Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的评价和反馈

4.6
2,399 个评分
726 条评论

课程概述

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

热门审阅

DA

May 27, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

Mar 24, 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

筛选依据:

701 - Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的 725 个评论(共 728 个)

创建者 Dayna A

Nov 25, 2016

A very basic overview of Egyptian history, not as detailed as I had expected. It didn't cover as many topics as I would have liked.

创建者 Gary W

Oct 18, 2019

Author is quite slow in presentation. Otherwise material is good and the pictures are well coordinated with the material

创建者 Ananya G

Jun 7, 2017

I think this course is very informative but I feel, the narration is very flat and some modulation can be used.

创建者 Silke S

Sep 24, 2020

A bit too theoretical, a list of information. Only the last Video was a bit interaction with other researchers

创建者 Peter M

Sep 19, 2020

I enjoyed the course. Dr. Silverman needs to stop reading a teleprompter - he literally was reading a script.

创建者 Whitney B

Mar 1, 2021

The video lectures are short and disjointed. Maybe they would make more sense as an add on to the text.

创建者 Ahmad K

Dec 4, 2016

A very enlightening course ... i would have liked to hear more about the mythology and the gods roles

创建者 Alisha M

May 21, 2017

Too simple a course... Would be nice to have more structure period wise and content wise!

创建者 User#9034

Feb 15, 2021

Good content. Very informative. But, a little bit boring.

创建者 Shawn C

Apr 6, 2021

Very very basic and the instructor reads poorly.

创建者 Gorret F

Jun 24, 2019

Un cours intéressant parfois un peu dense

创建者 Spencer P

Jan 14, 2021

A lot of information all at once

创建者 Yuen L T L

Feb 24, 2019

The quiz was the best part

创建者 Omid G

Dec 17, 2020

Although the content is interesting but the teacher is very very verrrrrrrrrrrrry monotonic and boring. He doesnt teach he is a talking book, an audiobook with a face. That is not teaching really. It bores the audience and distracts them after some time. Also the modules are not well connected or maybe I didnt understand very well since I was bored after 5 minutes. There is space, alot of space for improvement.

创建者 İLKİN B

Jul 5, 2021

Just a few points to make: So many points are indicated or summarized at places. The way the texts written do not sound of the sciences. Referring to Heredotus and then nullifying him do not help but complicate. Akhenaten is very important as stated at the very beginning but left out of the scope for the sakeof length. No reference to read the story of Aten is given either. Pity!

创建者 Caelyn M

Nov 29, 2016

I was disappointed by this course. I thought it was poorly organized and focused too much on trivia and not enough on motivating and contextualizing Ancient Egyptian civilization. I was hoping to come away from this course with a richer understanding of Ancient Egypt. The lectures were surprisingly dry.

创建者 nuria a

Nov 28, 2021

el nivel es muy bajo, la información se da desordenada, en varios momentos se dice "de esto hablaremos mas tarde" y no se habla mas tarde. no me ha gustado. no es agil. los examenes son muy faciles, no hay examen final. creo que se deberia recalificar como un curso muy facil.

创建者 Katharina H

Apr 10, 2017

Unfortunately, I did not find the course overly engaging and only provided very basic information. It would have been more interesting to look at a few things more in depth.

创建者 Bhavik D

May 5, 2020

How is it possible to teach one of the most exciting optics in the most uninteresting, convoluted and rash manner with preposterously odd quiz questions?

创建者 Francine

Nov 28, 2016

Very interesting subject matter, however, sadly brought in a boring way, resulting in my quitting the course.

创建者 William J H C

Oct 6, 2017

Fascinating subject but presentation was very wooden.

创建者 Laura C

Mar 6, 2018

very dry and slow, not very easy to pay attention to

创建者 Bill T

Nov 29, 2016

Very limited treatment of the subject.

创建者 Jan S

Jul 20, 2020

commentary just 2 monotone.

创建者 Pasquale B

Jun 13, 2017

Too simple!