Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的评价和反馈

4.6
2,399 个评分
726 条评论

课程概述

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

热门审阅

DA

May 27, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

Mar 24, 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

筛选依据:

151 - Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的 175 个评论(共 728 个)

创建者 Yasmim P Y

Apr 7, 2020

I loved the course. I'd strongly suggest, though, that some debate about how Africa was deprived of their Egyptian material legacy could take place - perhaps as a separate module at theeee ending.

创建者 Estefania I G

Mar 22, 2020

A través de este curso me di cuenta que mi acervo acerca del tema es limitado y que cada que aprendo algo del antiguo Egipto comprendo que desconozco muchas cosas de esta enigmática cultura

创建者 Andrea M

Feb 11, 2021

The Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization was truly a gift!!! Thank you so much. I truly learned so much and this course will assist in discovery when revisiting Egypt.

创建者 Rejana R

Feb 22, 2020

It was amazing to delve in the glorious history of Ancient Egypt . I loved to learn about the kings, queens and the monuments which defined the definite past. I will rate it 100/100!

创建者 Abhik M

Aug 28, 2021

I absolutely loved this course and the overall demonstration by Mr. David Silverman. This will certainly help me in my future and I recommend everyone to take this wonderful course.

创建者 Monique L

Mar 26, 2020

What a wonderful experience and professor. I've had an interest in Ancient Egypt since I was a child and feel so much more informed and eager to learn more in his following courses.

创建者 Mark C

Feb 17, 2020

This is a great course about Ancient Egypt. I went right into the next course "Wonders of Egypt". I also love the Penn Museum in Philadelphia which inspired me to take this course!

创建者 Jiayang T

Jan 22, 2018

The course is just like a documentary because it presents students with artifacts stored in museums. Students can definitely learn better when they see this eye-catching artifacts.

创建者 Jalal K

May 9, 2020

The best and most comprehensive course I have ever attended. Thumbs up! Many Thanks to the University of Penn for such and opportunity and coursera for the access. Humbly grateful

创建者 Merin G

Jan 1, 2020

This course offered by University of Pennsylvania had very much helped me in knowing the Egyptian civilization. The course plan and the method of teaching was immensely helpful.

创建者 Alexandra H

Sep 27, 2020

I absolutely loved this course! Professor Silverman does a great job explaining the content and shows examples found at the museum. I hope he offers more courses on coursera.

创建者 Glenn P

Mar 21, 2018

Learned more then I could have wished for, this is the best course I have had on Ancient Egypt. Thank you Professor David P. Silverman, you made this class very interesting.

创建者 Vasiliki-Diamanto F

Nov 11, 2017

Mr. Silverman is very comprehensible and speaks slowely during the videos, which is very helpful for processing the information given. The course is very well structured.

创建者 Richie H

Apr 13, 2020

I liked the video lectures a lot, but I wish there was more specific recommended reading for each video instead of the end. Also - show more of what they do in the lab!

创建者 Annabelle M S

Jan 28, 2018

The most amazing course I have ever taken. SO full of information and actual lab accessibility to learn and understand what we have discovered of the Ancient Egyptians.

创建者 carl w

May 17, 2020

Learned and satisfied my curiosity on a number of topics and subjects. I recommend this course for anyone who is seeking the basic knowledge on Egyptian civilization.

创建者 Ll K

Apr 10, 2020

it was a pleasure to learn from Dr Silverman. Thoroughly chosen and very interesting information on Ancient Egypt. Great site with great choice of courses. Thank you!

创建者 Peter B

Nov 26, 2016

Dr. Silverman the the content in this course is wonderful. Thanks for the great videos and thought-provoking questions. Please give us more courses on Ancient Egypt.

创建者 Mrs E B D

Apr 9, 2018

This was a very interesting course , well presented with excellent reading materials. I have enjoyed learning about ancient Egypt very much. Thanks to all the team.

创建者 Emiliano R V

Sep 3, 2017

Great introduction! Very dynamic and interesting overview of this fascinating culture. It would be great to have an advance course on these topics (or many of them)

创建者 Alex P

Mar 20, 2022

W​e found this course very interesting. We knew a bit aout the information but learned a lot. We think it would be fun to visit the Penn Museum at the university.

创建者 ALEJANDRO D M

May 24, 2021

David P. Silverman is very good at explaining and conveying his knowledge to listener. The course is brief, but it´s very informative to talk about Ancient Egypt.

创建者 Antonio B

Apr 24, 2020

I found this course a joy to complete - yes its demanding. I suggest you pay close attention to the video's you really need to think and listen. superb structure.

创建者 Alessandra R

Apr 21, 2020

Really interesting. I am already an experienced archaeologist, but Egyptology was missing from my previous studies. This was a really good chance to catching up.

创建者 Santiago V R

Nov 27, 2016

This course is recommendable for anyone who wants to begin to study the Ancient Egypt word. It contains very interesting videos and readings! I have enjoyed it!