Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Climate Change and Health

学生对 耶鲁大学 提供的 Introduction to Climate Change and Health 的评价和反馈

4.8
616 个评分
134 条评论

课程概述

Climate change is one of the greatest threats to human health in the 21st century. Yet these impacts to health are still not well recognized. Since you can’t change what you don’t understand, this course is designed to equip health and environmental professionals, as well as other changemakers and the public, with critical and usable knowledge to take positive action. The course begins with an introduction to the science of climate change and how climate change affects human health. It takes a deep dive into climate change’s adverse health effects, including those related to extreme heat, waterborne infections, insect-borne diseases, and exposure to storms and floods. Throughout, the theme of health equity is interwoven by pointing to what factors make some populations more vulnerable than others to climate change’s negative health impacts. Finally, the course explains how measures to reduce greenhouse gas emissions can not only limit future climate change but can also generate substantial immediate health “co-benefits” over and above the benefit of reducing climate change. Following completion of the course, students will be able to: · At an introductory level, describe how the climate has changed, explain the role of greenhouse gases in climate change, and describe how the climate is predicted to change in the future. · Describe how climate change adversely impacts population health, with differing vulnerability across population sub-groups, through direct effects; through ecosystem transformation and degradation; and through the stress it places on political, economic, and social systems. · Explain how adaptation and mitigation strategies can reduce adverse health impacts of climate change and can generate substantial non-climate health benefits in a just and equitable manner....

热门审阅

SH
Dec 12, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The complex terms are well explained and the examples and information provided is easy to digest. It really makes you look at the world in a whole different way.

JC
Jun 18, 2020

Very insightful course about fundamentals of climate, climate change, health effects related to air pollution, highlighted statistics, co-beneftis etc. Thank you for this Yale University.

筛选依据:

126 - Introduction to Climate Change and Health 的 134 个评论(共 134 个)

创建者 M S

Nov 11, 2020

I love this course. It's profoundly and deeply affected my awareness and my life. The only "missing piece" for me is solutions for the literal hot mess our planet is in. With out a few suggestions of solutions this course left me with many sleepless nights...lol. Not an entirely bad thing, but you get my point.

A simple 2 or 3 sentence framework for solutions at the end of each week would help the course inform and plant the seeds for effective action; i.e. repeating over and over, "We know rainwater harvesting and careful selection & planting of keystone species of trees and native plants can have a major impact in a short period of time. You can learn more about that in the next class ____insert title____." Educate a little and sell the next class at the same time.

Every geographic area is different of course, but overall, advising that proper, individual, rainwater harvesting techniques followed by proper planting of native trees and shrubs in native spaces can be rather safe over-all guidelines for students to know where to begin to be the solution in addition to being able to identify and understand the vulnerabilities in their area.

Thank you for an amazing education. I'm so happy I took this course.

创建者 Ong S H

Aug 31, 2020

I learnt a lot of knowledge that I wasn't exposed to in school thus I enjoyed this module alot! furthermore it gave me a chance to do some research about my home, Singapore!

创建者 Michael N

Oct 21, 2020

Great material and professor! My only suggestion for improvement is the peer-review grading system seems to be unwieldly. Thank you for the knowledge, Mkr

创建者 Salvador R

Apr 15, 2021

Estimados no puedo pagar el curso por ahora, este curso ofrece beca o ayuda economica?

创建者 Lorenz P

Jun 20, 2020

The course is very intensive and informative. I have learned a lot.

创建者 Vickie R R

Jun 14, 2021

Excellent. Right pace and good information.

创建者 Charles O M

Apr 8, 2021

great course-thank you

创建者 Oliver B S

Oct 10, 2020

I am stopping this course. Professor Dubrow is not a gifted speaker and his oratorical style is plodding and non-engaging. This is a pity because there is a lot to learn and he is of course knowledgeable. What gets me most though is an underlying "first World/Third World" prejudice in the way that information is presented. I suspect an unstated prejudice here that makes me very uncomfortable. At the end of Week two he makes the connection between family planning ( in the third world) and climate change. One can read out of this the message that if there were fewer babies in the third world (he does not mention "third world" but its implied, then there would be less co" emissions and the world would be a better place. Moocs are predominantly for a world audience and I woulld like to know how other students feel about this. I find it myopic and insultingly prejuced. This is my 13th Mooc this year and my first bad experience. Its a pity, I was looking forward to the other parts of the specialization.

创建者 Bianca Y

Feb 27, 2021

I rated them 5 stars at the beginning because the course itself was amazing. I am very satisfied by the content and by the professors' and staff's hard work.

However, the courses are peer-reviewed, and there are not many students taking it at the same time.

So, sometimes you're left begging on the forum for people to check your assignments. And sometimes there's just nobody there to do it.

Because of that, after working so hard to get my specialization, my paid period expired and I was left with no certificate because nobody bothered to check my assignments or at least reply on my posts on the forum discussion. There's over 10 admins and neither one of them replied.

I don't appreciate their complete absence and disengagement. Especially since it's such an important topic where millions of people's lives are at stake. Very unprofessional.

Also it made me lose respect for the institution, and not believe in the fairness of grading, if the grading is left entirely to the students.