Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的评价和反馈

4.6
2,399 个评分
726 条评论

课程概述

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

热门审阅

DA

May 27, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

Mar 24, 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

筛选依据:

176 - Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的 200 个评论(共 728 个)

创建者 Steo

Jan 6, 2018

This is the best overview course about Ancient Egypt civilisation I could dream of. Mr Silverman brings reliable information and can transmit his passion well.

创建者 Matteo S

Feb 8, 2019

The course provides a good overview, a lot information, spurs to acquire also a good iconographic knowledge of the subject and reason about the main concepts.

创建者 josé m

Dec 26, 2021

Um curso completo e incrível para quem é da área de História e deseja aprofundar-se no estudo do Egito Antigo! Simplesmente fantástico e incrível este curso.

创建者 jui a

Apr 28, 2021

Amazing lecture. there was so much to learn about the traditions, customs, and life of the ancient Egyptians! I wish to learn more on this courser in detail

创建者 Elizabeth G

May 8, 2020

Very interesting overview of Egyptology, good videos which feature artifacts in the Penn museum. Thanks to Dr Silverman for making this course available.

创建者 PhantomDuck1980

Nov 7, 2017

An excellent class! I strongly recommend it to everyone. It helped me a lot to understand fundamental aspects of Ancient Egypt Civilation. Very helpful!!!

创建者 Michael A

Jun 26, 2020

Lots of depth in this course from a highly respected Egyptologist expert and Professor.

Really liked the last video where they look at a mummy in the lab.

创建者 Ying X

Mar 12, 2017

learned a lot about Egypt which is total vacancy in my knowledge before taking the course and helped in greater understanding of Penn Museum's collection

创建者 Tintu M

Feb 9, 2017

Excellent. A load of new things to know. Helps a lot to understand the diversity and the way of life of people who are ancient and also most intelligent.

创建者 Doug M

Feb 9, 2021

great course. the only thing that would have helped me was an occasional timeline graphic of the various kingdoms and pharaohs referred to in the text.

创建者 Fan C

Sep 19, 2019

This course is really a good introduction to Ancient Egypt. I learn a lot of general information about Ancient Egypt and additional interesting topics.

创建者 Shuaib I

Apr 23, 2017

Touching on chronology , kingship , mythology , mummies and pyramids while informing and amazing this has been one of the most enjoyable courses ever .

创建者 Arianna B

Jun 8, 2020

Taking this course has reminded me of why I love history. Ancient Egypt gave me a passion for history, this course has reminded me of that. Thank you.

创建者 Caitlin O

Mar 24, 2019

Fantastic course! Absolutely loved it and it was very easy to follow. I learnt a lot and it has increased my desire to learn more about Ancient Egypt.

创建者 Roxana P

Apr 4, 2021

Dr Silverman explains everything in a quiet calm voice and the explanations are very interesting. I home to’ take another corse. Thank you very much

创建者 Brittani P

Apr 12, 2022

I really enjoyed this course and the information. Thank you for providing the audio and information to continue reading, I really enjoyed all of it.

创建者 Yuthika

Aug 10, 2020

Every topic related to ancient Egypt has been covered.Everything which i wanted to know about its civilization and ancient god of Egypt learnt here.

创建者 Rafel V L

Jun 9, 2020

Very interesting introduction to the Ancient Egypt, It was a wonderful way to learn about the pharaohs and others important things of Ancient Egypt.

创建者 Erin L

Feb 25, 2017

A quick but thorough introduction to Ancient Egypt, with the added bonus of serving as an introduction to the Penn Museum's Ancient Egypt collection

创建者 Christina P

Dec 12, 2016

I am inspired to travel to visit Penn Museum. I hope to soon. Thank you for the course, I would take more in this field in the future if offered.

创建者 Tertius d J

Mar 18, 2020

I do have now a better, complete, chronicle view on Ancient Egypt and wish I could have this knowledge before our family visit in Egypt in 2005.

创建者 Brittany S

Jun 21, 2017

I enjoyed this class, the last videos about the mummification process were particularly interesting and really humanized this ancient culture.

创建者 Katharina R

Oct 7, 2020

I enjoyed the course a lot. It gave me a structured introduction and I learned new aspects of ancient Egyptian history I did not know before.

创建者 Janet B

Nov 20, 2019

Was an easy to follow format. Learned a lot and reviewed some material. Would love to go to the Univ, of Penn to see their Egyptian exhibit.