Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

学生对 伦敦帝国学院 提供的 Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health 的评价和反馈

4.7
866 个评分
181 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health! This course will teach you the core building blocks of statistical analysis - types of variables, common distributions, hypothesis testing - but, more than that, it will enable you to take a data set you've never seen before, describe its keys features, get to know its strengths and quirks, run some vital basic analyses and then formulate and test hypotheses based on means and proportions. You'll then have a solid grounding to move on to more sophisticated analysis and take the other courses in the series. You'll learn the popular, flexible and completely free software R, used by statistics and machine learning practitioners everywhere. It's hands-on, so you'll first learn about how to phrase a testable hypothesis via examples of medical research as reported by the media. Then you'll work through a data set on fruit and vegetable eating habits: data that are realistically messy, because that's what public health data sets are like in reality. There will be mini-quizzes with feedback along the way to check your understanding. The course will sharpen your ability to think critically and not take things for granted: in this age of uncontrolled algorithms and fake news, these skills are more important than ever. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need only basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. No knowledge of R or programming is assumed....

热门审阅

LA
May 25, 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

SK
Oct 11, 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..\n\nThe instructor has presented the content precisely.\n\nI highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

筛选依据:

26 - Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health 的 50 个评论(共 181 个)

创建者 CHRISTOS D

Feb 28, 2019

more time needed to reiew R

创建者 Jiracha J

Aug 3, 2019

good, but hard sometimes

创建者 Mennatalla N S

Apr 10, 2020

The formulae did not work on my laptop and could not solve this problem and could not contact the instructors. The instructor way of illustration is simple and nice so I would prefer more videos than the too much readings in the last week .

创建者 Peter B

Oct 4, 2020

I felt this course gave a good introduction to using R for statistical testing and benefited from doing so using health data. My main aim was to learn R but I felt a course that just concentrated on the programming aspects would not suit me. I think this course is good for those new to R who might not have experience in other programming languages. The videos and the lectures were well put together and the quizzes seemed well designed to pick up misconceptions or common mistakes. I would recommend this course

创建者 Anthony B

Sep 22, 2020

Until 2016, I was building Financial and Accounting Models for MBA Programmes. That I was teaching as an MBA Dissertations Supervisor, and Senior University Business School Lecturer (Professor). I am now working Part Time for the NHS, and I am aiming to specialise as a Senior Data Scientist with the NHS. This is Specialisation, is one of several first class steps that one can take towards such an aim.

创建者 Brenda Y

Jun 29, 2020

I was so apprehensive about starting this course because I associated R with programming (that I very much dislike) but it has been very fascinating and I've learned so many useful things like creating histograms and doing hypothesis testing in R! It's certainly not as scary/difficult as I thought, and I'm looking foward to the next few courses!

创建者 Saba A

Aug 9, 2020

This course is well designed for beginners. Everyone who wanted to learn the basics of sampling, statistical analysis (mean, mode, proportion, p-value, degree of freedom and many more) must take this course. Especially if anyone wanted to learn R and do not have a background of statistics then this is the best course.

创建者 Brittany R

Jun 18, 2020

This was an excellent course! I have a MPH degree and I took this course as a refresher on statistical concepts but also to begin learning R. The professor was great and the examples really started to reinforce concepts within R. Overall, I found this course to be very informative and useful for my day to day work.

创建者 Dr K K

Jul 12, 2020

Good session, clear content, good flow, excellent assignments and practice sessions

Only in one place, tables of assignment for chi square test, total mistake was there. In one quiz, mean value of 11 and 14 samples were not accepted as correct. The reason behind this is not explained. As a whole, excellent course.

创建者 Roxana P

Nov 22, 2020

This is a very well explained course which explains with short videos, readings, stories very important and somewhat basic aspects of statistics in public health field. I definitely recommend this one even if you already have knowledge, as it forces you to deepen the critical thinking as (future) statistician.

创建者 Sakshi N

Aug 12, 2020

I wasn't confident of myself in using R. It always seemed to me that IT professional are better equipped to learn it. By confidence has increased to a great extent and I am happy to say that I will be completing this specialization by Imperial College London.

Thanks Coursera and Imperial College Team :)

创建者 Michael O O

Jun 27, 2020

If you want to really understand statistics for data analysis, this course is a great idea. The professor, Dr. Bottle actually did a great job on the contents of this course. I had a statistical background, and this course helps me to understand some concepts that I didn't understand before.

创建者 Gianni B

Jul 11, 2020

This introductory statistics course is far better than the similar one I took with Johns Hopkins University because there are fewer recorded lectures and more work involving reading. it is also broken down into smaller "chunks" and Alex Bottle is very engaging in his lectures.

创建者 Tarif T K

May 16, 2020

Excellent course! I must say that I have genuinely learned a lot about medical research using statistical tools from this course. And there were many concepts of statistics that that weren't clear to me. This course helped me understand those concepts as well.

创建者 Maria F

Dec 12, 2020

This is the best statistics course I have ever taken (and I have taken many!). The professor clearly explains all the concepts reviewed in this course and the exercises are designed in such a way to make it easy to understand the nuances of the theory.

创建者 Oranicha J

Jun 17, 2020

Great introduction to R and statistics related to public health research. I recommend doing the readings and practice problem as well. I was a bit confused in the beginning but I supplement this lesson with other introduction to R classes online

创建者 Max S

Jun 1, 2020

Really good course covering statistics. I've covered this topic before in other courses, and I was impressed at how the instruction and quizzes cover the material in a clear and nuanced way. This course is introductory but not basic.

创建者 Sarah A

Aug 29, 2020

a brilliant introductory course to concepts in statistics as well as using R for statistical analysis. thoroughly enjoyed the engaging nature of the facilitator and numerous practice exercises, real-life examples and readings

创建者 Thiago V

May 7, 2020

Perfeita introdução para uma área de estudos tão importante e relevante na atualidade, quero continuar minha formação nessa área, pois este curso me mostrou que estou no caminho certo! Obrigado professor Alex Bottle!

创建者 Cristiano F

Nov 8, 2020

Great start to statistics after so long. I can't wait to learn more from the other courses on the specialization. It was fun, interesting, practical, thoughtful. Not easy but it is worthy.

创建者 Dwayne R T

Jan 5, 2021

The instructor videos are amazing- very relatable, applicable, and comprehensible! The principles are simplified as best as possible. This courses also good if you are very new to R.

创建者 Rebecca E

Aug 14, 2020

Excellent course with really good teaching. Felt like it developed a good grounding in the basic topics. Would recommend having a little R experience prior to taking this course.

创建者 Rupok C

Jun 10, 2020

Excellent introductory course on statistics and its facts. It helps to assess several testings based on different data types and interpreting values using R programming.

创建者 M T H P

Jul 17, 2020

I liked the way the whole course has been designed. I never felt stressed up. It was all fun. The speaker was excellent in blending real life example with statistics.

创建者 Nicholas Y

Apr 19, 2020

Great introduction towards statistics in public health, with nice addition of R programming language. The material is meticulously explained and easy to understand.