan M

Oct 4, 2019

Very nice overall illustration of all relevant topics in numerical analysis. Laid a solid foundation if you want to dive deeper into any specific domain.

创建者 Srinivasan R

Jun 7, 2020

A simple course that would definitely help me in the near future as it provides me an idea on how interpolation and estimation works.

创建者 ACERON, U V (

Mar 17, 2020

Excellent experience!

创建者 Sunny J

Nov 2, 2019

Awesome Course

创建者 PALLARES E D D

Dec 7, 2020

Nice

创建者 Mahadev D

Oct 7, 2019

nice

创建者 Abrar R

Jun 27, 2020

Great Course! Some of the theory was a bit more mathematically involved than I was expecting, but the assignments really helped drill a lot of those abstract concepts home for me, so all in all it was a great learning experience.

创建者 ANGELES, V M (

Apr 15, 2020

I think the lectures could've delved more into other software options. :)

创建者 Cecilia

Nov 9, 2020

The Jupyter notebooks were good but I didn't feel like I was able to learn enough in just the course to do them well. There are only lectures, no articles to read or recommended links if you don't have a solid grasp of all the background material, and I ended up having to read a lot from external sources. The Professor looked like he was reading off a prompt and always had a weird, forced smile on his face that made it awkward to watch.

创建者 ALDE, C J N (

Apr 11, 2020

can't unenroll

创建者 Артём Ш

Apr 13, 2020

It's a great course for introduction to numerical analysis methods. Lectures were great and the Python assignments helped to get the on-hand experience of solving theoretical tasks

创建者 Zhen X

Sep 23, 2020

Very good course. Very clear explanation and very well designed homework assignments.

创建者 Theo B

Jun 9, 2020

Very intuitive and straight to the point course on numerical methods. Thank you !

创建者 Nandu G

Jul 5, 2020

Pretty rigorous course, takes time to think and solve the assignments. Loved it.

创建者 Venkatesan J

Jul 15, 2020

Excellent Course and Interesting

创建者 rachit t

Jun 2, 2020

Assignments are really good !

创建者 SALVADOR, J (

Apr 17, 2020

I learned a lot from coursera

创建者 Yogabrindha B

Nov 10, 2020

i really liked this course.

创建者 Uscategui G S M

Dec 7, 2020

Este curso es excelente

创建者 Timchenko D

May 10, 2020

Lecturer is awesome!